Kot
Member Since 2013
Bailey was on 0.75U of Lantus BID till recently with more or less of a success. Then, this fall, his numbers would plunge into hypo range which, I thought, indicated a reduction in dose. Tried for 0.5U but his pre-shot numbers went consistently up. I've switched back to 0.75U because I knew how to get him out of low numbers quick and did not want to risk having a DKA. Long story short, about ten days ago Bailey went into a "death spiral" with very high numbers. After consulting with vet I increased the dose to 1U and now to 1.5U Lantus BID. After testing BG two hours after shot, Bailey's numbers don't go down. I started supplementing with Novolin 1U three times a day to keep BG in 200's range. I know mixing insulins is not a good idea, just don't know how to proceed. Without Novolin, BG is staying in 500's - 600's range. How can I adjust dosage of Lantus (what if it is a bad batch?) and wait out two-tree days for each dose adjustment while Bailey's numbers are THAT high?
Sorry for not updating my spreadsheet - last several days were a blur of testing and shooting.
Sorry for not updating my spreadsheet - last several days were a blur of testing and shooting.
Last edited by a moderator:
