not looking good for tom

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

i don't wanna really even talk about it...
just letting you know he's getting progressivly higher and higher numbers even with a good nadir. this morning we had our first 400. 401 to be exact. :cry:
i know something is wrong.
can't really talk about it right now. it's all about the god damn $ and i can't deal with that part. sucks!
please send tom love.
lori
 
Scritches and headbutts to Tom Tom.

Does he have an infection?

Sending healing and comforting vibes to you both ((((((Lori and Tom))))))
 
((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))

Pssst Tomtom, iz Bixie here. Whaz up buddy????? U & me we gotz to stick togefher cuz we getz funnie numberz & we like to confuz the cr*p out of our beans..... but we lovz our PZI!!!! Get feelin better soooooooooooon pleeze!!!! U da man cat! cat_pet_icon
 
Angels and prayers with tons of that Healing Green light for Tom. ArchAngel Rapheal Please surround Tom with your beautiful Healing green light help him get some good numbers for his health and his Bean...Bless them both Amen Kath
 
thanks friends,
i've been worried becuase toms reading have hit the 400's suddenly.
i'm all worn out and confused becuase i've been testing him on a lot of different meters.
i like to be familiar with the meters i'm unfamiliar with when i send them out. seems only right.
and i always do one drop of blood with his meter and same drop with another meter.
2 other meters...reliOn and now accu-check gave me 40 points lower.
i got out a different contour (which is what we're using) and it reads the same as my contour.
talk about a brand new kind of WTF confusion.
regardless, his old days of me concerned about morning amps of 175-200 and barely shootable pmps are over. we look at sad pic's of 400's. yet his nadir is good so don't know how to raise his new dose of 1.5
sigh :YMSIGH:
lori and tomtom
would go to tid, but man the timing thing and all, life would certainly revolve around tom even more than it already does...which let's face it...it already does.
 
Any chance he has a secret stash of illegal snacks? Curtis ate a hole in the side of cat food bag years ago....before I knew about kitty crack dry food.
 
Morning Lori,

How's Tom feeling today?

You might as well face it, our lives already revolve around our sugar cats. Like you told me, we do what we have to do.

Headbutts to Tom.
 
what about adjusting his feedings, trying to force his numbers to even out a bit? Do you think it would help if the nadir were a bit higher, then the ps may be lower?

What do you think the problem may be? Maybe others can offer some suggestions, ones that don't require expensive vetting.
 
Thanks everyone.
first jean, HaHaHa no tom has NOOOOOO secret stash. mama would have known about that. i'll talk about his wierd behaviors in a sec.

gayle, i don't understand. could you explain? a higher nadir would give me a lower amps?

ok, along with his high #'s (and robin you know about this) tom has been acting wierd. he sits or lays down and stares. at weird things. i catch him in the bathroom, lights off, laying down staring at the tub. or sitting in a room close to a wall and staring at it. it kind of freaks me out. like he's having mental problems. he always purrs up a storm when i lay next to him or just whenever i'm with him. he is doing his 5 p's. he's much much more nervous about sudden noises or going outside than he EVER was. he's not depressed. i've seen him depressed when it rains alot and he can't go out. and his #'s are up.
i cannot dx this behavior. i try to pretend everything is ok, in my heart i don't feel it is.
 
Do you think it's his vision maybe? I had a kitty who lost vision due to FIP, she got so she would look at things funny, just couldn't quite make them out I guess. That might also fit in with not wanting to go outside....? Does he bump into things at all?

If you can manage a regular vet (no big tests) might want to get them to listen to his breathing? Do his nostrils flare some when he breathes? With Tiki she started doing that as her lungs were getting compromised (she had cancer). Any open mouthed breathing?

Hope he starts feeling better soon! Hugs to you both. :YMHUG:
 
wow joanna how did you know about his breathing? did i mention that in a post somewhere?
interesting thing, sight problems. had'nt thought about that but it fits does'nt it. no, he does not bump into anything, walks around just fine. looks me straight in the eyes. i will test that tho. to the best of my ability. ask him to read an eyesight chart :lol:
he's outside right now which makes me happy.
he does tend to go right to the same spot outside these days. and stare up at the house he used to live in. for six years! he likes to go out every afternoon about 5 and sit there.
in the middle of the yard. exact same spot. otherwise IF he goes out, he picks a corner and stays there. All of this seems normal enough...but it's just not Tom!
 
I think you mentioned it maybe in Robin's thread? I forget how old he is - do you think maybe he is just showing signs of aging (if he is older, that is)?
 
see, tom has a long and not precise history. i'm thinking he's pushing 13...so not really old.
tom has an interesting history if anyone wants to know...you don't have to be polite, probably only interesting to me.
he is a really super kewl cat tho'
 
Actually I was thinking it might be his vision too. Harley has cataracks (sp? isn't there supposed to be a y in there) anyway diabetics are prone to them. It changes their vision like they are looking through a veil, darkens everything and they can become more sensitive to light. You can shine a flashlight into his eyes and see them, they look like white spots. Harley gets around fine.

Ok, now I want to hear about Tom's kewl interesting history?
 
well...maybe later. but you bring to mind something interesting. when i come home late at night sometimes i turn on the light as i enter the house and tom really does the head down squinting thing. i remember when it first started happening i thought 'that's new'
maybe it is an eye thing. he can get around this house blind folded he knows it so well. also the property is his and he knows that very well too.
god, i hope tom won't go blind. or even need glasses.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top