not enough.. 5/2 Rocky PMPS 293 +2 286 +7 339

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/2 Rocky AMPS 355 +1 319 +3 311 +6 265

i think that was a good idea. i think he may have cleared the bounce yesterday. kinda hard to be sure.

let's hope this brings him back down. going up and down in dose is normal.
 
Re: 5/2 Rocky AMPS 355 +1 319 +3 311 +6 265

Work that dosecrease, Rocky! Yep, making adjustments both up and down is pretty "normal" in the world of FD. Have a great evening, Tina!
 
Re: Now What? 5/2 Rocky AMPS 355 +1 319 +3 311 +6 265 +10 30

Now what?

The 1.0u dose seems to have not helped bring Rocky's BG back down to even one blue number. This is likely not enough insulin for him.
 
Re: Now What? 5/2 Rocky AMPS 355 +1 319 +3 311 +6 265 +10 30

you can't possibly know that after just one shot. don't forget the depot - it will take a few cycles - a minimum of 6, to see what the dose does.
 
Re: Now What? 5/2 Rocky AMPS 355 +1 319 +3 311 +6 265 +10 30

Need I say more? :lol: Come on down Rocky, but not too fast please.

May_16_2011_678.jpg
 
Re: Now What? 5/2 Rocky AMPS 355 +1 319 +3 311 +6 265 +10 30

I know how you feel, Tina. You see a good trend and then he bounces. FD is hard emotionally. With so many other diseases when you see results they continue at least for a period of time. This is different and hard to get used to so we just need to learn to roll with the punches. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6 cycles?! 5/2 Rocky AMPS 355 +1 319 +3 311 +6 265 +10 3

6 cycles?! Rocky doesn't hold a reduction, remember? :roll:

I am going back to feeding him the 0% carb food, starting tonight, at least until he gets out of the stinky pinkies.
 
Re: 6 cycles?! 5/2 Rocky AMPS 355 +1 319 +3 311 +6 265 +10 3

From the protocol sticky:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: Nadir's not less than 200! 5/2 Rocky PMPS 293

Rocky's nadirs have not been under 200..

For the past 2 and 1/2 days his nadirs have been in the high 200s. :roll: What's the protocol for that? Increase by .50?
 
Re: Nadir's not less than 200! 5/2 Rocky PMPS 293

this isn't a reduction. you're increasing the dose, and when you increase the dose you have to wait for the depot to catch up. once you've increased, which you did this morning, you have to give it enough time for the depot to adjust before you decide it isn't enough.

in a reduction there isn't any amount of time you have to hold to see if it worked and is going to held.
 
Re: Nadir's not less than 200! 5/2 Rocky PMPS 293

we're posting at the same time, so i'll just post to make sure you saw my comments above.

no, don't increase by 0.5u. just hang in there and don't panic over his numbers.
 
If he goes into red or black on this 1.0 dose anytime before 3 days.. I'm going to increase his dose. It would mean his depot is drained.
 
Tina & Rocky said:
If he goes into red or black on this 1.0 dose anytime before 3 days.. I'm going to increase his dose. It would mean his depot is drained.
Or it would mean his depot hasn't caught back up. Bouncing around in dose is going to give you wonky numbers because the depot is filling, dropping, filling, dropping.

Give the insulin time to work. Lantus won't change the numbers immediately. You need to give it the recommended number of cycles. There's a protocol for a reason. It's been proven to work. Take a deep breath. Be patient and you'll see some good results.
 
Tina, don't increase again until the 6 cycles are up. Not only is the shed refilling, there is also New Dose Wonkiness w/ an increase. NDW means numbers can actually go up w/ an increase before they start to come down. If you increase again you would need to get through another period of NDW and then the numbers could plummet. We all feel the same way sometimes, but it is remarkable how often you get into that 6th cycle and it all turns around.

You have to get used to how long Lantus takes to balance out and get those patience pants on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top