Not Eating, No Shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

geekgirldany

Member Since 2013
Catee has not been eating well. He threw up yesterday morning. It had already dried by the time I checked on him at 1 pm but I did not see anything in it strange.

He ate 2 ozs yesterday. I had to keep putting the food in front of him to eat. Today he hasn't ate anything. I am hoping his tummy is just messed up and he will start eating again.

Right now, I am unsure whether to give him any insulin or not. I gave it to him this morning. AMPS 185, +5 he was 117.

Would appreciate any advice. I will have to take him to the Vet if he doesn't start eating soon.
 
Are you testing for ketones? I think the worry is that lack of insulin and not eating is a formula for DKA. How is Catee acting otherwise? Normal energy or lethargic? Have you tried different foods? Plain cooked chicken maybe?

How far away is PMPS? I say we get a number and go from there.
 
PMPS is 7:30 pm. Not testing for Ketones... Vet told me his numbers were good so wasn't a needed. His BG has slowly started going up the last several days. From 140 to 170. I actually had stopped doing nadir checks because his numbers were so good.
 
I'd grab a ketone test if possible. It couldn't hurt to be sure that nothing is going on there. If possible, you really want to give insulin...not eating and no insulin is part of the formula for DKA. I think it's going to depend on the PMPS though.

What have you tried to get him eating? Sometimes heating up the food to make it stinky helps, try putting some freeze dried treats in it (usually works for me), try forti-flora, put some tuna juice on it. Good just be a tummy upset or something. If he doesn't eat soon, I'd make a vet visit. They might be able to see if something else is going on.
 
I will have to setup the ketone meter... never used it.

PMPS 149... think I will give him .40

I feed him Purina DM... had some Hills M/D and he won't eat it either. He has ate maybe 1 ounce of food... not enough.
 
If more than 2 days without eating, he is at risk of hepatic lipidosis where fat is broken down for calories, goes to the liver, overwhelms it. and totally disrupts digestion. Anything you can get into him is good. If necessary, get an oral syringe, puree some food with water, and assist feed.
Also ask your vet if it would be OK to give 1/4 Pepcid AC , which may help if it is acid stomach upset causing the inappetance.
 
I feed him Purina DM... had some Hills M/D and he won't eat it either.
I'm wondering if he perhaps doesn't like the menu. I notice you are feeding the Purina DM dry. For what it's worth, my Hannah didn't like it much and we ended up taking it back to the vet for a refund. From there, we tried Fancy Feast Classics (wet) and she was more receptive to those, although she's still a very picky eater. Some days she shows enthusiasm, some days she doesn't. Changing Catee's food to a low-carb wet food might help... it's worth a try. However, when you transition to a low-carb wet food, you might also need to lower the insulin dose, as changing to wet is sometimes enough to drop BG numbers significantly.
 
Another idea would be to feed the wet low carb with FortiFlora (a probiotic that has the same animal digest as dry food - that is what makes it so irresistible). It is available from a vet or online. It has been a miracle for some difficult transitioning cats; for others it doesn't work at all. Is there a snack he loves? Sometimes you can crush have it on top. And sometimes adding warm water making a gravy helps.

But, as BJ says, if this is an ongoing issue, more drastic solutions and vet visit may be necessary.
 
I just want to follow up. Catee started eating again about the day after I posted this thread. The last time he ate a full 4 ozs of Purina DM Dry was March 29/30. From there forward he has only been eating 2ozs a day of it. Yesterday he did not eat well at all. He is shedding very bad. I brush him every night but it does not seem to be helping. He threw up Saturday afternoon. Two good size hair balls came up. Since then he has probably ate 1 oz of dry food.

He isn't a canned food cat. I've tried my best to get him over to wet food but it just never worked.

His BG on yesterday's PMPS was 112. So no shot.

I tried orijen food since it is lower than most in carbs for dry food. He ate a little but not enough much. I finally broke down and got him Purina Cat Chow Indoor. I know his BG will shoot up but I am just trying to get him to eat anything. He is turning his nose up at the Purina DM right now. I thought about getting some Hills M/D. Getting to the point that I am worried about him. His BG is 192 after eating only a little Cat Chow.

I can't get Pepcid down him either.

Family keeps telling me to give him a chance and not to go running to the vet. But I am getting a bad feeling on this. I've been working more and I am wondering if this could have affected his eating.
 
You might check out Young Again 0 Carb dry food (internet only, about 5% calories from carbohydrates).
 
Last edited:
He is allergic (I believe) to something in Young Again. They sent me some samples last week of their Mature formula and Mature Zero Carb formula. He starts to eat on it but then stops. He has ate a little more today so far. 2 ozs of the Purina DM.

Could a change in my routine/schedule cause him to do this? Or possibly a stuck hair ball?

I was looking online and thought about getting some of the Petromalt to help with hairballs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top