? ?!?! Not doing well

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok sorry guy it took to long to get an answer due to the fact I have to give him his insulin early in the morning. I gave him 3 units as the vet said and at +3-270 and +6-309. It is 3am now and his next meal and shot is 6am. I will not be able to monitor his levels due to having to work.
 
I think you are ok now this cycle, he doesn't seem to be dropping, I'll watch for you for your amps at 6am, post up with his numbers when you get them

In the norning, how soon after his shot do you have to leave for work?
 
I was ready to assist feeding but when I turned around he's eating the high carb dry food I put down for my other cat so I'm just gonna let him eat it. Since he's eating on his own. Yes the vet said 3 units
 
Concern with giving full shot is that he will go low when you are not there to no monitorr, in particular this is of a concern since we have no data to speak of with lantus.

Since his appetite is back up that is great. Eating the high carb food, though not ideal for BG will probably bolster his numbers. If you can leave food out for him to graze on, or have an autofeeder supply him with regular snacks, that will also help to keep him safe.

Not shooting enough insulin is also risky due to recent dka.

Have you any neighbours that good check in on him later in the morning?

He's not terribly low this morning, seems he's stayed flat all cycle.

Is he looking better too?
 
B**ger.
The only food I have I can leave out is high carb dry or a can
The problem is whether he will eat it if he needs it.

It's a very tough call amanda, if you were staying home I would stick with the 3u, knowing that you could monitor and take appropriate action.
But, I'm nervous about him dropping too low, and because his appy is off, he might not look for food.
Shooting a reduced dose this morning might be the 'safer' option, Perhaps the 2u that was suggested last night. But.. not ideal due to the Dka.

The way I see it that's what your options are.
 
Amanda, in going through your post, I may be mistaken, but I thought I saw that you shot at about 9:00pm EST last night. It has been 12 hours since his last shot, correct?
 
My mistake no you were correct his shot was 9 pm and 6 am this morning. There was nothing I could do it was either early or not til tonight.
 
Just to let you know, if you were shooting a regular dose (the same each time), an early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot acts like a dose decrease. It has to do with the depot. I wouldn't be the best to explain it, and I know you have to run to work.
I would leave out whatever food he will eat. Sending eating vines to Ham.
 
Look into getting some lower carb dry if you plan on leaving it out to feed on. Evo or young again. I'd leave wet to graze on too.
 
The vet said hid DKA was gone
That's great, the reason we keep going on about it is that a cat that has had recent dka is more at risk of developing it a second time if all the 'ingredients' for it are present.
1)infection
2)not enough insulin
3)higher BG (though DKA can also occur at lower BG)
4)not enough food

So just need to be a bit careful with ham since he has only just had it.

Hope Ham stays safe till tonight.


Just an note on housekeeping, so that the ss reflects what has actually gone on.

1) since amps was at +9 (ie 9hours after last nights shot could you pop that in the box with the number you shot at amps ie amps@+9 288 (you will need to manually colour the cell yellow)
2) Can you pop the units that your vet gave Ham while he was in their care in the relevant boxes (along with the time they were shot) and any BG readings they got during the cycle or at amps/pmps.
3) make a note in the remarks section/ or in one of the cells that he was in vet care, when he was there and when he came home.
4) for the time being as it's important to track his food intake, it might be a good idea to keep a track of that on the ss, either in the remarks section or in the cells.

If you could do that and keep it up to date, it will be very helpful as it will allow those trying to help to see at a glance what is going on, and what has gone on. Thanks
 
Look into getting some lower carb dry if you plan on leaving it out to feed on. Evo or young again. I'd leave wet to graze on too.
I'm going to look into it... I felt so bad I got the free sample from young again on Monday and I tried giving it to him after he threw up his wet food Monday night and he seemed to really like but threw it up as well
 
That's great, the reason we keep going on about it is that a cat that has had recent dka is more at risk of developing it a second time if all the 'ingredients' for it are present.
1)infection
2)not enough insulin
3)higher BG (though DKA can also occur at lower BG)
4)not enough food

So just need to be a bit careful with ham since he has only just had it.

Hope Ham stays safe till tonight.


Just an note on housekeeping, so that the ss reflects what has actually gone on.

1) since amps was at +9 (ie 9hours after last nights shot could you pop that in the box with the number you shot at amps ie amps@+9 288 (you will need to manually colour the cell yellow)
2) Can you pop the units that your vet gave Ham while he was in their care in the relevant boxes (along with the time they were shot) and any BG readings they got during the cycle or at amps/pmps.
3) make a note in the remarks section/ or in one of the cells that he was in vet care, when he was there and when he came home.
4) for the time being as it's important to track his food intake, it might be a good idea to keep a track of that on the ss, either in the remarks section or in the cells.

If you could do that and keep it up to date, it will be very helpful as it will allow those trying to help to see at a glance what is going on, and what has gone on. Thanks
His shots starting tonight are going to be an hour or so late since I have to change our schedule back to 2nd shift again.
 
His shots starting tonight are going to be an hour or so late since I have to change our schedule back to 2nd shift again.

Not sure what you mean by this, do you mean you will shoot an hour late tonight? Or that with your shift, you will be gone for more than 12 hours?
Shooting an hour late is not so much of an issue, it can act as a little bit of a dose decrease. So numbers might be a little higher for a cycle. But you do not need to compensate for it by shooting more insulin.
It is more problematic shooting early, as this can act as a dose increase, so could see kitty's numbers dropping lower than you would expect them too.
All in all it is best if, as much as possible you stick to a 12 hour shooting schedule.

Usually if we need to change shot times we try to do it by no more than 30 min in a day, as for most kitties this has been found not to impact the cycles too much. I used to keep a not of the times I shot, so I could keep track of the cycles, as I sometimes found myself getting confused.
 
I do stick to a 12 hour schedule. But my shift at work is changing to 2nd so yes he will be getting his shot an hour late everytime until we get to noon and midnight. And as I stated I didn't have a choice this morning.
 
I do stick to a 12 hour schedule. But my shift at work is changing to 2nd so yes he will be getting his shot an hour late everytime until we get to noon and midnight. And as I stated I didn't have a choice this morning.
I understand, so you are going to be shooting an hour late every day till you get to the required schedule. Sorry, just wanted to clarify, and yest it was a difficult choice this morning.:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top