? NOT again!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherrib

Very Active Member
AMPS= 262 (gave 2 units @ 8:51 AM)

+5 = 55 retest right away 49! feeding friskers beef & gravy right now.

he acts fine
 
acts and looks fine. Even 25 mins ago he looked and acted fine.
Are we out of the woods?
 
GREAT! No need to give anymore gravy food, that's a good number. BUT get two more test 20- mins apart to make sure the number is either staying at 101 or going up, not down.
 
Tonight, you will want to reduce the amount of insulin a bit. Post in ProZinc again about 30 minutes to a 1 hour before you shoot to get guidance.
 
I will check in 20 minutes again after you get the next reading to make sure he is not going down again. You want 2 more numbers that aren't falling but go up.
 
new number is 86

How do I add these #'s to his SS? use the note section? ( for the test 20 mins apart)
 
Hi Sherri. Because Skittles went up to 101 and now went down to 86, you will need to test again to make sure that he is rising again. Can you test in another 20-30 minutes?
 
Can you test in another 20-30 minutes?
yes, then I have to run get more test strips.was going this AM anyway but havent made it out the door yet since he decided to drop on me today :nailbiting: I have 7 mins to go to test
 
back, had to go to another phar cause mine was out of strips. Other placed charged me $25.00! Mine pham charges me nothing. I also got a back up meter and my pham is ordering strips , will be here in morning
 
Oh that is good that you made it back with the strips. Glad you made it back safely. How about getting another test?
 
I have been stalling to leave the house for about an hour now. I will need to go in 15 minutes (4pm my time) but will be back in about an hour after. Hope everything is ok.
 
Glad Skittles is hanging in there! What was his last reading?

I think many members here have met IRL and have personal contact info. I would use PM though so it's not public on the internet.

ETA: The mobile version of FDMB is pretty darn good for use on a smartphone, if you have the ability.
 
I am so glad that everything is ok. You will need to reduce your dose again as Skittles will probably be super sensitive to the insulin. Sherri, you did a great job testing today and am so glad that Bobbie was here to assist as well.

Typically, when you get a low number and you are trying to bring it up, you will need to test three times, 20-30 minutes apart, to ensure the number is rising in all three tests. You definitely would be giving food at first but maybe not any by the last test, it all depends.

The next time you get a low number, you may want to try low carb first especially if it is near nadir. The only time that I will give medium carb food if it is early in the cycle like +2 or +3 and the number is close to 50. What I found with an early dive is that it takes a little more to keep the numbers up, I don't want to be testing for the next three hours every 20-30 minutes. Another time when I may give medium carb food if the number is below 40. All others, I will feed low carb. I know it is scary at first but for the most part, low carb food will bring them. If you want to try it with a less scary number, try it with a number like 60 or 70 that is prior to nadir (all numbers here that I am using as examples are using a human meter) and then test 20-30 minutes after to see how much it increases your number. I am just saying this so you can minimize high numbers at next pre-shot.
 
I just got a Iphone a few weeks ago and hate it so far, just have to get used to it. Ive been a droid user for years! I havent gotten down how to bookmark places and fine them again. i tried to find this group but couldnt :( i dont think I was putting in the right name.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top