not a beginner anymore, how to deal with lower numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

LindaMS

Member Since 2013
I am going to need some help soon regarding what to do when Sammy tests below 11 for a preshot number. Tonight she is 7.4, so I am going to skip again as I dont know how low she would go if I were to shoot (or do i shoot a smaller amount???). I know her numbers will likely be up in the high teens tomorrow morning due to this skipping, but I cant stay awake and watch her like a hawk tonight, still dealing with back pain and am groggy from meds. Safest thing to do for her today is skip.

I have read all sorts of stuff here for beginners, but cant figure out how you go from there to tighter control. For me, the closer we get to "normal" the scarier it gets, as the margin for error gets smaller. So, I need some specific advise on how to get to that next step of keeping her in the blues and greens.

Linda
 
You've been doing a great job so far! At this point, you'll want to read through Shooting and handling low numbers if you haven't already. Don't worry about skipping tonight's shot if you're not going to be able to monitor; you'll get there. I timed my first "low shoot" with Mikey when I knew I didn't have to work the next day. I ended up not having anything to worry about, but it's always good the first few times to be able to test frequently if you need to because you're still gathering data on how your cat reacts to insulin at lower numbers. ECID! (Every Cat Is Different.)

You also might want to start posting in either of the Lantus forums. Lantus TR is much more active and you'll get a lot of eyes on your spreadsheet and a lot of dosing help. Relaxed Lantus is for if you're not posting every day or if you prefer a slower dosing pace. Either one is fine and it's up to you which you'd feel more comfortable in, so check out the "condos" (daily posts on your sugar kitty) in both of the forums to see what you'd prefer. You can even continue posting in the Main Health Forum, if you'd like. We're super accommodating here. ;-)
 
I think we can all relate to how scary it is the first times you shoot lower numbers. But the reality is, that when the cat starts at a lower number at preshot, the cycle is much flatter. You don't have the same dips you do with higher numbers. I found it best to start shooting under 11.1 (200) by first shooting over 8.3 (149), then gradually lowering my comfort threshold. In the Lantus TIght Regulation Forum, there is someone around almost all the time to help you through low numbers. And in that forum, we say you are OK to shoot over 8.3/150 without posting for help. The no shoot level here is 11.1/200, because most new people don't have enough data to see what kitty will do. You are now starting to get good data on Sammy.

However, you have to be healthy enough first in order to take care of Sammy. If you are lucky, she will give you another opportunity to shoot low during the day when you are awake. The link Kay gave you on shooting and handling low numbers is one I still reread often.
 
Why did you increase her dose this morning?

I also agree with you moving to the TR forum but read all the stickies on there first so you understand the protocol - especially the dosing sticky.

Here’s how to post:
Every day ( or as often as you can) you open a new thread/post. We call them "condos" (short for condition report, or the home you live in and the cat trees some people have)

Subject line: The subject has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 08/17 Sammy AMPS 400 +2 333 + 5 224. You add a ? icon if you have a question. You should update your subject line in the very first post for the day as you get a reading, or whenever you have a question. For your first post put "newbie" also in your subject so everyone can welcome you!

Contents: The contents of your post have a quick update on how your cat is feeling as regards the 5Ps ( peeing. pooing, preening, playing and purring) and any questions and a link to your previous post ie : Today Sammy was in a good mood, playing and eating well. But he is peeing a lot and his BG is really high. Should I increase the dose?


Wendy
 
Wendy&Neko said:
I think we can all relate to how scary it is the first times you shoot lower numbers. But the reality is, that when the cat starts at a lower number at preshot, the cycle is much flatter. You don't have the same dips you do with higher numbers. I found it best to start shooting under 11.1 (200) by first shooting over 8.3 (149), then gradually lowering my comfort threshold. In the Lantus TIght Regulation Forum, there is someone around almost all the time to help you through low numbers. And in that forum, we say you are OK to shoot over 8.3/150 without posting for help. The no shoot level here is 11.1/200, because most new people don't have enough data to see what kitty will do. You are now starting to get good data on Sammy.

I did not know that the cycle is flatter with lower numbers. That relieved me greatly to read this.

So, question..... if she is low-ish, can I feed her, test again, and if over 8.3, go ahead with shot? I hate skipping because I know she will be up in the high teens and low twenties the next morning if i do that.

And Wendy, I didnt change her dose... i was showing someone how to record a skinny1 and forgot to change the SS afterwards. Sorry i confused things.
 
Actually, if she is lowish, you want to NOT feed, and then retest in 20-30 minutes to see if the number has gone up or down. If it has gone up, , above the 8.3 or 150 shoot/no shoot threshold, you are safe to shoot. You can "stall" as long as your schedule allows you.

Next cycles shot needs to be 12 hours later. You can adjust the next cycle by 15 minutes 2x a day or 30 minutes per 24 hour period to get back on your schedule.

As time goes on, you can lower this 150 shoot/no shoot threshold.
 
So, same game today.... but lower even more on PMPS. First test was 3.4, I didnt believe it, used a strip from another canister and got 3.8. Either way, its a no shot night. I will try to get a few numbers tonight if I think of it when I get up to go to the washroom, etc.

I am thinking I have a nutjob cat who doesnt follow the rules! :) But, it does scare me that she is at that level... wonder what she got down to today. I need to do a few tests at +10 to see where she is at in the daytime.
 
If you can't get those mid cycle shots to see where Sammy is going, it might be an idea to lower the dose to .5U so you can shoot every cycle. Any chance of getting a few more tests this weekend? Hope you are feeling better now. Sammy looks like she's getting into some nice healing numbers.
 
I second dropping the dose to .5u. As you can see by her higher morning numbers, she still needs insulin, but with the drops in dose she's been having, it looks like her pancreas is sputtering back to life. :-D
 
I had decided overnight to lower her dose to 0.5, and lo and behold, you wonderful people had the same thought! i just **might** be starting to catch on to all this.

Yes, the back is 50% better... starting a new med today, so lets hope it helps. Thanks for your concern.

Linda
 
LindaMS said:
i just **might** be starting to catch on to all this.

And then watch her go otj_icon on you. :lol: I secretly think that's why so many people here will adopt more sugar kitties: what else are you going to do with all your FD knowledge when your cat has gone OTJ? haha_smiley
 
I know! lets see how 0.5 does although normally we change by only 0.25 unit increments so if it doesn't work we go up by only 0.25 .

Wendy
 
Good job on giving her the .5u this morning on the 151 pre-shot! This is looking to be a much better dose for her. Let us know how it goes!
 
LindaMS said:
Okay, what would you do with her this morning? She is 6.1 AMPS (110). ??? confused_cat

I didnt get an answer, and just checked her again, 45 mins after she should have had her shot, she is still dropping, now 5.9, and didnt eat well, so i am skipping this shot. Darn it! I was so hoping to get her shots happening more consistantly! I am wondering if I should be reducing again.
 
Linda,

I have asked for help from the Lantus board, hopefully someone will come over and advise you what to do.

Terri
 
I guess my post was something else I had previously copied and posted but I see you went ahead and posted over in Lantus, so thats good they know the insulin and Lantus the best.

Terri
 
Thanks Terri. I didnt get any help, and now its too late to give her a shot, so will just have to skip. I am thinking I will give her a decrease again, as her +1 test is even lower than her AMPS... she was 6.1 at AMPS at 5.9 an hour later, dispite having eaten a bit (she seems off her food). So, no shot this morning.

I really wonder if her pancreas isnt waking up these days. Hopefully the lantus board will chime in with some advise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top