Norbert AMPS +2 185, +8 49

Norbert’s Mom

Member Since 2020
We had done a reduction to 1.25U for him the other day due to his dips into the green. Today he was slightly high this morning, but got into blue shortly after breakfast. Now he’s having some excursions into the greens. I’m thinking he’s earned another reduction to 1U. Could it be he’s beginning to go into remission?
 
He has earned another reduction. When newly diagnosed kitties drop below 50 you reduce by .25u...so you're right. New dose tonight 1u. It's possible that Norbert is trying to make a run for the falls(remission).
 
Seeing #s like 49 is frightening. With Norbert being newly diagnosed it's kinda hard to determine what kinda carbs he needs to bring #s up. We start with MC(11-15%) food for #s under 50. We wait to break out the big guns(HC 20%+) when #s are below 40 or they're not responding to MC(#s keep dropping). Basically we to bring #s up modestly w/o sending them to the moon. It takes some getting use to. And I'm not fussing at you by any means:bighug: When you learn the carb sensitivity of your kitty you can steer the cycle with LC at the appropriate times. ECID though.
 
I never consider sage advice “fussing” :bighug:
Norbert means the world to me, so I’m probably a little overprotective (ask my poor hubby!). His numbers were so high at the beginning, and the vet just wanted him on the DM food, a small dose of Vetsulin, and recheck his numbers in a couple of weeks. Yikes! I’m so happy to have found this group to help.
We had a low toward the beginning of this and I freaked. Gave him honey and FF. Needless to say he went to the moon and then some! Thanks to Wendy&Neko, I believe, I learned to just give a little carby food and check again. And not to panic!
Standby for the next test...
 
K. One more test w/o food in 30 mins. This is normal protocol for handling low #s. I suspect he's past his lil drop but just to be sure...one more test in 30:rolleyes::p
 
You'll find it reiterated across the board.....most vets don't know a lot about Feline Diabetes. And it's really not their faults...they just don't get a great deal of time spent on it in school. I worked in the vet industry for 10 years. I've learned more about diabetes from the astoundingly knowledgeable people on the board than I did from the Vet I worked for.
 
Ok. I’ll get another test to make sure he’s not dropping.
I agree with you about the vets. Ours is really nice, but I didn’t really get a warm fuzzy when discussing Norbert’s diabetes. I’ve learned so much from the people on this board, too!
 
Since you're following SLGS we'll see what Norbert's PMPS is. Generally the #s will come up because the insulin is "weakening". Sometimes #s can drop some during the fasting period prior to AMPS/PMPS. ECID. I would think Norbert might start to bounce some because of the 49 at +8. Hopefully this will bring his # up to a comfortable shootable # for you. Here's some guidelines I copied/pasted from the dosing guideline sticky at the top of the L&L forum:


Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Basaglar, and Levemir users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.

If kitty is dropping faster or lower than you'd like, please see "Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers" and post for help or suggestions.
 
Thank you for posting that. I was looking at that so I would have some idea about what to do based on his PMPS. An hour to go and we’ll see where he’s at. He’s been bouncy, but hopefully he won’t go crazy on me.
 
what to do based on his PMPS.
Generally speaking we don't worry too much about AM or PM preshot numbers, unless of course they're too low to shoot. What you need to study are Norbert's nadirs - his lowest number for the day. It's always better to take a look at your nadirs to determine whether to shoot or not and then follow your dosing method recommendations. I think you're going to see some higher than normal numbers tonight until he clears the bounce.

Please, please get a test or two tonight to confirm that. I see the last few nights you didn't test...and these kitties clear their bounces faster each time...its when they go the lowest...take a look at Luci's SS on 8/1 to see what I mean about that...she loves danger! Me, not so much. :rolleyes:
 
It will definitely be a Netflix and chill night with Norbert. He ate really well, but I do worry about him coming down too quickly, especially since the switch to low carb food is still recent.
 
You can always add a little medium carb wet food to the offerings tonight to prevent him from dropping too fast...I do it quite often, since my Luci is quite the drama queen. She loves to dive, dive, dive. She really pulled one over on us on 8/1... I had a chat with her about that.

If you're worried about him going too low, get a 1+ and then feed accordingly.

I'm going to have to sign off - I'm an early to bed, early to rise gal...my job starts early and goes long and late...even today it was a long day...

Have a great evening and enjoy your Netflix and chill with Norbert :)
 
Thank you for watching over us today! I did give him a small amount of medium carb kibble with his wet food. He seems comfy, so I’ll check him again in about half an hour. Get some well deserved rest!
 
@Sue and Luci You were spot on! We tested a couple of times last night and it seems he cleared the bounce much quicker that the previous ones. He did fine last night and has been quite cheeky this morning. He even “told” me what he thinks of his testing and shots (pic)!
 

Attachments

  • 6D17DC29-508B-4785-99B8-401CD6481BCB.jpeg
    6D17DC29-508B-4785-99B8-401CD6481BCB.jpeg
    64.3 KB · Views: 60
Back
Top