No shot

Martas

Member Since 2019
Hello!
amps 290
+6 328
She has vomited what she deserved after +6. hair balls he is okay. negative ketones
pmps 161

I'm not going to give her insulin, it's her 5 day with Lantus, I feel insecure. I do well?

I am afraid that he will vomit again and have injected his dose.
 
Hi Martas. We all feel insecure at times, but people here will help:)! Looks like you are doing a GREAT job getting Cuki's BGs & you injected his dose.

Feel free to post another thread with a specific question if you have one & it may get more responses!

Again, you are doing well :cool:
 
Hola Martas,

Bienvenidos a FDMB. Me gusta mucha la photo de Cuki. El es uno gato bonito!! me gusta mucha gatos negros. (Entiendo pocito pocito Español pero no hablo Español bien. )

If you feel insecure it is always best to do what you think is right, skipping the shot is ok :) It is always better to be safe than sorry ;) Good job :joyful:

In the future there are some other options on how to handle Numbers that you are not comfortable with
  1. Don’t feed. Wait 20 minutes then test Cuki’s Blood Glucose level again. If it is up higher you can give the insulin shot
  2. Give a smaller insulin dose (10-20% of the original dose)

I was wondering: Are you going to follow one of our dosing protocols on this website? For Lantus there are two methods we use: Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) and Tight Regulation. Any help we will offer you here will depend on if you follow SLGS, TR, or a method that you have decided with your vet.

SLGS is used for cats that still have dry food in their diet, for owners who are not able to test during the day, and for owners who want to be more cautious in the beginning of treatment until they understand how their cat reacts to insulin. Dose changes usually happen every 7 days with this method

Tight Regulation is a more aggressive method used by owners who can monitor their cats more and test Blood Glucose (BG) levels through the day :) Dose changes happen every 3 - 5 days with this method.

You should read the information on these methods and choose one. You can find the information HERE. When you pick a method write it in your signature so we know what method you use. That way we can help :)
 
Hola Martas,

Bienvenidos a FDMB. Me gusta mucha la photo de Cuki. El es uno gato bonito!! me gusta mucha gatos negros. (Entiendo pocito pocito Español pero no hablo Español bien. )

If you feel insecure it is always best to do what you think is right, skipping the shot is ok :) It is always better to be safe than sorry ;) Good job :joyful:

In the future there are some other options on how to handle Numbers that you are not comfortable with
  1. Don’t feed. Wait 20 minutes then test Cuki’s Blood Glucose level again. If it is up higher you can give the insulin shot
  2. Give a smaller insulin dose (10-20% of the original dose)

I was wondering: Are you going to follow one of our dosing protocols on this website? For Lantus there are two methods we use: Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) and Tight Regulation. Any help we will offer you here will depend on if you follow SLGS, TR, or a method that you have decided with your vet.

SLGS is used for cats that still have dry food in their diet, for owners who are not able to test during the day, and for owners who want to be more cautious in the beginning of treatment until they understand how their cat reacts to insulin. Dose changes usually happen every 7 days with this method

Tight Regulation is a more aggressive method used by owners who can monitor their cats more and test Blood Glucose (BG) levels through the day :) Dose changes happen every 3 - 5 days with this method.

You should read the information on these methods and choose one. You can find the information HERE. When you pick a method write it in your signature so we know what method you use. That way we can help :)
Very well said :) Amanda :bighug:
 
Hola Martas,

Bienvenidos a FDMB. Me gusta mucha la photo de Cuki. El es uno gato bonito!! me gusta mucha gatos negros. (Entiendo pocito pocito Español pero no hablo Español bien. )

If you feel insecure it is always best to do what you think is right, skipping the shot is ok :) It is always better to be safe than sorry ;) Good job :joyful:

In the future there are some other options on how to handle Numbers that you are not comfortable with
  1. Don’t feed. Wait 20 minutes then test Cuki’s Blood Glucose level again. If it is up higher you can give the insulin shot
  2. Give a smaller insulin dose (10-20% of the original dose)

I was wondering: Are you going to follow one of our dosing protocols on this website? For Lantus there are two methods we use: Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) and Tight Regulation. Any help we will offer you here will depend on if you follow SLGS, TR, or a method that you have decided with your vet.

SLGS is used for cats that still have dry food in their diet, for owners who are not able to test during the day, and for owners who want to be more cautious in the beginning of treatment until they understand how their cat reacts to insulin. Dose changes usually happen every 7 days with this method

Tight Regulation is a more aggressive method used by owners who can monitor their cats more and test Blood Glucose (BG) levels through the day :) Dose changes happen every 3 - 5 days with this method.

You should read the information on these methods and choose one. You can find the information HERE. When you pick a method write it in your signature so we know what method you use. That way we can help :)
Hello! Thank you very much for answering

Cuki is very pretty, and very good and before getting sick, she was very cheerful and playful.

The method I have chosen is SLGS, because I don't spend many hours at home. Since I was detected Ibd have changed her diet, she was eating 4 months wet without carbohydrates, and now she has been 20 days with mixed wet and dry.
but she has been vomiting for 2 days, and that worries me.
she has a lot of allergy problems, and nothing calms her. Ketons negative!
thank you!
 
Hi Martas. We all feel insecure at times, but people here will help:)! Looks like you are doing a GREAT job getting Cuki's BGs & you injected his dose.

Feel free to post another thread with a specific question if you have one & it may get more responses!

Again, you are doing well :cool:
Thank you very much
 
[QUOTE="Martas, post: 2414505, member: 26903"
The method I have chosen is SLGS, because I don't spend many hours at home. Since I was detected Ibd have changed her diet, she was eating 4 months wet without carbohydrates, and now she has been 20 days with mixed wet and dry.
but she has been vomiting for 2 days, and that worries me.
she has a lot of allergy problems, and nothing calms her. Ketons negative!
[/QUOTE]

I follow SLGS too, for the same reasons as you :)

When you follow SLGS you hold a dose for 7 days straight, *when you skip a shot during those 7 days the 7 day count starts back at the beginning* This is because when you skip the shot you drain the Lantus depot and Cuki needs to build a new depot from scratch. At the end of the 7 days you will do a Blood Glucose (BG) curve on Cuki, this means you take a BG test every 2 hours for 12 hours straight (AMPS, +2, +4, +6, +8, +10, PMPS). Since your work schedule changes a lot you will want to do this on a day off. You decide if Cuki needs to increase his dose or decrease her dose based on the lowest value from your Blood Glucose curve. This number is known as the "nadir" or "peak".

After a week when you can do a BG curve on Cuki you will choose her dose using the steps below:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As of right now you should hold Cuki's dose of 2u for 7 days, The only time you would need to decrease would be:
  • If your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • If your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). ***If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.***
I don't have any experience with IBD but many members here do. I think because Cuki is diabetic she shouldn't eat dry food, other members with cats that have IBD feed a wet diet so they may be able to give you advice about what to . I also don't know why Cuki is vomiting - do you think it could be a hair ball? If you are worried you could call your vet and see what they think. It is very good she does not have ketones!

To get more help, it is a good idea to post your questions about the Allergies and Vomiting to the Main Feline Health Forum, there are more people there with a lot of different experience, so they might be able to offer more help :), You could also change the title of this post to have a question mark you can add one to your title by choosing it from a drop down beside where you write the title. This should give your post more attention

I hope Cuki feels better soon :)
 
[QUOTE="Martas, post: 2414505, member: 26903"
The method I have chosen is SLGS, because I don't spend many hours at home. Since I was detected Ibd have changed her diet, she was eating 4 months wet without carbohydrates, and now she has been 20 days with mixed wet and dry.
but she has been vomiting for 2 days, and that worries me.
she has a lot of allergy problems, and nothing calms her. Ketons negative!

I follow SLGS too, for the same reasons as you :)

When you follow SLGS you hold a dose for 7 days straight, *when you skip a shot during those 7 days the 7 day count starts back at the beginning* This is because when you skip the shot you drain the Lantus depot and Cuki needs to build a new depot from scratch. At the end of the 7 days you will do a Blood Glucose (BG) curve on Cuki, this means you take a BG test every 2 hours for 12 hours straight (AMPS, +2, +4, +6, +8, +10, PMPS). Since your work schedule changes a lot you will want to do this on a day off. You decide if Cuki needs to increase his dose or decrease her dose based on the lowest value from your Blood Glucose curve. This number is known as the "nadir" or "peak".

After a week when you can do a BG curve on Cuki you will choose her dose using the steps below:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As of right now you should hold Cuki's dose of 2u for 7 days, The only time you would need to decrease would be:
  • If your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • If your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). ***If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.***
I don't have any experience with IBD but many members here do. I think because Cuki is diabetic she shouldn't eat dry food, other members with cats that have IBD feed a wet diet so they may be able to give you advice about what to . I also don't know why Cuki is vomiting - do you think it could be a hair ball? If you are worried you could call your vet and see what they think. It is very good she does not have ketones!

To get more help, it is a good idea to post your questions about the Allergies and Vomiting to the Main Feline Health Forum, there are more people there with a lot of different experience, so they might be able to offer more help :), You could also change the title of this post to have a question mark you can add one to your title by choosing it from a drop down beside where you write the title. This should give your post more attention

I hope Cuki feels better soon :)[/QUOTE]


Thank you very much for so much information!
I had planned to make a curve on Sunday, but now I have to change for the no shot yesterday. I did not know, I did not know it!

The dry diet is very temporary, because we have tried all the proteins, and I am not happy with the feed.

she in her first vomits did have hairballs, enough. But not today. The veterinarian told me to put primperan and follow everything the same.

I put a post in the main forum, I think, but it has not been very successful. I will put another with the topic vomiting. I don't know if I put it in the correct section. It's the language problem, I'm sorry!
 
Thank you very much for so much information!
I had planned to make a curve on Sunday, but now I have to change for the no shot yesterday. I did not know, I did not know it!

If you have the time, and still want to do a curve on Sunday, it will still be good information for you. We just won't change the dose yet! I think that 2u is working for Cuki, the proof is the 161 reading that you got yesterday for the PMPS :).

When I started I did not know that if you skip a shot that your dose schedule resets either! It also resets if you give a smaller dosage when you think it is too risky . For example: Last night when Cuki got the 161. If you decided to give a smaller dose of 1u instead of skipping the shot, your 2u 7day starts back at the beginning for AMPS. I learned this from other members too :)

The dry diet is very temporary, because we have tried all the proteins, and I am not happy with the feed.

Ok! that is good news! I hope you can find some better food for Cuki soon :)

she in her first vomits did have hairballs, enough. But not today. The veterinarian told me to put primperan and follow everything the same.

I put a post in the main forum, I think, but it has not been very successful. I will put another with the topic vomiting. I don't know if I put it in the correct section. It's the language problem, I'm sorry!

I see your allergy post in the Feline Main health forum! Don't worry about the language barrier! we will figure it out. I think that a new post in the Feline Main Health Forum is a good idea because there are more people there with a lot of different cat health experience.

When you create your title select a question mark from the drop down menu (this will give more attention) I put a picture of how to do that below
upload_2019-7-26_14-30-10.png


Create a title that says: Cuki Vomiting more than Normal: IBD and Allergies, ADVICE NEEDED!

In your post write that Cuki has IBD and allergies and has been vomiting and you dont know why, and that your vet has told you to give primperan. Some members might have an idea if there could be a symptom of IBD that results in vomiting.

Include the link to this post so that they can see a little more history of what you are trying to communicate :)

I will check in on the post and see if I can help communicate as well :)
 
If you have the time, and still want to do a curve on Sunday, it will still be good information for you. We just won't change the dose yet! I think that 2u is working for Cuki, the proof is the 161 reading that you got yesterday for the PMPS :).

When I started I did not know that if you skip a shot that your dose schedule resets either! It also resets if you give a smaller dosage when you think it is too risky . For example: Last night when Cuki got the 161. If you decided to give a smaller dose of 1u instead of skipping the shot, your 2u 7day starts back at the beginning for AMPS. I learned this from other members too :)



Ok! that is good news! I hope you can find some better food for Cuki soon :)



I see your allergy post in the Feline Main health forum! Don't worry about the language barrier! we will figure it out. I think that a new post in the Feline Main Health Forum is a good idea because there are more people there with a lot of different cat health experience.

When you create your title select a question mark from the drop down menu (this will give more attention) I put a picture of how to do that below
View attachment 46737

Create a title that says: Cuki Vomiting more than Normal: IBD and Allergies, ADVICE NEEDED!

In your post write that Cuki has IBD and allergies and has been vomiting and you dont know why, and that your vet has told you to give primperan. Some members might have an idea if there could be a symptom of IBD that results in vomiting.

Include the link to this post so that they can see a little more history of what you are trying to communicate :)

I will check in on the post and see if I can help communicate as well :)

Hello! Thank you very much by your help! I have a new post with the ? .

hugs!!
 
Back
Top