No shot tonight at ALL??

Status
Not open for further replies.

ObieAndMe

Member Since 2011
Obie has been on Lantus, 1unit twice a day for 1 WEEK. Noticed last night his level was real good.. it went up slightly mid-week when I changed his food from Hills to Purina... then has been improving ever since as I take away more and more dry. He's been super happy, playing again, peeing normal.

Well..just did his PMPS...and he's 139! No shot right???? Is this good, or should I monitor very close incase he goes hypo???
 
What a nice number. I would certainly skip for tonight. If he is 12 hours after the insulin, you shouldn't have to worry about his going too low now. But for your peace of mind, get another test or two in the next few hours.

Wet food can make a huge difference! And yes, it is great news!

Tomorrow he may be high because you skipped the shot, but I would think you should reduce as he could have gone low this cycle. Can you get some dose advice on the Lantus forum?
 
I would let him be and see what his numbers are in the morning. That is just me. Sounds like he is flirting with diet control. Woo hoo. Good for you! Think about reducing the dose tomarrow if he goes high. Wet food is a major game changer...
 
Will get some advice there, yes..thanks! Will call vet as well maybe just before his AMPS..as tomorrow is his curve day where I sent all my results to them. Would be really lovely to send them numbers showing no shots needed! I'm so happy..exactly a week ago I was a wreck..now shots and testing is a cinch and he's doing great so far! :D
 
Sounds like very good news though I'm way to inexperienced know anything for sure. Taking away the dry food certainly helped my Beauregard - his tests were noticeably better from the first day he was an all wet=food kitty!

Good luck - I hope Obie continues to show great progress!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top