no shot this morning?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah Smith

Member Since 2016
After all day unreadable yesterday, Cooters numbers finally started coming down last night. he was at 370 at +6 i fed him 1/2 a can so LC FF and went to bed. Hos AMPS was 124 on the new meter this morning, I rechecked with the micro and it was 143. I will be at work all day and am scared about shooting at all right now, any ideas?? :nailbiting: How low did he go last night :(
 
Last edited:
Thanks Sharon... I just dont get him :( I had to feed him, he hadnt ate since 10pm last night and gave me a really plaintive meow when I tested and told him he'd have to wait... Vet is supposed to call me back this morning, im getting some u100 syringes from her so I can do smaller dosing
 
I saw how high he was all day yesterday! Then to be so low this AM. He will probably be high again for PM, but will be better than too low!
 
Did not shoot, just came back to the house, can't remember if I picked up the dry food... think I should shoot a low dose since I'm back?
 
That low preshot this morning might mean that the dose is too high (Prozinc can keep dropping late into the cycle if the dose is too high), or it may be that Cooter's pancreas is doing some work.

With a lower than expected preshot you have a number of options;
1. Skip shot (safest if caregiver can't monitor (although if there are ketones this may not be wise)).
2. Stall, without feeding, to see if kitty comes up to number where you're comfortable shooting.
3. Give a reduced or token dose.

Sarah, are you going to be around to monitor?

Eliz
 
I can not monitor today, can probably get hom early, but it wont be until at least +6 at this point.... he ate LC 7% after the amps numbers, made a very plaintive meow and it scared me into feeding him with the 124, thats low for him right now
 
No ketones, been checking everyday, twice yesterday with his unreadables... Thanks Elizabeth, gonna skip this mornings, no chance of dry or dog food for him today either, so should have a better evening! Now hes gonna bounce though i bet lol... hes never been the most cooperative cat, but cmon! :bighug:
 
Talked to the vet, she has the u100 syringes for me, told her what was going on this morning, shes as perplexed as i am over it... going to do 1.2 this evening (thoughts on this dose since 1.5 did what it did?). Also had her look at his labs to see if she thougjt he was ok to start Zobaline, it should be here tomorrow or Friday. She said his numbers are good, no worries on a supplement.
 
He seems to be a kitty who is really sensitive to small changes in dose. I think I'd try the 0.2 and monitor. Sure was nice to see some blues though!
It was very nice, they are very good numbers. I just freak over them because he was high for so long, scared his body is going to scream "Hypo!" Still wish I knew if he came up to that first number of if he held around that all night... totally thought I was clear to go to bed with his +6 last night, now I wish I would have stayed up. He's starving this afternoon, I made sure he didn't have access to any dry, he's still came up to 583. Just fed him a little LC, not much because we shoot in 2 hours... I really need to get an autofeeder! Been looking at one for the other cats as well, one that will close if Cooter comes up to it. Had a houseful of not so happy kitties when I walked in the door lol
 
Nice to see some lower numbers! Sorry I wasn't around..I didn't see this til after Eliz had already taken care of ya!
 
I'm didnt know who to tag this morning lol, noticed Elizabeth on after I started the thread and threw the tag out there in case :) Still trying to figure out who's fluent on what insulin... They are all greek to me still! Thank you all so much for helping us out, yet again! Fingers crossed we get a good night on the 1.2 dose, now 2.5 hours in, gonna check him in 30 min.
 
@Sharon14 I chickened out right after I wrote that and gave him just about 3 bites of LC..... he's only down 20 points in a half hour, and that could be the meter. Did I jump the gun you think? What would you have done? I'm still trying to read him on the insulin, 260 drop in 2 hours is crazy. I asked to take him off the vetsulin cause it was dropping him hard like that.... I know I'd feel sick or at least pretty crappy with a drop that steep....
 
Colin has never dropped like that, so I don't know what I'd have done, but I probably would have fed some too. You're new to this and we don't really know Cooters patterns yet. You had a big drop just the other night too, didn't you?
 
Colin has never dropped like that, so I don't know what I'd have done, but I probably would have fed some too. You're new to this and we don't really know Cooters patterns yet. You had a big drop just the other night too, didn't you?
His first night on the prozinc, he was over 600 at preshot, and down to 94 at his +4 test.... dropped to 64 within that hour.... he does not have nice calm drops, almost every drop is 200 points at least in the first 2 hours....
 
His first night on the prozinc, he was over 600 at preshot, and down to 94 at his +4 test.... dropped to 64 within that hour.... he does not have nice calm drops, almost every drop is 200 points at least in the first 2 hours....

:woot: It looks like he has an early nadir. When is your next test?
 
just did a +4, down a little again to 212. This type of drop I can deal with! he's dropped 40 points in the last hour instead of averaging 130...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top