Pippin's Team
Member
Hello again. My first post is here. I wanted to give an update on Pippin and also ask about dosing.
I took him to the vet on Monday so she could do a glucose curve (I still wasn't feeling very confident about my home testing skills at that point) but he wouldn't eat anything there, so they couldn't give him insulin. The vet advised that I do a curve at home. I also showed her the numbers I had gotten to that point and she was a little concerned about the low ones and advised putting out frozen food or getting a feeder so that he could eat at the nadir.
I was actually planning to do the curve today, but I couldn't give him his insulin shot this morning. Last night he was low (186 mg/dl) at the PMPS. I waited half an hour, per these instructions, and tested again. He was at 208 so I gave him his food and a little less than 1.5 units. Probably should have just dropped it to 1u. At 2:40 am he tested at 57. He wasn't eating very much of the thawed frozen wet food, so I gave a some milk, which he lapped up. Is not being interested in food (or some food) a hypo symptom? He seemed fine otherwise.
At AMPS he was at 97, so I skipped that shot. Tested 78 at 1:40pm today. Still wasn't eating a lot, so I opened a fresh can and he seemed to like that better -- he ate about 1/2 can of Wellness. Just tested him at 8pm and he was at 151. Obviously, I don't want to shoot unless he's above 200 and probably shoot a smaller amount. But I'm curious, since he didn't get a shot this morning, does that mean his pancreas is starting to produce insulin again? Should I reduce his regular dosage to 1u or less?
Update: Just called the vet and they said not to give insulin tonight and call them with his reading in the AM.
Thanks again, I really appreciate all the help we've gotten here.
I took him to the vet on Monday so she could do a glucose curve (I still wasn't feeling very confident about my home testing skills at that point) but he wouldn't eat anything there, so they couldn't give him insulin. The vet advised that I do a curve at home. I also showed her the numbers I had gotten to that point and she was a little concerned about the low ones and advised putting out frozen food or getting a feeder so that he could eat at the nadir.
I was actually planning to do the curve today, but I couldn't give him his insulin shot this morning. Last night he was low (186 mg/dl) at the PMPS. I waited half an hour, per these instructions, and tested again. He was at 208 so I gave him his food and a little less than 1.5 units. Probably should have just dropped it to 1u. At 2:40 am he tested at 57. He wasn't eating very much of the thawed frozen wet food, so I gave a some milk, which he lapped up. Is not being interested in food (or some food) a hypo symptom? He seemed fine otherwise.
At AMPS he was at 97, so I skipped that shot. Tested 78 at 1:40pm today. Still wasn't eating a lot, so I opened a fresh can and he seemed to like that better -- he ate about 1/2 can of Wellness. Just tested him at 8pm and he was at 151. Obviously, I don't want to shoot unless he's above 200 and probably shoot a smaller amount. But I'm curious, since he didn't get a shot this morning, does that mean his pancreas is starting to produce insulin again? Should I reduce his regular dosage to 1u or less?
Update: Just called the vet and they said not to give insulin tonight and call them with his reading in the AM.
Thanks again, I really appreciate all the help we've gotten here.