Hi, everyone.
Frodo is still staying low with very little insulin after a mild hypo on Tuesday. This is all very new to me, so I don't know the general guidelines for when to skip a shot or when to give a "fat" or "skinny" shot or a reduced dose. Any ideas what to do here? His pre-shot number was 162. I think I read somewhere to not give a shot or to adjust the shot if it was under 200?
Frodo's SS starts when I started trying to test (still hard but getting much better BTW, thanks to all your great suggestions!) He was diagnosed in mid-Dec and was on 1.0 unit of Humulin N 2 x day. Really high numbers when we did the curve at the vets 2 weeks ago (he didn't give them to me). We switched to 1.5 units Lantus 2 x day starting 1/15 (4 days before the SS starts).
I have not given Frodo a shot yet tonight, but he has eaten. Tonight's pre-shot test was at exactly 12 hours after this morning's shot.
Thanks!
Heidi
Frodo is still staying low with very little insulin after a mild hypo on Tuesday. This is all very new to me, so I don't know the general guidelines for when to skip a shot or when to give a "fat" or "skinny" shot or a reduced dose. Any ideas what to do here? His pre-shot number was 162. I think I read somewhere to not give a shot or to adjust the shot if it was under 200?
Frodo's SS starts when I started trying to test (still hard but getting much better BTW, thanks to all your great suggestions!) He was diagnosed in mid-Dec and was on 1.0 unit of Humulin N 2 x day. Really high numbers when we did the curve at the vets 2 weeks ago (he didn't give them to me). We switched to 1.5 units Lantus 2 x day starting 1/15 (4 days before the SS starts).
I have not given Frodo a shot yet tonight, but he has eaten. Tonight's pre-shot test was at exactly 12 hours after this morning's shot.
Thanks!
Heidi