No shoot numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy & MiddieMittens

Member Since 2019
I just tested my cat at 630 and her number was 186 what does everyone go by when they have low numbers my vet is not on board with me and i dont feel comfortable with him so im changing vets he told me absolutely no adjusting doses but i gave her 1.5 because i wasnt sure what to do and he isnt reachable at this time but i just wanted to ask everyone here. What they do with low numbers alpha trac, prozinc. 3u x2
 
We tell people not to give insulin unless BG is over 200 when they are new and have little data. You have some data and giving the 1.5u dose tonight should be just fine. I would however strongly suggest you test BG again tonight +2 or +3 hours post shot or at least before bed and if the BG then is lower than the BG at PMPS, feed Mittens a snack and leave food out for overnight. If numbers were to drop to 90 or less, then more monitoring tonight would be required.

It looks to me like you were getting better numbers at 2u than you are now and that your vet has directed you to increase the dose by a full unit probably based on an in office elevated BG instead of looking at the data on your SS. When you get PMPS that much lower than AMPS, it can be indicative of too high a dose or long duration which is possible but less likely.

I would caution you to always get a pre-shot test and try to get mid cycle tests whenever possible to see how low BG is going on a dose. ProZinc usually reaches peak action in the +4 to +7 post shot and you don't have any tests in that timeframe. Randomly grabbing a test in that time period will help you see what is really happening to BG on any given dose which is information necessary to determine optimum dosing.

I would also suggest that dose increases should be done in 0.25u or at most 0.5u increments. Otherwise you risk skipping over the best dose and it appears that may be the case already.
 
We tell people not to give insulin unless BG is over 200 when they are new and have little data. You have some data and giving the 1.5u dose tonight should be just fine. I would however strongly suggest you test BG again tonight +2 or +3 hours post shot or at least before bed and if the BG then is lower than the BG at PMPS, feed Mittens a snack and leave food out for overnight. If numbers were to drop to 90 or less, then more monitoring tonight would be required.

It looks to me like you were getting better numbers at 2u than you are now and that your vet has directed you to increase the dose by a full unit probably based on an in office elevated BG instead of looking at the data on your SS. When you get PMPS that much lower than AMPS, it can be indicative of too high a dose or long duration which is possible but less likely.

I would caution you to always get a pre-shot test and try to get mid cycle tests whenever possible to see how low BG is going on a dose. ProZinc usually reaches peak action in the +4 to +7 post shot and you don't have any tests in that timeframe. Randomly grabbing a test in that time period will help you see what is really happening to BG on any given dose which is information necessary to determine optimum dosing.

I would also suggest that dose increases should be done in 0.25u or at most 0.5u increments. Otherwise you risk skipping over the best dose and it appears that may be the case already.


This morning i got flustereated i couldnt get blood i dont seem to understand why my vet says not to adjust dose when it clearly works. Its hard for me to get daytime readings & night ones because she goes outside and disappeares her numbers were better before because she was on the glucose balance food from the vet that i cant afford, she eats mutiple different brands now if i feed her 1 kind she wouldnt eat it all. And would get sick of it.
 
If you are referring to Glycobalance food, it's no better and in some cases worse than retail. I understand needing some variety so have a look on THIS LIST for foods under 10% carbs. I'm sure you can find several that Mittens will be happy with. Many of us feed Fancy Feast or Friskies both of which have lots of different flavours and are easy on the budget.

Your vet no doubt just doesn't want you making dosing decisions. That is fairly typical however, just holding a dose for weeks on end and then basing dosing on BG's taken at the vet doesn't work either. Perhaps trying to keep Mittens inside for a week or two would allow you to get some tests to see how she is doing.
 
Keeping her inside is torcher for her... she really doesnt like being in the house and since shes been diagnosed one of my other cats is bulling her. I keep a good eye on the bully and dont let it happen.

I get that but he says adjusting doses is dangerous and risk overdose. Maybe if you give more than directed but im not that stupid. But he also doesnt belive in home testing so im doing that against his advice. And will continue to because i dont want another hypo scare... what if i didnt test her tonight and she was 185 and gave her 3u? And she went back outside for the night? Id feel horrible if she died because i gave her to much. And i wasnt able to find her agian. ( she doesnt usally go far but if shes sick idk if shed come home)
 
Does Mittens want to eat all the time? That incitive may help you encourage her to come in more if you exclusively feed her indoors. My girl was afraid of the new house on our property and didn't want to come in at all, but she did a 180 when she became diabetic and wanted her food.

Mittens is doing very good so far tonight, make sure she gets a couple snacks so she doesn't drop too low.
 
Not to sound judgmental or anything, but if I had a vet that didn't believe in home testing I'd definitely fire their ass.
Yes i am having a one on one chat with him this comming week and if we cant see eye to eye im finding someone new. Hopefully with in the same practice. But mittens levels was great last night then this morning she was inside all night she was 440. I have no idea what's going on with her.
 
he says adjusting doses is dangerous and risk overdose.
So is giving the same dose day in and day out without testing to see how low BG is going. Mittens may have gone even lower than 145 last night on a lower dose than usual. Today's higher AMPS is no doubt bouncing which is a defensive phenomenon when BG drops to lower levels than kitty is familiar with or drops quickly or drops too low. While being kept indoors might cause a slight BG elevation for a time, I doubt it would go up that much. BG may stay high for a few cycles due to bouncing. That again suggests the 3u dose is likely too high and the very reason you are seeing higher numbers. I strongly suggest you monitor Mittens a few times today to see how low her BG drops and ensure she doesn't go too low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top