No Shoot Number - update 7/14

Status
Not open for further replies.

mplsmuse

Member Since 2011
Gus hit a 161 today at pm pre-shot. My gut is to not shoot him with anything tonight. I'll check his blood sugar again later, but I do not want to sent him into a hypo. I'm also not at a point, a little over two weeks in, where I feel comfortable micro dosing him if needed. Any thoughts? My plan is just to monitor him tonight.

Thanks!
 
Re: No Shoot Number

Without any mid cycle tests I would not shoot. I would however keep testing to see where he goes from here.

You may be seeing some better bg's from the switch to canned food. If I remember you aren't completely switched over to all canned yet, once that happens you may see even better numbers.

There is nothing particulary scarry about micro dosing. But you would need to get some U100 syringes and use a conversion chart to get the doses right. That way you could manage his bg's at much lower numbers.

There are several here who are micro dosing, check out Barbara and Thumper's ss and TotallyBeachin & Rocky's ss.

Good call on not shooting. Hang in there.
 
Re: No Shoot Number

I would test him again in 20 minutes or so. If he is up above 200, I wouldn't skip. That can mean a high number in the am and then worrying about what to shoot then. If you are nervous, you could shoot a reduced dose when he reaches 200 - .5 maybe? Can you get some tests in tonight if you decide to shoot?
 
Re: No Shoot Number

I meant to add that the no shoot # for someone new to insulin is 200. Once you have done a curve and get some mid cycle tests in to see how the insulin is working in Gus you can lower your no shoot # to 180 etc.
 
Re: No Shoot Number

I will go with Robin and your gut. If you are worried, skip tonight. And get some midcycle numbers in so you can shoot your 200s with confidence.
 
Re: No Shoot Number

Thank you guys! I don't have U-100 syringes (currently using u-40) or access to them right now since it is 8 pm here, so I'll stay with the 200 no shoot and then keep checking him. He's also eaten but not a ton tonight. (It is hot and humid here and none of the cats are particularly interested in eating tonight.) I'm going to do a test now to make sure that 165 was accurate.

Thanks for all of the quick answers. I'm excited to see his numbers drop but trying to stay level-headed, too. :)
 
Re: No Shoot Number

Ok, about 1.5 hours after he should have had his shot his BG level is up to 198. I still don't feel comfortable shooting him, though, so I'll monitor again before bed.
 
Re: No Shoot Number - update at pm+1

I agree since you don't have any mid-cycle numbers and you just got an amazing PS :mrgreen: that you need some data to support the 1u dose. Could be it is perfect, but w/o data you just don't know what happened today (or any other day - could be he has been getting green nadirs all along, who knows). If it were me, I would shoot a half dose now that he is over 200. Then I would probably keep with that dose in the morning, and get some mid-cycle data as soon as I can.
 
Re: No Shoot Number - update at pm+1

200 is my comfortable place right now. I'm a 2 week newbie here and leaving town for 2 days tomorrow. Also, since I only have the u-40 syringes I'm not comfortable eyeballing anything with it, as he's on 1 unit 2x right now. He went from 165 to 198 in just under 2 hours. His next test will be in the am. I'm out of town until Wed night and while the hubby is really adept at the testing and shooting, he's even less at a point to re-dose. For now I just want to keep him feeling better, which he is, and then working with the vet on Saturday to see if he needs adjustments. I also don't want to get too excited as these are his first tests below 200.
 
Re: No Shoot Number - update at pm+1

I use u-40 syringes... because wonderful people gave me a boat load of them, and I never waste anything....

The way I do .5 units is I use the bottom of the top of the plunger as a marker. I line it up with the 1u mark - which puts the top of the plunger at about half way point. If my explanation sucks, I can take some photos to show my technique.
 
Re: No Shoot Number - update at pm+1

Good Call Robyn---Ultimately in this dance you have to do what is comfortable to you! You are doing a great job!
 
Re: No Shoot Number

I was out of town for a couple of days and asked the hubby not to shoot him if he was below 200. Gus' BG level has stayed in the mid-100's now with no shot since the morning of the 11th. He's eating well and seems happy.
 
Re: No Shoot Number - update at pm+1

Michele and Peeps said:
I use u-40 syringes... because wonderful people gave me a boat load of them, and I never waste anything....

The way I do .5 units is I use the bottom of the top of the plunger as a marker. I line it up with the 1u mark - which puts the top of the plunger at about half way point. If my explanation sucks, I can take some photos to show my technique.

I think I get it!
 
Gus has now been in the mid-100's for almost 3 days with no shots. His conversion to an all wet diet happened at the end of June so I'm hopeful that he will be mostly diet controlled with possible micro-dosing as needed. I don't want to get my hopes up but he just seems different - acting like his old self again. He plays, purrs more, cuddles a lot more. Obviously it is way too early to tell. It it unusual for the diet to have that big of an effect on some cats?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top