No insulin until Monday! Help! (And other questions)

Status
Not open for further replies.

HelloKrystie

Member Since 2020
Long post, filled with questions and terror.

My Sirius was diagnosed a week before a scheduled 6 days of travel. I taught my bf, my brother, and my sister-in-law all how to give him his shots and monitor him. I went over everything a handful of times with them all when teaching them. I even typed up normal instructions, emergency situations with instructions, and left them and a credit card with his temporary caretakers just in case. To my absolute terror, I found out last night that my bf was microwaving his insulin. In the bottle. The whole freaking bottle. WHYYYY?!? The bf claims “it was only like 2 times”, but he obviously can’t be trusted. So, all of his following shots, after the first time the bottle was microwaved, were basically like not giving Sirius any insulin at all. My bf can’t tell me when the first time he microwaved the bottle was, so it could have been the full 6 days I was gone. I just learned this last night, so now we’re at 9 days (including today) that Sirius is basically without insulin. (I haven’t given him any more of that insulin knowing it was ruined) He was diagnosed so soon before I left that I hadn’t tested his blood yet, but after learning this, I tested him right away with the bf’s help. His BG was 176 (ReliOn Premier Classic meter). This was about an hour and a half after him eating about 1/4 of a can of FF. That was at just about 8:30pm last night. (I’m eastern time here in the northeast PA). I wasn’t able to test him again on my own last night, as I asked the bf to leave before I murdered him. I’ve tried several times today to test him on my own, but I haven’t been able to manage it. Twice no results because not enough blood for the meter(I even warmed up his ear prior to both sticks), and once where he scratched me for trying to test his paw. (This is very rare for him, he never scratches at me). I have also set up a Ketone testing center in the litter box, but he hasn’t urinated yet today. Which worries me, as it’s now after 2pm. Although, I haven’t seen him drink water either. He normally drinks a decent amount, being diabetic and not regulated yet. He’s eating normal, acting normal, and seems to be his normal self all around. (prior to his insulin he was starting to get lethargic and hiding from me, but since his start on his insulin, ProZinc, he’s been more his social and cuddly self) I’m panicking because it doesn’t seem like I’m going to be able to get his insulin until Monday. I’ve called every veterinary clinic, every emergency clinic, and every pharmacy in the extended area to get him seen, or at least get his insulin. No one can help me, so I’m left testing, and praying, until Monday. Any advise, or recommendations? (aside from breaking up with the bf)

Feeding help, I’m still a tad confused:
My vet sent me home with Purina DM, both dry and wet. He never said anything about slowly transitioning him over. So, when I got home I immediately took up his old food and replaced it with the Purina DM. Sirius has never been a fan of wet food, but he went for the wet, and left the dry food to sit. Surprising, but definitely a great start! After much research here, and about an hour spent in the pet store, I have FF Classic Pates for him. I bought a few of every flavor of the FF that the store had available, just to make sure to have some food on hand that he would eat, and is safe for him. Should I stick to one flavor? He still has some wet DM left, so I switch between the DM and the FF. Is this okay? Should I stick to one specific food? And if so, one specific flavor? I read on Dr Piersons food chart that liver is recommended, so I bought him more of the liver flavor than any other. He’s a grazer, I’ve never been able to put him on a feeding schedule. His Vet told me to keep his feeding the same, especially since he’s going on 16, and lost an extreme amount of weight. He was a 19lb kitty, but now down to under 12lbs. We wanted him to lose weight, but his Vet said the grazing would hopefully help him put weight back on. Is leaving his food down for him okay? I’ve seen on here that a lot of caretakers give multiple small meals a day, but these seem scheduled. He’s used to me waking up, and immediately giving him food. So, I’ve been waking up (around 6:45-7am) and giving him about 1/4 a can of FF to placate him until his 7:30am shot, since I know to make sure he’s eating with the insulin. (Also so he doesn’t hide on me expecting the shot, since he’s getting keen to me and that needle) I’d like to try him on a timed feeder, especially if leaving him to graze is unadvisable. Any suggestions on feeders is definitely appreciated. Do I need one that keeps the food cold since he’s eating all wet food now? Any better or highly recommended brands or types?

His feeding “schedule”(using FF 3oz cans for reference): He gets his morning taste (about 1/4 of can) at around 6:45-7am, then his actual meal with his shot at 7:30am (maybe 1/2 a can). I leave him what’s left of his breakfast (he usually doesn’t finish it all), and add the rest of that can to his dish. I come home for lunch to check on him at about 3:30pm and give him about another 1/3 of a can because he’s yelling at me that he’s starving. I come home from work around 5:30pm, give him a little more (usually, about 1/3 a can, then at 7:30pm I’m giving him “a full meal” (1/2 can) with his shot. Then he eats a few bites of food here and there throughout the rest of the night (maybe another 1/3 can) and I put a very small amount more on his dish before I go to bed. (Maybe 1/4 can, but he’s starving by morning) So I think he’s eating just about 3 cans a day, 9 ounces total. According to the food chart, that’s around 276 calories a day, depending on the flavors he’s eating. So according to the caloric intake formula (weight x 13.5 + 70) he’s getting approximately 44 more calories than would be needed to maintain his weight. These are all rough estimates, I can be more diligent about his feeding amounts if you all think I should be. Does this seem like enough, or too much food? Again, I’d like him to put a little weight back on. He’s always been a large kitty, he looked like he was from an older litter compared to his sister. Even their Vet doubted they were from the same litter it at their first kitten visit.

I think my worried rant is over. Any help would be amazing! Thank you for reading through all of this!
Krystie & Sirius
 
Hello Krystie! So sorry you lost your insulin because of microwaving. Not sure what your BF was thinking. I'm not as experienced as other members, so take what I say with a grain of salt.

First, about the lack of insulin. Yes, that sucks, but he seems his normal self. Yes, 176 is high, but it could be worse. Yes, chances are his BGL will rise without the insulin, but being on a canned FF diet will help. As long as he exhibits no symptoms of distress, and assuming he pees sometime, he should be safe enough until Monday. Do watch him. Do take to an emergency vet if needed. Do take him if he continues not peeing or shows signs of dehydration. Do get that ketone test when you can. It's going to be hard to see how he's really doing without a BGL test. There's a very useful thread here that has tips for home testing.

Chances are, he'll get through to Monday fine. If you have more questions about this, I'm sure other members will be able to help.

Personally, I think while he is underweight, you should feed whenever he's hungry. Your many small meals plan looks good to me. Sirius may not put much weight on until his BGL is better regulated. Then you may have to be more careful about portion sizes.

I don't have any advice about timed feeders, as I don't use one. Many members do. Some use the kind where you put a cold pack under them, some simply freeze later meals so they stay fresh until it's their turn to be eaten.

Above all, breathe. Sirius is doing fine so far. He's been doing all right without insulin for some days. Yes, it's a setback, but you and Sirius can move on from here.
 
Update: @ 2:48pm I was able to test him myself, finally. BG 185. This was after about 8 treats trying to stick him; then I finally got him while he was eating his FF.
Edited to add: that little sneak pee’d outside of the litter box ketone station setup I had. I tried to stick a strip into the urine, but there didn’t seem to be enough. The strip turned colors, in the negative range, but I don’t trust it with the amount of urine I got. Will continue to test his BG and try for urine/ketones.
 
Last edited:
Hello Krystie! So sorry you lost your insulin because of microwaving. Not sure what your BF was thinking. I'm not as experienced as other members, so take what I say with a grain of salt.

First, about the lack of insulin. Yes, that sucks, but he seems his normal self. Yes, 176 is high, but it could be worse. Yes, chances are his BGL will rise without the insulin, but being on a canned FF diet will help. As long as he exhibits no symptoms of distress, and assuming he pees sometime, he should be safe enough until Monday. Do watch him. Do take to an emergency vet if needed. Do take him if he continues not peeing or shows signs of dehydration. Do get that ketone test when you can. It's going to be hard to see how he's really doing without a BGL test. There's a very useful thread here that has tips for home testing.

Chances are, he'll get through to Monday fine. If you have more questions about this, I'm sure other members will be able to help.

Personally, I think while he is underweight, you should feed whenever he's hungry. Your many small meals plan looks good to me. Sirius may not put much weight on until his BGL is better regulated. Then you may have to be more careful about portion sizes.

I don't have any advice about timed feeders, as I don't use one. Many members do. Some use the kind where you put a cold pack under them, some simply freeze later meals so they stay fresh until it's their turn to be eaten.

Above all, breathe. Sirius is doing fine so far. He's been doing all right without insulin for some days. Yes, it's a setback, but you and Sirius can move on from here.
Thank you, Juls! This helps me relax and take a much needed breather for myself. I’ve been freaking out for the past 20 hours, so this helps put me a little at ease. I was able to get a BGL just a little bit ago. It’s at 185 now. This was while he was eating his FF, and immediately after trying to stick him while giving lots of treats. So, hopefully all the stress of me trying to poke him, and the treats and food combined, his BGL only rose 9 points...hopefully that’s where he stays until I can get his insulin.
Thanks so much for the reply!
 
First of all wellcome!!

And don't freak out, since your bf wasn't testing it was probably lucky of Sirius that he wasn't actually getting any insulin because if after 1 1/2 hours of eating he was 176 it could even have been dangerous for him to get an actual shoot, too bad the insulin was ruin though because you'll have to buy more.

What insulin are you using?

176 with out insulin and with him acting normal and eating is not so bad so it will be a matter of starting again, congratulations on your solo testing!! with that you will be able to help get him back on track

Regarding the eating is just fine for them to graze, is actually better for most cats unless they have other issues or when they have more cats and then one gets all leaving the rest with out anything, you just have to make sure Sirius doesn't get anything to eat 2 hours prior his pres hoot test this is to make sure the results you get from this specific test are not food influenced and it's safe to give insulin

Some of us use the time feeders mostly because like me we are out of the house for many hours ( I can't come back home for lunch) so it's the only way for me to make sure my cats get some food mid day or during night to make sure they eat something at midnight with out actually having to wake up.

The amount of food Sirius is getting sounds about right but since he's underweight you could allow him to get a bit more if he wants at least till he gets regulated (diabetic cats tend to need a bit more food because the extra glucose in the blood does not allow them to get all the nutrients they need or back to his weight
 
Great job getting a reading by yourself! Congrats! It's a struggle at the beginning, but it gets easier the more you and Sirius do it.

I'm not an expert, but his numbers could be MUCH worse considering he hasn't had any insulin for a while. It seems like you'll probably be ok until Monday, but definitely keep an eye on him and continue to test bg and ketones so you know what's going on.

I know more experienced people will chime in and let you know for sure, but I don't think grazing is a bad thing. I used a timed feeder but that's mostly because my cat will scarf down whatever is in front of him. I know some people freeze the wet food so they can leave it out for the cat to eat later. I never tried that because I was concerned he'd crack a tooth trying to eat it or choke by trying to eat it whole while still frozen. He's a maniac about food! I have a CatMate C500, which can be filled with 5 meals (one is always open so it could be eaten immediately if there was food in all 5). It has ice packs to keep the food fresh. So far it's worked well for us and Socks hasn't broken in.

Also, you should pick up his food 2 hours before shot time so that when you do the AMPS (morning bg test to make sure his levels are high enough to give insulin), it won't be influenced by food.
 
Even if he goes higher, he should be safe enough. If things change for the worse, then it's emergency vet time, but I don't think it will come to that. Yes, keep trying to get the ketone test, but he's not showing any signs of trouble, so fingers crossed. I'm guessing if he was going to have ketone trouble, it would have showed up when his insulin first got destroyed. It looks to me like he's hanging in there just fine. Even if his blood sugar goes up, a couple days of high sugar shouldn't be dangerous.

Have you considered setting up a spreadsheet? Click the link in my signature to see Billy's. It's so useful to see the trends in BGLs, and will also help members here give you more specific advice. You're already doing awesome helping Sirius. You're home testing, your on a good food for him, you're learning all the things! A spreadsheet will help. Here's a thread that explains how to set it up.

Something else I noticed. Sirius on the FF is having BGL under 200 so far. Be cautious when it's time to give him insulin again. 3 units is a very high starting dose. Usually, cats start on 1 unit, keep it there for a few days, and then adjust based on numbers. With the diet change, that 3 units may be too much. You should not give him his injection at all if he is under 200. This will help keep him from having a dangerous hypo event. Better a day with BG too high than to have a dangerous hypo. Please consider starting at one unit when the time comes. (I'm starting to think it may have been a happy accident that the insulin got zapped while you weren't there to monitor.) The diet change itself can drop BGL over 100 points, so his dose may need to be adjusted. I'm going to tag @Deb & Wink because I would like her opinion of this. She had tons of experience and can advise you better than I can.

Another set of important links is what to do in event of a hypo, and what to have in a hypo kit.
How to treat hypos
Hypo tool kit.

You are doing great. Breathe! Learn all the things! :)
 
Sorry I missed the part where you mentioned he's getting 3 units but I also think that is too much specially with the not so high numbers you are getting it could be extremely dangerous, so do not shoot if you don't test before doing it and if he's under 200 please post here before shooting and with Prozinc you want to test and if his number is shootable feed ( to make sure he has food in his system ) and then shoot
 
Krystie, sending you calming thoughts and blessings.

Mindfulness breathing. I highly recommend it for some stress relief. Clear your mind. Concentrate on your breath, block out all other thoughts. Deep breath. hold, release, deep breath, hold, release, deep breath, hold, release.

You are so stressed, you are communicating your fear to Sirius. Sing to him when you try to test. It may sound silly, but sing to him, even if you can't carry a tune. No rap songs please, don't think many cats are into rap.

Grazing is fine.
Ruined/Dropped insulin vial may be a blessing in disguise.
Perfect time to make the switch to low carb food, while your cat is not on insulin.
I dropped a pet sitting clients almost brand new 10ml Lantus insulin vial on the floor. Caught it on the edge of the door bin taking it out, shattered on the kitchen tile quite easily. Vial is now kept in a lower location, with bubble wrap around the vial to protect it a bit. (Yes, he still lets me pet sit for him the last 6+ years, frequently)

Insulin vials usually have a metal band around the top of the vial. You may want to check and make sure your microwave is ok, since any metal placed in the microwave can cause sparking and damage the parts inside.

3 Units may be way too much, especially after the change to lower carb food.
Plus you use the Alphatrak meter.
Dosing protocol for Prozinc we use here suggests starting at 0.5U or 1U.
You may want to seriously consider restarting at the 0.5U dose.
17 days since diagnosis isn't very long.

History of Ketones? DKA?

Once the insulin is in your cat, you can't take it back out. Better to start with a lower dose.

Different flavors of food are fine. Some cats like one flavor better than another one or a picky eaters. Doesn't sound like Sirius is a picky eater right now. Does sound like he needs a tad more food.

p.s. We have overloaded you with information. I think it's time to back off a bit, let you reread what we have said and then ask more questions when you need to. Information overload.
 
I see you are using the AT, those blue numbers are even closer to normal BG numbers with that meter.
Hey Wendy I was just re reading what meter she said she was using

Here is what Krystie said above
His BG was 176 (ReliOn Premier Classic meter). This was about an hour and a half after him eating about 1/4 of a can of FF. That was at just about 8:30pm last night.
Did I miss something, just want to make sure we know what meter she is using
@Deb & Wink
 
Last edited:
Krystie, sending you calming thoughts and blessings.

Mindfulness breathing. I highly recommend it for some stress relief. Clear your mind. Concentrate on your breath, block out all other thoughts. Deep breath. hold, release, deep breath, hold, release, deep breath, hold, release.

You are so stressed, you are communicating your fear to Sirius. Sing to him when you try to test. It may sound silly, but sing to him, even if you can't carry a tune. No rap songs please, don't think many cats are into rap.

Grazing is fine.
Ruined/Dropped insulin vial may be a blessing in disguise.
Perfect time to make the switch to low carb food, while your cat is not on insulin.
I dropped a pet sitting clients almost brand new 10ml Lantus insulin vial on the floor. Caught it on the edge of the door bin taking it out, shattered on the kitchen tile quite easily. Vial is now kept in a lower location, with bubble wrap around the vial to protect it a bit. (Yes, he still lets me pet sit for him the last 6+ years, frequently)

Insulin vials usually have a metal band around the top of the vial. You may want to check and make sure your microwave is ok, since any metal placed in the microwave can cause sparking and damage the parts inside.

3 Units may be way too much, especially after the change to lower carb food.
Plus you use the Alphatrak meter.
Dosing protocol for Prozinc we use here suggests starting at 0.5U or 1U.
You may want to seriously consider restarting at the 0.5U dose.
17 days since diagnosis isn't very long.

History of Ketones? DKA?

Once the insulin is in your cat, you can't take it back out. Better to start with a lower dose.

Different flavors of food are fine. Some cats like one flavor better than another one or a picky eaters. Doesn't sound like Sirius is a picky eater right now. Does sound like he needs a tad more food.

p.s. We have overloaded you with information. I think it's time to back off a bit, let you reread what we have said and then ask more questions when you need to. Information overload.
Hi Deb I think she is using the Relion Prime please see #15. Just wanted to make sure we know what meter she is using
 
Krystie, sending you calming thoughts and blessings.

Mindfulness breathing. I highly recommend it for some stress relief. Clear your mind. Concentrate on your breath, block out all other thoughts. Deep breath. hold, release, deep breath, hold, release, deep breath, hold, release.

You are so stressed, you are communicating your fear to Sirius. Sing to him when you try to test. It may sound silly, but sing to him, even if you can't carry a tune. No rap songs please, don't think many cats are into rap.

Grazing is fine.
Ruined/Dropped insulin vial may be a blessing in disguise.
Perfect time to make the switch to low carb food, while your cat is not on insulin.
I dropped a pet sitting clients almost brand new 10ml Lantus insulin vial on the floor. Caught it on the edge of the door bin taking it out, shattered on the kitchen tile quite easily. Vial is now kept in a lower location, with bubble wrap around the vial to protect it a bit. (Yes, he still lets me pet sit for him the last 6+ years, frequently)

Insulin vials usually have a metal band around the top of the vial. You may want to check and make sure your microwave is ok, since any metal placed in the microwave can cause sparking and damage the parts inside.

3 Units may be way too much, especially after the change to lower carb food.
Plus you use the Alphatrak meter.
Dosing protocol for Prozinc we use here suggests starting at 0.5U or 1U.
You may want to seriously consider restarting at the 0.5U dose.
17 days since diagnosis isn't very long.

History of Ketones? DKA?

Once the insulin is in your cat, you can't take it back out. Better to start with a lower dose.

Different flavors of food are fine. Some cats like one flavor better than another one or a picky eaters. Doesn't sound like Sirius is a picky eater right now. Does sound like he needs a tad more food.

p.s. We have overloaded you with information. I think it's time to back off a bit, let you reread what we have said and then ask more questions when you need to. Information overload.

Thank you, Deb. I thought my Vets request to increase his dose to 3units twice a day was a little crazy, but this was after I brought him in for a BGL, as I didn’t have a meter yet, and I was leaving for travel the next day. I can’t Remember his exact level at the vet, but it was still high 300s. They use the alphatrack meter there. He has been on low carb diet since he was diagnosed. No contraband food either. Last night during testing was the first time he’s had a kitty treat since being diagnosed as well.

No DKA. Still trying to get some urine from him to test his ketones properly. Fingers crossed, as he hates change and is avoiding his litter box.
 
First, breathe. Second, find some chocolate -- you deserve a treat. (I'm glad he's not my boyfriend because I would have beaten him senseless. I'd also inform him he owes you for a new Rx of Prozinc.)

You've gotten a ton of good information.

Did you happen to contact Chewy's? They now have a pharmacy and they sell Prozinc. (I linked the information.) You will likely need a prescription. They ship very quickly.
 
Sorry for the delay in responses, I was called into work unexpectedly to deal with an issue. I’m going to answer everyone now!

The meter I’m using is the Relion Premier Classic, human meter.
Thanks so much, Sirius is a handsome boy, , if you can just add the meter to your signature that would be great
 
First, breathe. Second, find some chocolate -- you deserve a treat. (I'm glad he's not my boyfriend because I would have beaten him senseless. I'd also inform him he owes you for a new Rx of Prozinc.)

You've gotten a ton of good information.

Did you happen to contact Chewy's? They now have a pharmacy and they sell Prozinc. (I linked the information.) You will likely need a prescription. They ship very quickly.
My threshold for potential violence again the dummy bf is getting scarily low. Hahhaha. Kidding. He does know he will be purchasing the new bottle of ProZinc, and he’s perfectly happy to comply with that. (Pretty sure he’s afraid of me right now, he told me I’ve been eerily calm with him about this. Lol)

I did try Chewys, and unfortunately without the Rx they could not sell it to me. Now I know I need backup Rx’s for everything. It was certainly a thought before, but I never thought in such a short amount of time I would have an emergency like this. Especially at the hands of someone else.

Foraging for chocolate now. Maybe some wine..
Thank you!
 
If there's a way to reach your vet, the vet can call in the Rx. I'd also suggest you ask the vet to take a photo of the Rx and email it to you in case of some other emergency. Unfortunately, bottles can drop on the floor, your cat can use the vial as a hockey puck, etc. Things like that usually happen on holiday weekends. It helps to have a back-up. (You would likely need to have an. undated Rx. They are good for only a year unless you are ordering out of Canada.)
 
First of all welcome!!

And don't freak out, since your bf wasn't testing it was probably lucky of Sirius that he wasn't actually getting any insulin because if after 1 1/2 hours of eating he was 176 it could even have been dangerous for him to get an actual shoot, too bad the insulin was ruin though because you'll have to buy more.

What insulin are you using?

176 with out insulin and with him acting normal and eating is not so bad so it will be a matter of starting again, congratulations on your solo testing!! with that you will be able to help get him back on track

Regarding the eating is just fine for them to graze, is actually better for most cats unless they have other issues or when they have more cats and then one gets all leaving the rest with out anything, you just have to make sure Sirius doesn't get anything to eat 2 hours prior his pres hoot test this is to make sure the results you get from this specific test are not food influenced and it's safe to give insulin

Some of us use the time feeders mostly because like me we are out of the house for many hours ( I can't come back home for lunch) so it's the only way for me to make sure my cats get some food mid day or during night to make sure they eat something at midnight with out actually having to wake up.

The amount of food Sirius is getting sounds about right but since he's underweight you could allow him to get a bit more if he wants at least till he gets regulated (diabetic cats tend to need a bit more food because the extra glucose in the blood does not allow them to get all the nutrients they need or back to his weight
First of all wellcome!!

And don't freak out, since your bf wasn't testing it was probably lucky of Sirius that he wasn't actually getting any insulin because if after 1 1/2 hours of eating he was 176 it could even have been dangerous for him to get an actual shoot, too bad the insulin was ruin though because you'll have to buy more.

What insulin are you using?

176 with out insulin and with him acting normal and eating is not so bad so it will be a matter of starting again, congratulations on your solo testing!! with that you will be able to help get him back on track

Regarding the eating is just fine for them to graze, is actually better for most cats unless they have other issues or when they have more cats and then one gets all leaving the rest with out anything, you just have to make sure Sirius doesn't get anything to eat 2 hours prior his pres hoot test this is to make sure the results you get from this specific test are not food influenced and it's safe to give insulin

Some of us use the time feeders mostly because like me we are out of the house for many hours ( I can't come back home for lunch) so it's the only way for me to make sure my cats get some food mid day or during night to make sure they eat something at midnight with out actually having to wake up.

The amount of food Sirius is getting sounds about right but since he's underweight you could allow him to get a bit more if he wants at least till he gets regulated (diabetic cats tend to need a bit more food because the extra glucose in the blood does not allow them to get all the nutrients they need or back to his weight
Hello, Veronica!
Once I can replace his insulin and get back on track I will make sure to keep food from him for the 2 hours prior to testing. I just pray by that time he lets me test him more easily by myself.
Once I found out his insulin was bad I knew that I should test him a few times a day throughout the weekend to make sure he’s not so high he may go DKA. I immediately sent bf to get ketone strips and more glucose test strips once he told me of his blunder. I’m going to try adding some water to his FF, hopefully he will provide me with some urine to test. He had the smallest pee earlier, but he’s not so keen on me interrupting him, and he hates change, so he was avoiding the box altogether.
I am determined, so he’s probably going to be annoyed with me this whole weekend. Lol
 
If there's a way to reach your vet, the vet can call in the Rx. I'd also suggest you ask the vet to take a photo of the Rx and email it to you in case of some other emergency. Unfortunately, bottles can drop on the floor, your cat can use the vial as a hockey puck, etc. Things like that usually happen on holiday weekends. It helps to have a back-up. (You would likely need to have an. undated Rx. They are good for only a year unless you are ordering out of Canada.)
I tried calling his office as soon as I found out about his insulin, unfortunately he closes his office at 5pm and doesn’t return until Monday at 10am. I did leave a (frantic) message hoping he would check them at some point over the weekend, but I haven’t heard back. And yes, now I’ll have hard copies of Rx’s for everything. I will have Chewy send the request for the Rx on Monday as well.
 
How is the microwave? Have you laid in a good supply of chocolates? Essential item for your hypo kit. And days when Sirius does not want to be tested.:(
 
Hello Deb!
I treated myself to some chocolate covered pretzels last night. I normally go for straight chocolate, but figured something with a little crunch might help my need to crush something. And, it did! Hahaha
The microwave seems to be fine, as I’ve heated up his ear warming rice sock a few times now.

I am happy to say, that little bugger allowed me to catch some fresh urine (exactly as I was about to walk out the door last night to go get my treat), and he’s negative for ketones! Also, I was able to test him again this morning, (boy was he fighting it) and his BGL was 188 with my Relion meter. I made sure that he was fasting; He hadn’t had any food at that point for at least 3 1/2 hours. So I’m pretty sure that’s an accurate reading.

As soon as I get his insulin I’m going to set up his spreadsheet. He will not receive his first shot of insulin until tomorrow night now, so I will definitely test before I shoot, and probably will post asking for dosing help. The 3 units his Vet increased him to seems like it’s too much, even with a BGL of 188 reading today. I love my Vet, but I’m pretty sure he’s not a diabetes pro.

Thank you for all of your support, and especially for checking in on me today. I can’t even express just how much that truly means to me.
 

Attachments

  • 3CCBBC32-C5C3-4A14-B20B-4E32D7F689B3.jpeg
    3CCBBC32-C5C3-4A14-B20B-4E32D7F689B3.jpeg
    54.5 KB · Views: 133
Ketones negative! Excellent picture of the test strip and the vial. Aren't screenshots wonderful?:)

You know how they say that "Sometimes you need a vacation from your vacation?" Well, I think you do. Hope you are someplace safe and warm and have some sunshine today where you are. Sun always helps lift my spirits.
Or a hot fudge sundae, with homemade maple walnut ice cream, whipped cream on top, no extra nuts.

BG of 188, no insulin, only a couple weeks into diagnosis. Not sure I'd do the 3U of Prozinc.

Have you seen
BEGINNER’S GUIDE TO PROZINC/ PZI INSULIN FOR DIABETIC CATS and
PROTOCOL FOR PROZINC / PZI ?
Some guidelines we've put together with helping many diabetic cats over the decades.

p.s. Calmer now? Boyfriend allowed back in the house?:mad:
p.p.s We threw so much information at you yesterday, that you may want to reread back through this thread. Lots of good information there.
 
188 with no insulin= awesome. Sirius is doing great. And with that low a level, I just wanted to say that I think Deb's suggestion of a .5 dose would be a great place to start. Sirius is not out of the woods yet, but it's clear his pancreas is interested in making some insulin. A light dose of the ProZinc might give it the time it needs to heal more. Glad he is getting better about testing. If he is headed toward remission, pre-shot testing and getting some mid cycle tests when you can is going to be super important. Watch those numbers and don't be afraid to skip a dose if you need to.
 
Watch those numbers and don't be afraid to skip a dose if you need to.
Or ask for help here and learn the stalling technique.

"The proper sequence for dosing prozinc insulin is: Test/Feed/Shoot. In the beginning, if your cat’s BG is not up to at least 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, if your schedule allows, you can stall (without feeding) for 20+minutes, then retest the BG. You are looking for a number that is rising, not falling and up to 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}. If you stall once, but can’t do another round of stalling and your cat hasn’t reached a BG of 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, you’ll need to skip the dose and wait until the next cycle. NOTE: Because pet-specific meters (such as the AlphaTrak2) often read higher than human meters, you may want to adjust the NO-SHOOT number to 225 mg/dL {12.5 mmol/L} or even 250 mg/dL {14 mmol/L} This gives you an added margin of safety when using an AlphaTrak2 or other pet-specific meter."

Quote is from the BEGINNER’S GUIDE TO PROZINC/ PZI INSULIN FOR DIABETIC CATS
 
Ketones negative! Excellent picture of the test strip and the vial. Aren't screenshots wonderful?:)

You know how they say that "Sometimes you need a vacation from your vacation?" Well, I think you do. Hope you are someplace safe and warm and have some sunshine today where you are. Sun always helps lift my spirits.
Or a hot fudge sundae, with homemade maple walnut ice cream, whipped cream on top, no extra nuts.

BG of 188, no insulin, only a couple weeks into diagnosis. Not sure I'd do the 3U of Prozinc.

Have you seen
BEGINNER’S GUIDE TO PROZINC/ PZI INSULIN FOR DIABETIC CATS and
PROTOCOL FOR PROZINC / PZI ?
Some guidelines we've put together with helping many diabetic cats over the decades.

p.s. Calmer now? Boyfriend allowed back in the house?:mad:
p.p.s We threw so much information at you yesterday, that you may want to reread back through this thread. Lots of good information there.
Boy do I ever! It’s all clouds and coldness here in the northeast. But, Kitty has been a major snuggle bug today, so I’m completely happy to spend the day home with him. Trying to get back into his good graces and all.

I read the ProZinc Guide when he was first diagnosed, I definitely have to go back over it now that I have a general understanding of this all. I think I read too much, too fast, and just completely overwhelmed myself.

***I thought I this reply posted last night. I must have missed the button. So sorry!
 
Sadly I tested him just now this morning, and his BGL is 232. I know I stressed him out trying to test him, he was really hungry and just fought me the entire time. But that much of a rise from yesterday’s number has me disappointed. Maybe it was the treats? I hate that he’s so high right now, and he won’t get his insulin until later tonight.
 
Krystie, try not to worry. He hasn't had insulin for a while now, and 232 isn't that bad, Yes, it's high, but it hasn't skyrocketed. Diabetes is a crappy disease, but it's a slow moving one. It takes time to do damage. A week of higher numbers is a setback, but that's all it is. Early on, Billy fought me on some of the tests, especially when he was hungry. But the thing is, once the test was over, he was over it. He went right back to his normal self. I don't think it stressed him nearly as much as it stressed me. I bet Sirius isn't as stressed by the test struggle as he seems at the time. Deep breaths until tonight. And if his BGL is still over 200 tonight, then maybe give him one unit. If it's less than 200, you might consider .5 of a unit, and if it's under 150 (probably not, but just in case) don't give him anything at all.
 
Sadly I tested him just now this morning, and his BGL is 232. I know I stressed him out trying to test him, he was really hungry and just fought me the entire time. But that much of a rise from yesterday’s number has me disappointed. Maybe it was the treats? I hate that he’s so high right now, and he won’t get his insulin until later tonight.
Don't worry too much it raised but not too much and don't stress right now as to why it just confirms the fact that he needs a bit of insulin but I agree that only a bit no more than 0.5 and I think you need to start practicing measuring 0.25 if you haven't yet because you will probably need to give just a very small amount sometimes
 
Don't worry too much it raised but not too much and don't stress right now as to why it just confirms the fact that he needs a bit of insulin but I agree that only a bit no more than 0.5 and I think you need to start practicing measuring 0.25 if you haven't yet because you will probably need to give just a very small amount sometimes
I’m going to have to get new syringes with smaller markings. My U40’s only have full unit measurements. Poop, I should have asked his Vet to write up the Rx for them.
Funny story; his Vets office called me early this morning to tell me they don’t have his insulin either. Thank goodness one Vets office in this area carries it, and are allowing me to bring his RX with me to pick up a vial. I didn’t want to wait any longer!
 
One more question: I want to post here when I test him later, before shooting. Where would be the best place (with quickest reply) to ask dosing questions? The ProZinc thread, or the Welcome and Main Forum thread?
 
Comedy of errors. Glad you did manage to find a vet's office that did have the Prozinc in stock. Don't worry Krystie, we'll help you get Sirius back on track.

There are ways to dose a U40 insulin with a U100 syringe. It's usually used by more advanced members, with at least a months worth of spreadsheet data, good handle on the home testing, switched over to a low carb food.. You're not ready yet. Trust me on that one.

Either way, obtaining insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings on the barrel will be useful.

Welcome and Main for more people to see your posts.

p.s. Wink Wink Nudge Nudge is giving you the side eye. Have any good food to share with him? I hear that chocolate covered pretzels are good.
 
Ok, I haven’t gotten a reply in the main welcome section so.....
Sirius’ BGL is at 178. His Vets recommended dose is 3 units, but I think that’s too much. Advise, please?!?
Background, he hasn’t had insulin in at least 3 days. Probably more like 7 days at this point. His original does at diagnosis was 2 units, then a recheck 4 days later, his Vet increased his dose to 3 units. (His BGL was somewhere in the high 300’s at that point. They use an AlphaTrak.)
 
Can you stall without feeding and retest? In about 20 minutes after that 178 BG reading?
Want to see if the BG is rising or falling.

If rising and > 200, I would suggest no more than 0.5u of Prozinc.
 
Unfortunately he ate already. I tested him right at 7. He was starving, I wanted to make sure he didn’t eat for the 2 hours prior to testing him, so I took his food away around 3:30. I held him off as long as I could, and fed him at 7:30. He eats small meals, very frequently. Ugh, now I’m nervous.
 
Don't be nervous. A typical "no shot" number for newbies like us is anything less than 200. At 178, stalling is certainly an option, but the skip won't hurt him. The lowest I ever injected Billy was at 177, I think, and that was .25 of a unit. (or as close as I could estimate.) Sirius obviously still needs insulin, but I'm 100% with Deb about no more than .5 of a unit, when his sugar is high enough to shoot, or you can stall until it is. You might even want to try a .25 dose, but Deb is a better judge of dosing than I am. My best guess is Sirius just needs a token amount of insulin to let his pancreas finish healing.
 
Don't be nervous. A typical "no shot" number for newbies like us is anything less than 200. At 178, stalling is certainly an option, but the skip won't hurt him. The lowest I ever injected Billy was at 177, I think, and that was .25 of a unit. (or as close as I could estimate.) Sirius obviously still needs insulin, but I'm 100% with Deb about no more than .5 of a unit, when his sugar is high enough to shoot, or you can stall until it is. You might even want to try a .25 dose, but Deb is a better judge of dosing than I am. My best guess is Sirius just needs a token amount of insulin to let his pancreas finish healing.

I’m going to skip his shot tonight, and retest in the morning when I’m more comfortable with shooting a small dose. They syringes I have only show full units, so I’m going to have to be clear eyed and confident of what I’m drawing up.
Thank you for the reply.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top