No help from the vet

Lucy&Grayson

New Member
Ok, I think this is how I do this?? So Grayson got diagnosed 2 months ago, Lantus and back to the vet every 2 weeks for a BG curve, well after 4 of those at 200 a piece and with new meds, insulin, needles.. So I changed his diet, no hard food.. all FF now and I called the vet and I asked them if I could make an appointment so they could help me learn to do his BG tests, I cant get any blood from his ear... The new owner of the office that I've been going to for 35 years, said no I had to do the BG slide at 200 dollars. I argued and said why cant I do them at home and keep a spreadsheet? Nope she won't let me do anything unless I bring Grayson back in.. im lost i cant believe I have to find a new vet after all this time..Wish Grayson and I Luck...
 
Maybe this will help
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072

fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073


6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capillaries it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets any brand
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

Try putting a thin layer of Vaseline on the ear so the blood will bead up

Here's a video one of our members did so ignore where she had to code her meter because she is using a pet meter. With a human meter you don't have to
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
She is using a pet meter , almost most of us use human meters because that's what our numbers are based on plus you have to code when using a pet meter, with a human meter no coding is necessary


Most of us use the Relion Premier Classic from Walmart
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
ReliOn Premier Classic Blood Glucose Monitoring System HSA/FSA Eligible - Walmart.com

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
ReliOn Premier Blood Glucose Test Strips, 100 Count HSA/FSA Eligible - Walmart.com
At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart on line.

Here is the link to set up our spreadsheet, where you can track your cats BG numbers, it also explains how to use it. You can look at anyone's spreadsheet to see what it looks like
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Can you create your signature also
Can you please fill out your signature
Here is the information we need for your signature
Just click on your name up top and then tap signature and add this information. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
Last edited:
Going to a vet every 2 weeks for a curve really doesn't tell you what your cats BG is every day.
You need to be testing every day and night.
We base how much insulin we give by how low our cats BG drops which is called the nadir.
You should read all the yellow sticks about Lantus , especially the 2 dosing methods , they will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed. You can always post and ask for help

Also you need to with hold feeding 2 hours prior to testing the AMPS ( first test in the AM) and the PMPS ( first test in the PM ) so the BG number is not influenced by food when you feed during the day and at night you don't need to with hold the food
 
Last edited:
Ok, I think this is how I do this?? So Grayson got diagnosed 2 months ago, Lantus and back to the vet every 2 weeks for a BG curve, well after 4 of those at 200 a piece and with new meds, insulin, needles.. So I changed his diet, no hard food.. all FF now and I called the vet and I asked them if I could make an appointment so they could help me learn to do his BG tests, I cant get any blood from his ear... The new owner of the office that I've been going to for 35 years, said no I had to do the BG slide at 200 dollars. I argued and said why cant I do them at home and keep a spreadsheet? Nope she won't let me do anything unless I bring Grayson back in.. im lost i cant believe I have to find a new vet after all this time..Wish Grayson and I Luck...
Oh bologna! We all do it here ourselves. How unhelpful that vet is being. I see Diane posted some tips, let us know if you are successful. You are doing the right thing for your cat and he will be much better off for it. Thank you for caring so much and trying to learn. I would just say to not use the loud clicky lancing device because a lot of cats don’t like that sound near their ears. And try to insert the lancet in at a 45 degree angle and not straight in at 90 degrees.
 
I’m so sorry you aren’t getting help from your vets! Most everyone here home tests at least twice daily, before insulin shots, so that we can ensure that our kitties are safe to receive a dose of insulin. If you need any help, let us know. You can do this. Hometesting Links and Tips
 
Thats why I want to test at home. Thus new vet bought the practice a year ago, my old vet still works there part time but its hard to get an appointment with him... im going to call tomorrow and just make an appointment and have a face to face talk with her about this...
My vet wasn’t much help with hometesting; I learned everything on this forum. Take a look at the stickies and info we posted, and you will learn a lot.
 
Maybe this will help
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072

fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073


6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capillaries it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets any brand
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

Try putting a thin layer of Vaseline on the ear so the blood will bead up

Here's a video one of our members did so ignore where she had to code her meter because she is using a pet meter. With a human meter you don't have to
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
She is using a pet meter , almost most of us use human meters because that's what our numbers are based on plus you have to code when using a pet meter, with a human meter no coding is necessary


Most of us use the Relion Premier Classic from Walmart
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
ReliOn Premier Classic Blood Glucose Monitoring System HSA/FSA Eligible - Walmart.com

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
ReliOn Premier Blood Glucose Test Strips, 100 Count HSA/FSA Eligible - Walmart.com
At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart on line.

Here is the link to set up our spreadsheet, where you can track your cats BG numbers, it also explains how to use it. You can look at anyone's spreadsheet to see what it looks like
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Can you create your signature also
Can you please fill out your signature
Here is the information we need for your signature
Just click on your name up top and then tap signature and add this information. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
I feel stupid but I dont see where it says signature? Im sorry im so mad and upset this whole day.. Thank you all of you for all the help.. its so appreciated.
My vet wasn’t much help with hometesting; I learned everything on this forum. Take a look at the stickies and info we posted, and you will learn a lot.
Thank you..i will get this!!
 
I feel stupid but I dont see where it says signature? Im sorry im so mad and upset this whole day.. Thank you all of you for all the help.. its so appreciated.

Thank you..i will get this!!
Just click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add the information. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
Nothing to feel stupid about at all 😊
 
Also, 3 units is a lot. Do me a favor: go to your original post—select “edit”—select the “prefix’ on the left of the page—select “?dose”—and write “question about starting dose” in your title.Let’s get some experienced eyes on this.
 
I think I did my signature, can someone let me know. I will add spreadsheet tomorrow..
You need to choose which dosing method to choose for Lantus and add it to your signature
Here , you can read all about Lantus read all the yellow sticks and read about the dosing method, they will let you know when an increase or decrease is needed
I would start with the SLGS method , unless someone else says different
@Lucy&Grayson

Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars
Read all the yellow stickys

Also here is a glossary
Here's a couple posts with acronyms/abbreviations:
FDMB Glossary and The Official Lantus, Levemir & Biosimilars Slang Dictionary
 
Last edited:
I would start with the SLGS method , unless someone else says different
No worries about choosing a dosing method right away, let's get you home testing first. One step at a time here. And welcome! In the link Marielle gave you on post #5, there are a ton of videos. Make sure to watch a couple of them. An alternate site some people poke is the paw pad. When you do get to the point of thinking about dosing method, the one you chose is based on your goals for your kitty and your lifestyle. SLGS is not always the one to start with. But again, not important to decide at this point.

We also aren't going to be able to you help on insulin dose until we see the spreadsheet data first, so no rush on asking. Just make sure you have these posts printed out and ready:
There is a lot to learn at first, but feel free to keep asking questions. We've all been in your shoes and love to help.
 
I’m sure someone else has already said this since last night, but it’s very important to know how low the dose of insulin is taking your cat (the nadir) so we need to test more than just the preshot tests before each shot. At minimum you should also get one mid cycle test (eventually after you learn to test.). If we don’t know the nadir then we can’t safely adjust the dose.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy: sorry for the tag, but thoughts on this starting dose?
Also, 3 units is a lot. Do me a favor: go to your original post—select “edit”—select the “prefix’ on the left of the page—select “?dose”—and write “question about starting dose” in your title.Let’s get some experienced eyes on this.
We need spreadsheet data before we can make recommendations. She said she began with 2 units two months ago. Now 3?
 
If Grayson has already been on 2 units and you have not already done the increase to 3 units (which is a huge jump all at once!) then I would not increase my cat’s dose until I knew how to test and was gathering a few days of blood glucose (BG) data to put on my spreadsheet. Did they at least give you the curve numbers for which you paid $200? That might tell you something— but the thing about curves is that it only tells you the BG for a single day. The cat could have been in what we call a bounce that day (where the numbers are high.) So the best approach is to gather data daily, as you gradually are able to get more proficient at testing.
 
Suzanne made a great point. I would ask the vet's office to send you the curve data. You paid for it. It's yours. And, if they give you push back, I'd point out that MDs are required to provide you with all of your medical data -- evaluations, consultation reports, progress notes, and lab reports. It would be very hard for a vet to make a case for not providing you with the information for YOUR cat and at this point, would likely cause legal problems for the vet.
 
Back
Top