? No curve, weird numbers

tackeee

Member Since 2019
Post Little One’s near FME, he has been doing much better. He’s now down to 5 Lantus (my vet recommended lowering his dose 140 or under because I’m not around as much). His numbers are almost all yellow and blue, but they aren’t a curve; they get higher during the day. He’s always had a huge effect by food, but I’m wondering if I actually need to lower. He may never be a green/blue kitty and it makes me worried to raise again because often his lowest points are pre shots.

Thanks for any insight!
 
I would stick to this dose, nadirs are where you want them to be for SLGS. Getting before bed tests every night might be helpful in telling you if he is going lower at night, then bouncing during the day. Or maybe he just has late nadirs. If you get a +9 or 10 today, then you will know if the preshot number is on the way up or down.

How is Little One feeling with these nicer numbers? He must be feeling a lot better now.
 
I would stick to this dose, nadirs are where you want them to be for SLGS. Getting before bed tests every night might be helpful in telling you if he is going lower at night, then bouncing during the day. Or maybe he just has late nadirs. If you get a +9 or 10 today, then you will know if the preshot number is on the way up or down.

How is Little One feeling with these nicer numbers? He must be feeling a lot better now.


He got his first green tonight!! I dropped him to 4.5. He’s feeling so much better, gaining weight, and those good blues and yellows are making me happy too. He’s perfectly fine eating and his cold is almost better too!
 
With SLGS, you aren’t supposed to shoot with a preshot below 90. Please get a +2 tonight. You may need to feed him higher. Carb food later. Do you have high carb wet food?
 
Looks like you should be OK, he may bounce from that unfamiliar green. Might want to leave a little food out for snacking.

Yes on the reduction below 90.
 
Ok, phew. I just took his BG again and he was back down to 97, so I left out some fancy feast w gravy that I had leftover from before his diagnosis. It’s a whole new game for me on the low numbers end of things. So I’m the am if he’s below 90 with his pre shot I feed and wait or I lower to 4 or less? Should I give a half dose when below 90?
 
That dental has made a world of difference!

Below 90 you have two options. First choice is to skip the dose. When kitties are reducing their dose quickly, as may be happening, that’s a good choice to reduce the depot. You would shoot 4.0 units at the next shot time. Second choice, is to wait, without feeding, then test again in 20-30 minutes, to see if he comes up to a safe number to shoot. And you would shoot 4.0 units. But I would only shoot then if you are around to monitor.
 
Thanks. Because of food and likely a bounce he was back to high 200s this am so he got 4units. Sundays are busy work days, but I will be around for a bit more this morning to test again!
 
Back
Top