No BG test, so no insulin given.

Shame to have that happen on a day where you are at home and could have gotten some tests (when will you be able to buy some more test strips?)
 
Awesome, now perhaps you’re less stressed and so is George and we can start the journey to stabilize him, glad to know you’re happy at your new place, and the stairs? Think of it as an extra exercise 🤣😉
😂I am trying to think of t as exercise but its hard to think that way when your half way up and huffing and puffing. George has been having some good numbers! The last three mornings hes been between 6.9 and 6.1 (124 and 110) so I've only been giving him 1 unit instead of 2.5. I'm really liking his numbers 3 days
 
😂I am trying to think of t as exercise but its hard to think that way when your half way up and huffing and puffing. George has been having some good numbers! The last three mornings hes been between 6.9 and 6.1 (124 and 110) so I've only been giving him 1 unit instead of 2.5. I'm really liking his numbers 3 days
Those are GREAT BG’s to wake up to,I recommend that you discuss with Suzanne about about reduction/ increases with her, it is no good to change dose according to BG, George needs stable numbers and switching on and off the dose does not help, of course it took me years to shoot on 2 digit BG , but the results are awesome, all you need to do is monitor every two hours until you see he does not plunge lower than 60 you should have handy what is called a HYPO KIT, this includes some high carbs between 1-16-24% or gravy wet can food some medium carb food between 11-15% carbs some honey or KARO syrup, with this you can slowly bring his BG up if needed, is better than skipping or reducing the dose because of the BG range, it takes time and courage, but you can do it, for inspiration again see Corky’s SS and see his numbers and dosing
 
Those are GREAT BG’s to wake up to,I recommend that you discuss with Suzanne about about reduction/ increases with her, it is no good to change dose according to BG, George needs stable numbers and switching on and off the dose does not help, of course it took me years to shoot on 2 digit BG , but the results are awesome, all you need to do is monitor every two hours until you see he does not plunge lower than 60 you should have handy what is called a HYPO KIT, this includes some high carbs between 1-16-24% or gravy wet can food some medium carb food between 11-15% carbs some honey or KARO syrup, with this you can slowly bring his BG up if needed, is better than skipping or reducing the dose because of the BG range, it takes time and courage, but you can do it, for inspiration again see Corky’s SS and see his numbers and dosing
I just tested him and he's at 3.1 (56) he's been give his nor al wet food. I will test again in 30 mins to see if he's going up. If he lowers anymore I will break out my HC wet food.
 
So you’re in the rhythm, I tagged Suzanne so she can review your concern and my input, NISHA I trus her blindly, my Corky almost died, and she saved him, I have followed her guidance for 3+ years, and still, having knowledge, I always reach out to her( the forum) because I don’t want to second guess myself, it takes time to learn to shoot on low numbers don’t rush it but on 3 digit low BGs as long as you can be with George to test at least for +2+4 is good, you can always stall the dose for 1/2 hours also, like feed, wait 1/2 hour, shoot, BG always raises after a meal
 
So you’re in the rhythm, I tagged Suzanne so she can review your concern and my input, NISHA I trus her blindly, my Corky almost died, and she saved him, I have followed her guidance for 3+ years, and still, having knowledge, I always reach out to her( the forum) because I don’t want to second guess myself, it takes time to learn to shoot on low numbers don’t rush it but on 3 digit low BGs as long as you can be with George to test at least for +2+4 is good, you can always stall the dose for 1/2 hours also, like feed, wait 1/2 hour, shoot, BG always raises after a meal
I trust Suzanne more than my vet. I can monitor him for another 30 ish mins but then i have to leave for work. I'm testing him again in about 10 mins
 
If he’s still in there digits, he will be ok, you can give him like 1/4 tsp of medium carb only if his BG is in the low low100. if you feel you should
 
He is at 3.8 (68) I am confident he is rising and I've given him some medium carb wet food to boost him. I have to leave for work in 10 mins.
Try .75 next time he has a preshot of say, less than 125. I am not really happy with him going to 68 at +2 when you’re not going to be home for hours. Let’s hope he is like Corky and will stabilize and surf in green on his own. Have you ever looked at Corky’s spreadsheet? It a lovely sea of green most of the time.

Will George have snacks at +4 and +6?
 
Also, the 56 and 68 need to be in the same cell. How many minutes apart were those two tests taken? If it was 56 @ +2 and 68 @ +2.5 then just put them in the cell like that with one on top of the other and color code the background forest green.

56 @+2
68 @+2.5

Or if only 15 minutes apart:
56 @+2
68 @+2.25
 
And your remarks don’t have anything written in them about what he is eating and when he’s eating it. I am sure you were in a rush to get out of the door so you can fix this stuff later. More in next post…
 
Finally, there’s too much of a discrepancy between his a.m. dose and his p.m. dose. We need to find a dose for the evening that will help make things more similar for the a.m. cycle. Also, he is rising too high by PMPS time. I have to wonder why. What is he eating in the day and at what time? Is he eating after +6?

Studying his spreadsheet, I believe he has been dropping too low at night on the 2.25 dose. That is the reason his AMPS have been so low in the morning. What does he get to eat during the night and when?

I know it’s difficult for you, but you need to start getting some evening cycle tests. Either getting a +10 by waking up early or by staying up to get a +2 or by setting an alarm to get a +6.
 
See…. Aren’t you glad I checked in on you…. NOT!

Start by reducing his p.m. dose to 2 units starting tonight (regardless of how high the pmps may be — now if the pmps is much lower than it has been running the last few days — say lower than 200, we need to talk about the dose for tonight. And please try to get a test.
 
Try .75 next time he has a preshot of say, less than 125. I am not really happy with him going to 68 at +2 when you’re not going to be home for hours. Let’s hope he is like Corky and will stabilize and surf in green on his own. Have you ever looked at Corky’s spreadsheet? It a lovely sea of green most of the time.

Will George have snacks at +4 and +6?
I always refere her to Corky’s SS For reference and the remarks as well
 
Finally, there’s too much of a discrepancy between his a.m. dose and his p.m. dose. We need to find a dose for the evening that will help make things more similar for the a.m. cycle. Also, he is rising too high by PMPS time. I have to wonder why. What is he eating in the day and at what time? Is he eating after +6?

Studying his spreadsheet, I believe he has been dropping too low at night on the 2.25 dose. That is the reason his AMPS have been so low in the morning. What does he get to eat during the night and when?

I know it’s difficult for you, but you need to start getting some evening cycle tests. Either getting a +10 by waking up early or by staying up to get a +2 or by setting an alarm to get a +6.
He does not get any food over night. he does not eat after +4, except what I give him to get a test, which is about a teaspoon. I will try to get a +2 tonight and a +10 in the morning. I work tomorrow evening. Not till 430pm eastern. I have not entered any remarks on the SS because I wasn't sure what to put.
 
Sorry to hit you with all this when you are probably tired from work and having to shop and then get home on the bus (and then climb the stairs!)
 
What happened on August 19 and the previous night? No shots for either night or day? I am just trying to get a complete picture of everything.
Yes we are on track for 2 units unless 125 or lower. I will split his meals into 8 portions instead of 4 and have the auto feeder set up for +2 and +4 overnight starting tomorrow. Aug 18th PMPS I forgot to put the dose in the cell because it wasn't his usual dose and i had left for work before i put it in and couldn't remember what I gave him. Good thing I keep a written log. its been updated. As for AMPS on the 19th he wouldn't stay still, even with his wet food long enough for me to get enough blood and even when I did manage to prick him he would either shake his head (all the blood would be gone after that) or I couldn't get enough blood from the prick. after 5 mins of trying and multiple pricks, i gave up and did not give insulin as I didn't know what a safe dose would be.
 
I understand. You should have put a note in the remarks about George not cooperating. But you were probably rushing out the door.
 
You have been doing great with the reduced doses in the morning. If you had shot the full dose it looks like he would have gone too low. He’s also gone under the reduction point twice that we know of in the last few days so he had already earned a reduction down to 2 units anyway. That is good. We will see if he has more reductions planned once we hopefully get a little more balance between the a.m. and p.m. doses.
 
Hey Nisha. How’s it going today? It’s afternoon here amd I just wanted to see how George was doing (last night and this morning) but there’s nothing on his spreadsheet since PMPS yesterday.
 
Hey Nisha. How’s it going today? It’s afternoon here amd I just wanted to see how George was doing (last night and this morning) but there’s nothing on his spreadsheet since PMPS yesterday.
I've just updated now. hes at 4.2 (76) At AMPS he was 7.7 (142) so I only gave him 1 unit. I have to leave around 2:30 Eastern ( about 30 mins from now.) I can put a little food in the auto feeder.
 
Back
Top