Nine Cycles on .25. Should I lower dose yet to .10?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Hi all,
This is Brigitte's husband, Brandon. I'll be hanging with our little dude today while she's at work. He seems to be feeling good and content this morning. Wasn't too pushy about food, unlike his brother, ;-) but once it was feeding time he was quite ready to dig in. He just waltzed up the stairs too, which lately he seems to be taking them one step at a time.

I'm a bit nervous giving him .25u (which I gave, see SS) this AM because his AMPS was at 124 which is down from his PMPS +10 of 157. With that said, he seems to be managing these lower numbers much better the past couple days and I know we need to try and stay on track in order to have the potential for getting him OTJ. I'll be keeping a close eye on him as we progress throughout the day and plan to test again at AMPS+2 to gauge how things are going.

I'd like to thank you all for everything during the past few weeks; you've been extremely attentive and helpful and we both appreciate it more than you know!
 
Re: 9/14: Corduroy, AMPS 124

Good job on shooting that 124. You have plenty of test strips and some HC or karo I assume?
How long has Corduroy been a diabetic? I'm asking because if it has been less than a year, you could reduce the dose because of that 46 yesterday. I'll go read your post from yesterday and see if anything was mentioned then. brb.
 
Re: 9/14: Corduroy, AMPS 124

For tonight, I would reduce his dose to 0.10 as mentioned in yesterday's condo.

I just want to make sure you realise how to adjust the shot time back if you opt to do the late shot tomorrow at 11:30am.

You can do:
Sunday
11:30am (+15?)
11:15pm
Monday
11:00am
10:45pm
Tuesday
10:30am
10:15pm
Wednesday
10:00am
9:45pm
Thursday
9:30am
9:15pm
Friday
9:00am
8:45pm
Saturday
8:30am (your normal shot time)

Or you can do:
Sunday
11:30am
11:00pm
Monday
11:00am
10:30pm
Tuesday
10:30am
10:00pm
Wednesday
10:00am
9:30pm
Thursday
9:30am
9:00pm
Friday
9:00am
8:30pm

I'm just listing this because you had concerns about staying up late at night and if you have a later shot time, then you will be testing later into the night.

I liked the other idea of shooting at 9:30am tomorrow (depending upon his BGs) and leaving lots of food out for him, because then you would only be 1 hour off and can be back on your normal schedule by Tuesday. Much better than taking one week to get back on schedule. I'm just saying this because I don't know how flexible your shot schedule is.

Good luck with the new dose :cool:
 
Re: 9/14: Corduroy, AMPS 124

Thanks for the insight Dyana. Brigitte and I will go over all of this when she gets home. To answer your earlier questions, we do have HC food, Karo, and plenty of test strips, just in case they're needed. Corduroy is in the midst of his second bout with diabetes which began this past March. He had it a year previous and went OTJ... this was before we knew about this forum, how to analyze the data, and all of the other idiosyncrasies that this disease entails.

I'm curious about the .10u dose you mentioned. Should I have given him that this morning instead of .25?

We're almost at the +2 mark and Cords is laying near me, seems to be feeling good, is alert and doing a good job of preening. Hopefully this type of behavior will persist over the next several hours! :)
 
Re: 9/14: Corduroy, AMPS 124, +2 64... BIG DROP

I might give him some LC food to see if he'll stay about the same BG. Can you check him again at +2.5?
Liz
 
Re: 9/14: Corduroy, AMPS 124, +2 64 > fed, +2.5 55... BIG DR

I did just that Liz and he came back with a 55 @ +2.5. He's getting sleepy, which would be normal for him during this time of day and after a meal.
 
Re: 9/14: Corduroy, AMPS 124, +2 64 > fed, +2.5 55... BIG DR

OK, good. You might want to switch to MC (medium carb) or HC (high carb) to keep him from going lower. You are already going to reduce the dose tonight so he doesn't have to prove anything. You can mix LC and HC to get MC. Fancy math, huh. :lol: :lol: You will probably be doing a lot of testing this morning, every 30 mins or hour, depending on how he responds to the food. Have you been able to determine if he is carb sensitive? Love that green! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Liz
ETA: Only feed him a teaspoon of food after a test, you don't want to fill him up.
 
Re: 9/14: Corduroy, AMPS 124, +2 64 > fed, +2.5 55... BIG DR

Since he's back from remission, then normally we try to be more agressive and an under 40 earns a dosecrease.
Let's wait to get others opinions on the 0.10 dose. Maybe, he'll earn that dose reduction today, after all, anyways.

55 is real close to that 64, but it is early in the cycle. I would do like Liz says and give him some LC to try to get him to surf nicely in these numbers or maybe a little higher.
 
Re: 9/14: Corduroy, AMPS 124, +2 64 > fed, +2.5 55... BIG DR

Liz and I cross posted :razz: .
You could try a flat teaspoon or two of MC too, and see how much that raises him up.
Test again in 30 minutes, please.
 
Re: 9/14: Corduroy, AMPS 124, +2 64 fed, +2.5 55, +3 64

Okay, just tested again and he's back up to 64 @ +3, so it looks like that LC meal has got him floating up a bit :thumbup

Thanks to you both for the guidance!

Brandon
 
Re: 9/14: Corduroy, AMPS 124, +2 64 fed, +2.5 55, +3 64

@ +3.25 he asked me to take him outside so I took him out on his leash for a 20-30 min wander/lay-around-n-observe in the yard. This is a great sign!!! :mrgreen:

9740849663_9e5476b742_n.jpg
 
Re: 9/14: Corduroy, AMPS 124, +2 64 fed, +2.5 55, +3 64

He is such a cutie. I just want to rub the sides of his cheeks and kiss him on the top of his head.
He's very tough looking and "manly" though.
 
Re: 9/14 Corduroy, AMPS 124, +2 64, +2.5 55, +3 64, +3.25 wa

That is great that he wanted to go out for a walk! Such a handsome guy. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 9/14 Corduroy, AMPS 124, +2 64, +2.5 55, +3 64, +3.25 wa

Hi guys,

This is Brigitte again. Thanks for helping my husband out today with Corduroy. We both really appreciate it very much! I have a question in regards to the possible dosecrease tonight. At PMPS time tonight, Corduroy will have been on the .25 dose for nine cycles. I'm wondering if anyone can chime in with their thoughts on going down to .10? I would really appreciate it!

Thanks,

Brigitte
 
Re: 9/14 Corduroy, AMPS 124, +2 64, +2.5 55, +3 64, +3.25 wa

Hi Brigitte :-D
How great that you have such a good helper! Anyways--did he or you do any other tests today? When is his shot time?
 
Re: 9/14 Corduroy, AMPS=124, +2=64, +2.5=55, +3=64, +10=184

Hi Kat and Gobbles,

I just did a +10 and he was 184, so he's definitely gone up. Since I read the sticky on how to handle low numbers, I try to check at either +10 or 11 now. His PMPS is at 9:45 tonight, so I'll test him again at this point. Do you have any thoughts on taking his dose down to .10?

Yes, I'm very lucky to have a helper such as Brandon. He's been great through all of this :!:

Thanks,

Brigitte
 
Re: 9/14 Corduroy, AMPS=124, +2=64, +2.5=55, +3=64, +10=184

Hi Brigitte - just a reminder that for a dose question, please put it clearly in the subject line of your first post of the day, so people who can advise you will see that you have a question. Thanks.
 
Re: 9/14 Corduroy, AMPS=124, +2=64, +2.5=55, +3=64, +10=184

blove7 said:
Hi Kat and Gobbles,

I just did a +10 and he was 184, so he's definitely gone up. Since I read the sticky on how to handle low numbers, I try to check at either +10 or 11 now. His PMPS is at 9:45 tonight, so I'll test him again at this point. Do you have any thoughts on taking his dose down to .10?

Yes, I'm very lucky to have a helper such as Brandon. He's been great through all of this :!:

Thanks,

Brigitte
Looks like we are in the same timezone--EST. I asked about other tests because I was wondering if maybe Corduroy (love his name, by the way, brings the childrens' book about the corduroy teddy to mind) went lower than 55 today. As for lowering him to .10--I am real sorry but I don't know. Gobbles basically ran down the dosing ladder his last few weeks before going OTJ, but he wasn't in remission and then had to go back on insulin. I guess, as they say, "you hold the syringe". It's really a hard call Brigitte. With Gobbles, I had to really fight to keep him in safe numbers--I was feeding MC because he would drop so much, and I was even home 24/7 to monitor him. It was real frightening for me.

I note that Curdoroy goes for walks--awesome! When I started walking Gobbles, his BG started to go down. Perhaps the exercise is helping Corduroy (or has he always gone for walks)? I know exercise is good for diabetics who are human, and I'm sure it is the same for a cat.

With whatever decision you make, it bears repeating (and you probably already know this): Can you monitor through the night, if necessary? Is you hypo kit ready? Do you have some different flavors of HC (more than 2 flavors)? I ask about the different flavors (and/or brands) of HC because once when Gobbles went way low, he would absolutely not eat any of the HC I had on hand...I ended up going to the store the next day and buying about 10 different ones...LOL
 
Hi all,

I would like to get your opinions on whether or not it's time to lower Corduroy's dose to .10. He's been in the greens a lot today, but his +10 was 184. What are your thoughts?

Thank you,

Brigitte
 
Re: 9/14 Corduroy, AMPS=124, +2=64, +2.5=55, +3=64, +10=184

I was mistaken about a decrease in dose. Corduroy is not newly diagnosed (in the last year) so he would have to go below 40 to earn a reduction on the tight regulation protocol. I think you should leave him at 0.25u.
Liz
 
Re: 9/14 Corduroy, AMPS=124, +2=64, +2.5=55, +3=64, +10=184

Me again, sorry! It sounds like you've got your question answered so it's all good, but when you changed the subject line you did it in a new post rather than the first one of the day. Unless you go to that first post and click edit, then change the subject line, no one looking at the Lantus TR board will see that you have a question unless they happen to read through your whole thread. I'm just really emphasizing this because it seems like nobody really knew about your low numbers the other day - they just saw the original, unchanged subject line and thought everything was okay. I just want to make sure you know how to get help when you need it ;-) even though it looks like you're covered for the time being.

EDITED: Okay, now it's showing up, great work!
 
Dyana was correct. Because Corduroy is more than a year past diagnosis, you reduce the dose if numbers drop below 40 or if your kitty is in the 40 - 50 range on 3 separate days.

I would suggest holding the dose. Here's my reasoning. While you've been at this dose since 9/10, any time you skip a shot or there's a fur shot, you start the cycle count over. The TR protocol stipulates consecutive doses. So, if we count the possible fur shot, you've been at this dose for 6 cycles. In addition, you are seeing some good numbers at this dose.Now that you're seeing blues and greens, you would want to evaluate the dose after 10 consecutive cycles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top