Nico’s New Thread: 2.25: AMPS 309, +6 164, +11 91, PMPS 99/127, +3 305

Emily Tuomey

Member Since 2020
New thread. Happy Valentine’s Day, y’all!
upload_2021-2-14_7-57-18.jpeg


Old thread(s) linked here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-amps-360-5-252-pmps-329.242591/#post-2740543
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-2-14_7-57-18.jpeg
    upload_2021-2-14_7-57-18.jpeg
    48.1 KB · Views: 450
Trying to reassure myself that I did the right thing by only giving him 1.0u this morning, but it’s the hardest when you know you shot low and now he’s super high.
You did do the right thing Emily.

Yes, I do think that Nico should have another dose reduction. So new dose would be 1.25U.

Wait out the bounce. Have you practiced your "thumb twiddling" skills lately? ;)

p.s. How much snow did you get there in the Pacific Northwest?
 
@Shelley & Jess @Deb & Wink he’s now above 400.. 411, +7. Definitely not feeling the best, lots of water, lots of rest. I’m sad for him. I’m also now worried that he’s going incredibly low overnight and I’m sleeping through it. I think I might just have to get up and get a +6, 7, or 8 every night, just in case. I think you both have mentioned him kinda being all over the place at the moment, and he can flip at any moment— high or low. What are your thoughts on overnight testing for him??
 
I think I might just have to get up and get a +6, 7, or 8 every night, just in case. I think you both have mentioned him kinda being all over the place at the moment, and he can flip at any moment— high or low. What are your thoughts on overnight testing for him??
Vary the times. Try a +6 one night. If that seems lower than normal, than set your alarm for another test.

You might want to see if you can get a +11 in the PM cycle. So 1 hour earlier than your normal AM pre-shot test time. So you might have to play it by ear, and see what the BG numbers are telling you during your PM cycle testing.

p.s. I keep my holiday decorations up all year round these days. Been doing that for years. I figure why do we only have 1 day a year to celebrate certain events? Celebrate every day!

Thundersnow is cool! Hope you don't have to clear all that snow by yourself. Can you even open your front door, to get outside?
 
Thundersnow is cool! Hope you don't have to clear all that snow by yourself. Can you even open your front door, to get outside?
Haha I ventured out to take out the garbage and recycling this afternoon finally. I got out the door okay, but couldn’t get the bins open to put the garbage/recycle in. LOL!!! So.much.snow. I love being inside and watching it though. So far no thunder, but supposedly overnight, late. Love storms. PS. You rock for leaving your stuff up year-round. My grandmother used to do the same thing. I’m a Christmas baby (12.24) so it always felt like my holiday, and my tree is especially pretty this year so I’m leaving it. Makes me happy, and with all that’s happening in the world we could all use a little extra cheer.


Vary the times. Try a +6 one night. If that seems lower than normal, than set your alarm for another test.

You might want to see if you can get a +11 in the PM cycle. So 1 hour earlier than your normal AM pre-shot test time. So you might have to play it by ear, and see what the BG numbers are telling you during your PM cycle.
I’m planning on varying the times, so I get a more complete look at what’s going on. Tonight I’m trying for a +3 and a +7 and go from there. I need to curb this paranoia though, that something is going to happen overnight and I’m gonna somehow miss it. That it’s possible he may become sick and need me and I won’t know it. I may be in for a week of sleepless nights now, at least tomorrow is a holiday so I can rest a bit more later in the day. I can do a +11 too. We start our morning routine at +10, so it’s not like I’m losing any sleep by doing that. I’ll be back with some numbers. Goodnight, Deb.
 
Ok. Nico dropped low, but not too low. Not <50.
Let's see how he does on this 1.25U reduced dose today.

p.s. No thunder snow here. Just a little bit of freezing rain. More for tonight into tomorrow.
Filling my bird feeders tonight for sure. Even though there won't be TONS of snow on top of them like you had with your trash can, the ice may freeze them shut.
 
@Deb & Wink @Shelley & Jess Nico is absolutely breaking my heart tonight. I think his body is tired from all the bouncing. I know it’s part of the disease, but I wish I could take it for him. Tell me that this doesn’t absolutely break your heart..
upload_2021-2-15_19-56-36.jpeg

I’m gonna snuggle him for a bit. 1.25u is a hard dose so far :(

AMPS 227
+3 327
+8 253
PMPS 356

(Will get a +5 and +9 overnight too)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-2-15_19-56-36.jpeg
    upload_2021-2-15_19-56-36.jpeg
    57.6 KB · Views: 458
That Nico picture is a heart breaker. :(
It really is.

If Nico hasn't dropped back down to the blues/greens for nadir by tonight's cycle, 2/16/21, I think I'd increase his dose again back to 1.5U for the morning 2/17/21.
We had a better day today, but still not great. I plan on testing a +3 & +6, but fully anticipate the dose increase to 1.5u after his morning pre-shot. Sucks to feel like we “failed” though..

AMPS 306
+5 382
PMPS 263
 
Dose reductions don't always work with cats. So, you see that the lower dose isn't working, and take the dose back up again, to the last good dose that got your cat into lower numbers. There is even a term we use here for that - a failed reduction.

We didn't fail. But we did observe that Nico wasn't feeling well and we saw that his BG numbers were running too high. So we adjusted what we are doing.

No worries. We'll get him feeling better again.
 
@Deb & Wink ask and you shall receive... We’re on a BULLET TRAIN to Hypotown... +3.5, 59 (down from 263 at PMPS). YIKES. I gave him some LC food at +3.5, MC given at +4.. stable & rising at +4.5 & +5. Will retest in an hour. LC food left out for him, just in case. @Shelley & Jess if you’re up too??? :nailbiting:

+3.5, 59
+4, 41
+4.5, 63
+5, 70
+6, 71
+7, 126
+9, 110
 
Last edited:
(Sorry so late to reply after my 'read likes' earlier, work held me hostage today:()

No idea.... :confused:
01/31, 02/06, 02/10, 02/16 The AM cycles before the PM limes he dropped at the end of each AM cycle. Look at the AM cycles for those days from start to finish, from one PS to the next PS. Follow the trend of the AM cycle and how it led to an active PM cycle. He didn't dip down at nadir and come back up, he dropped to the end of those AM cycles.

This type of pattern is another one of those patterns to watch out for, like an active cycle after a string of yellows, it can be a good indicator of what the following cycle might bring.

Make sense?
 
@Shelley & Jess I was looking at nicos' ss and your comments regarding 01/31, 02/06, 02/10, 02/16.. so basically if I understand this correctly... if Mr Nico runs high as he did those dates... then Em. can exxpect her cat to run low in the wee hours of the nite,. can any of this be prevented...? -- to help him stay more even?? or is this just part of the course ..??? thxx Sandy
 
@Shelley & Jess I was looking at nicos' ss and your comments regarding 01/31, 02/06, 02/10, 02/16.. so basically if I understand this correctly... if Mr Nico runs high as he did those dates... then Em. can exxpect her cat to run low in the wee hours of the nite,. can any of this be prevented...? -- to help him stay more even?? or is this just part of the course ..??? thxx Sandy
I'm looking at the downward trend of the cycle(s), not necessarily the high numbers. A kitty doesn't have to be in high numbers for a cycle to follow a downward trend all cycle, with no dip at nadir, no rise at the end.

I wouldn't say Em can expect Nico to run low at night, more that this type of downward trend during one cycle may be an indicator or heads up that the following cycle might be an active one and a good idea to keep a closer eye on it. It's another 'tool in our toolbox' - spotting those patterns that the numbers create and how the cycles flow on our spreadsheets.
 
Last edited:
I'm looking at the downward trend of the cycle(s), not necessarily the high numbers. A kitty doesn't have to be in high numbers for a cycle to follow a downward trend all cycle, with no dip at nadir, no rise at the end.

I wouldn't say Em can expect Nico to run low at night, more that this type of downward trend during one cycle may be an indicator or heads up that the following cycle might be an active one and a good idea to keep a closer eye on it. It's another 'tool in our toolbox' - spotting those patterns that the numbers create and how the cycles flow on our spreadsheets.
****I guess its all about the overall pattern is what I'm gathering....
 
****I guess its all about the overall pattern is what I'm gathering....
Looking for clues on your spreadsheet can help you make decisions. Some of those clues are the patterns that the flow of one cycle to the next cycle create.

When planning your testing strategy for a cycle getting a +1,+2 and/or +3 (like Emily has been doing :)) is a good idea following a downward trending cycle.

If contemplating a dose increase and you see a cycle behaving like this, trending down and he's due to break a bounce, hold off for one more cycle to be absolutely sure a dose increase is needed. In this instance, Nico's 02/16 PM cycle showed us that 1.25U is too much but it also could have showed us that 1.25U was just right.
 
Well darn! I'll join you. :arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh:

Not a nice PMPS number, but I think Nico is bouncing from that blue 180 earlier today.

How is Nico feeling?
Sucks. That blue was kinda out of nowhere, a complete anomaly. Is what it is, I guess. I was praying it would stay... I’ll get one more test before bed just to make sure he’s still tending toward the higher numbers then call it a night. I have a screaming headache, but I did put up new art in my house tonight which makes me happy! Nico is okay, pretty low key today:
upload_2021-2-19_21-22-16.jpeg

LOL
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-2-19_21-22-16.jpeg
    upload_2021-2-19_21-22-16.jpeg
    64.9 KB · Views: 450
I hate to suggest this, but I think you need to increase the dose again.
If Nico is in the yellows at PMPS, he might drop really low into the neon green BG ranges.
So that would mean staying up (or setting an alarm) and testing and feeding the curve to bring his BG levels back into the higher green BG range.

Not sure if you want to do that.

Nico is looking pretty chill in that picture.:)
 
I hate to suggest this, but I think you need to increase the dose again.
If Nico is in the yellows at PMPS, he might drop really low into the neon green BG ranges.
So that would mean staying up (or setting an alarm) and testing and feeding the curve to bring his BG levels back into the higher green BG range.

Not sure if you want to do that.

Nico is looking pretty chill in that picture.:)
I’m so sad he can’t hack the 1.25u, and keeps failing it. Back up we go.. I did do a little experimenting with his food and it’s direct correlation to his bg levels today, and it didn’t cause any difference really at all, so I know his high-high numbers aren’t food based or his diet. I’ll keep you posted about overnight.. he’s been pink all afternoon, so I don’t anticipate a yellow PMPS however.

+5, 370
+7, 367
 
Well he hasn’t moved an inch in 2 hours. At least I’ll get some sleep tonight (though it’s a bit surprising to be honest).. hmmm

PMPS 397
+2 366
 
@Deb & Wink Literal NO CHANGE +2 to +6, exact.same.number. 366. WHAT THE HECK?!!

AND STILLLLLL.... AMPS, 340. In the words of Ham Porter, “You’re killing me, Smalls!!” (Sandlot)
 
Last edited:
@Deb & Wink @Shelley & Jess does Nico seem stuck to you, in your experienced opinions?? He’s tested literally the same— with variation— since that black AMPS yesterday morning (2.20.21). Very strange; even when he’s flat there is more movement than this.. I’m gonna get another test for him in about 15-20 mins, I’ll post that here after. Just praying for some movement.. any movement!! :stop:
 
Don't bang your head too hard just yet. It's only the 2nd cycle on the increased dose, might take these couple of cycles to get him moving again.

Deb said this just a week or so ago:
You will probably have a very bumpy ride for a while. I think that Nico's pancreas may be waking up and producing some insulin on it's own.
He'll be bouncing up and down like a yo-yo for a while I think.

If the pancreas is pooped out again, we have to pick up the slack until it wakes up again.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

I read this in the Lantus forum, thought it was pretty cute, might make you smile too: (Post #13) https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-8-346-increased-tonight.234063/#post-2618868
 
Back
Top