Em, ANYTIME your cat drops below 50, that is a dose reduction. Even with the MPM dosing protocol you are using. Please reread what the MPM protocol says. Please.
You need to monitor VERY closely when something like that happens and not become complacent.
Nico could have been even lower than the 49 you caught with testing.
You want to monitor for at least 2 hours after a low like that. More, if you've "carbed up" your cat to get him above 50. So 2 hours without food after your cat has dropped really low. You want the BG level to be at LEAST 90 AND rising before you stop testing. Depends on where in the 12 hour cycle you are too.
Please, please, please, take a 0.25U dose reduction. You are "playing with matches, playing with fire" if you don't. We don't want Nico to have a symptomatic hypo and have seizures. I disagree with Janet about "keep doing what you are doing".
In my opinion, Nico should not be getting more than 1.75U right now. Even if he has bounced, you need to reduce the dose.
Phrase of the day, “radio silence...”
Sometimes, we have things we have to take care of for ourselves. I never even signed on to the message board on Sunday. Taking care of yet another snow storm and the aftermath. Monday too. Will have to do that again on Tuesday and Wednesday also, with more snow in the forecast. That all takes time and leaves me hurting and exhausted.