Nico. Yet another dose reduction 2/14: AMPS 59/79/97

I'd do a test sooner than PMPS if this were my cat. Maybe a tiny teaspoon of LC food too.

Speaking of cats, I have to go feed and take care of mine.
p.s. Watching the beautiful sunset, which is right outside the window where I have my computer setup inside.
 
I'd do a test sooner than PMPS if this were my cat. Maybe a tiny teaspoon of LC food too.

Speaking of cats, I have to go feed and take care of mine.
p.s. Watching the beautiful sunset, which is right outside the window where I have my computer setup inside.
I love sunsets. We get some good ones here too. Rainy today though.. one of those days where it feels much more like an extended night than day. Lol finish the sunset then tend to your kitties— I’ll get another test for him. I’m a little concerned because his nadir is usually +8ish. So weird for him to have that steep of a drop. Now I’m not sure what to expect going into the evening. Think Nico’s body is messing with us— haha!
 
I think that Nico has cleared the bounce from last night.
I also think he could use a dose reduction.
I'd recommend 1.75U for a few cycles.
 
I think that Nico has cleared the bounce from last night.
I also think he could use a dose reduction.
I'd recommend 1.75U for a few cycles.
+8, 61. Which is basically the same, but also pretty heavily food influenced— the +8 is, the +7 he hadn’t eaten since breakfast. Does that make sense?
 
I'd be sure to get that +2, which can indicate which direction the BG level is headed.
If you are up later, 1 more test before you go to sleep is a good idea.
 
I'd be sure to get that +2, which can indicate which direction the BG level is headed.
If you are up later, 1 more test before you go to sleep is a good idea.
For sure was planning on a +2, which will be in about a half hour. Would like to see what that number is before setting any alarms for overnight. He’s probably fine, but just in case.

Consider lowering to 1.75
If he stays consistently low overnight, has any readings close to or under 50, or is close to or under 140/150 in the morning for pre-shot, I think. I hate to reduce prematurely, they just trigger some horrible bounces for him.
 
Definitely was up all night for basically no reason.. better safe than sorry, I suppose. I guess I can be grateful that he’s neither terribly high, nor terribly low. Happy Friday!!

(pm)+3: 263.
(pm)+5: 156.
(pm)+9: 224.
AMPS: 324.
+7: 160.
 
YIKES!

I recommend a dose reduction Em, especially since he went that low on just 1.0u.
:( We are seeing some high numbers at the moment today though. I know I’m not supposed to gage his dosage on the higher numbers, but rather the lower numbers— which clearly were low last night.. he’s 378 at +3. Should I just see how he does today?? How do I know to reduce tonight, if he needs it??
 
Em, ANYTIME your cat drops below 50, that is a dose reduction. Even with the MPM dosing protocol you are using. Please reread what the MPM protocol says. Please.
You need to monitor VERY closely when something like that happens and not become complacent.
Nico could have been even lower than the 49 you caught with testing.
You want to monitor for at least 2 hours after a low like that. More, if you've "carbed up" your cat to get him above 50. So 2 hours without food after your cat has dropped really low. You want the BG level to be at LEAST 90 AND rising before you stop testing. Depends on where in the 12 hour cycle you are too.

Please, please, please, take a 0.25U dose reduction. You are "playing with matches, playing with fire" if you don't. We don't want Nico to have a symptomatic hypo and have seizures. I disagree with Janet about "keep doing what you are doing".

In my opinion, Nico should not be getting more than 1.75U right now. Even if he has bounced, you need to reduce the dose.

Phrase of the day, “radio silence...”
Sometimes, we have things we have to take care of for ourselves. I never even signed on to the message board on Sunday. Taking care of yet another snow storm and the aftermath. Monday too. Will have to do that again on Tuesday and Wednesday also, with more snow in the forecast. That all takes time and leaves me hurting and exhausted.
 
@Deb & Wink my apologies if my post from earlier in the day sounded pointed, it certainly wasn’t meant to be so, especially toward any one of you. (More so my [incredibly misplaced] anger toward insurance companies :mad: So please accept those, however late they may be; they are sincere.

In the meantime, I intend to go back over the PZI dosing material, and Nico has been reduced to 1.75u as of a half hour ago (PMPS, 159). Goodnight, all. :bighug:
 
This was written for Lantus insulin (and is a sticky in the Lantus ISG), but the same concepts apply to Prozinc.
Sticky Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers

Em, the point I was trying to make the other night is that we can't always be here when you might need us. So it behooves you to try and read all the sticky (pinned) posts that you can. "Knowledge is power."

When in the cycle a low occurs is important too. If that 109 was at +1 or +2 or so, then it would be more of a concern. At +7 it's not as big of a concern. Won't hurt to get another test before the PMPS though.


 
Well wow! Just wow on Nico and his BG levels last night.

Remember when Nico was always in the black BG ranges, and we kept upping (increasing) the insulin dose, and increasing the dose quickly? Well now, he's headed in the opposite direction, down, down down. You will probably have a very bumpy ride for a while. I think that Nico's pancreas may be waking up and producing some insulin on it's own.

He'll be bouncing up and down like a yo-yo for a while I think.

I think you do want to reduce the dose to 1.5U for the next shot. That 58 BG you got last night isn't down into the "neon green reduce the dose zone" for the MPM protocol. But I think it was close enough that you should reduce.

His nadir (lowest point in the cycle) seems to be moving later too. So a closer eye on what is happening with him is a good idea.

Is his appetite good? I ask because sometimes a reduced appetite or a cat not wanting to eat can lead to low BG levels.
 
Almost exclusively pink since last night. Hoping this is the flat before the [bounce] break... pretty please!
In other news, we are all set — cozy, warm, snacks for days, and good, furry company— for Snowpocalypse 2021.


just started..
upload_2021-2-12_14-13-38.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-2-12_14-13-38.jpeg
    upload_2021-2-12_14-13-38.jpeg
    51.1 KB · Views: 233
I imagine he went lime last night and is bouncing hard. You re-tested enough at PS and re-tested the 384 to know they're both good....but not sure I feel comfortable telling you to let it go until PMPS, he's been all over the map lately, and we know he can come down pretty quick when he's in the mood....02/09 he had a pink to green.
 
I imagine he went lime last night and is bouncing hard. You re-tested enough at PS and re-tested the 384 to know they're both good....but not sure I feel comfortable telling you to let it go until PMPS, he's been all over the map lately, and we know he can come down pretty quick when he's in the mood....02/09 he had a pink to green.
Kicking myself big time for thinking he’d be fine overnight since he was in the 200s at +4. Hindsight really sucks sometimes.. Maybe I should test closer to his nadir too, like +7 or so? Then at least I have a mid to go by. Trying to reassure myself that I did the right thing by only giving him 1.0u this morning, but it’s the hardest when you know you shot low and now he’s super high. Sucks!
 
DO NOT ever second guess yourself when the main objective is to keep Nico safe - this is WAY MORE IMPORTANT than a cycle or two of high numbers.

You did good Em.
Thank you, Chelle. So hard when he goes so high and looks so miserable.. I just couldn’t bring myself to give him more than 1.0u this morning with a third and final test before food still less than 100. Just didn’t think it was smart. Now he’s bouncing, and the bounce may be lengthened because of that choice, but at this point it is what it is. I’ll get a +7ish in about 95 mins, and post that here. Than maybe we should move this convo to his new thread? Be back shortly!

In other news, we are getting dumped on by the winter weather— we are under winter storm advisory and are expected to have a “thundersnow” tonight. Nico loves watching it. So cute. Otherwise he’s my lap kitty/snugglebug, never leaves my side (I think his sister is mad jealous, so she makes it a point to be right there too. “Tres Amigo/Amigas!”)
upload_2021-2-14_13-23-46.jpeg

This photo was yesterday though.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-2-14_13-23-46.jpeg
    upload_2021-2-14_13-23-46.jpeg
    77.8 KB · Views: 229
I just couldn’t bring myself to give him more than 1.0u this morning with a third and final test before food still less than 100. Just didn’t think it was smart.
It could have very easily gone the other way and made him go too low and hypo. What you decided was smart. Very smart.

This photo was yesterday though
I've said it before and I'll say it again, that's one handsome boy you've got there!
 
Back
Top