Emily Tuomey
Active Member


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...gnosis-nico-ma-suga-butt.238630/#post-2681183
Hooray for the pink preshot this morning!!!! That's much better than black!!! And I REALLY love that blue you got last night!!! I look forward to seeing what tonight brings. You weren't able to get a mid day today?Good morning everyone. Nico was started on Prozinc two weeks ago at 1.0u Prozinc BID, but had since been fast tracked [incrementally] up to 2.5u BID. Since that dose increase his numbers have been all over the place. He had been extremely high — black, with an occasional red thrown in — but since the latest dose increase he’s all over the map. Last night +4 was 198 (blue), and this morning AMPS was 324 (purple), two days ago he had a 228 (yellow) reading in his daytime mid. Is this normal with a Prozinc dose increase? Admittedly I’m not a pro at the insulin injections just yet and have had (sometimes questionably) a bunch of fur shots, so also possible those numbers sometimes are reflective of operator error
Can someone(s) weigh in on this? I’ll attach the link to Nico’s previous threads, just in case it’d be helpful to see what we’ve been doing for him since his diagnosis. Thanks team. -Em & Nico
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...gnosis-nico-ma-suga-butt.238630/#post-2681183
Yes, I do say that. But in Nico's case he was in black numbers almost ALL the time. So we suggested that the dose be "fast tracked" or increased more rapidly than our dosing protocols usually call for.Deb always say, blacks and reds are almost always rebounds.
I responded on the other thread, but I’m feeling super upset and discouraged tonight. I feel like it’s me, that I’m screwing something up. Literally no one else has a SS like Nico’s. What am I doing wrong??!p.s. Em, see responses in your Feline Health thread too.
are definitely not the first person on here to start in the blacks.
I responded on the other thread, but I’m feeling super upset and discouraged tonight. I feel like it’s me, that I’m screwing something up. Literally no one else has a SS like Nico’s. What am I doing wrong??!![]()
You are definitely not the first person on here to start in the blacks.
Just to make sure he stays hydrated and keep flushing ketones, if you aren’t already doing it, be sure to add extra water to his food.
Have you ever tested yourself?
He has already. I ran a bg at +9 and he’s 505. At least now I’m prepared for it— though it’s still hard to know he’s feeling unwell. Normally I can see it in his face before we even test. Thoughts?With that drop to the yellow BG range (287), I'd expect Nico to bounce back up to the black BG ranges at pre-shot tonight, 11/18/20. So don't let it stress you out if that happens.
Nice mid day number
Ironically she sent me here to begin with. Hahahahaha! I will send her a message tomorrow.Send her here, to look at the dosing protocols we use for Prozinc. Point her to the "Sticky" or pinned posts at the top of the forum.
Although these protocols have never been published in a scientific journal, they were developed based on the experience of hundreds of cat caregivers and diabetic cats. They were recently updated this spring of 2020 also. So quite current.
Happy with it. By +9 he was 505. He’s struggling at the moment. Something changes in his eyes when his bg is high. PMPS, dinner, and insulin in a half hour.Nice mid day number
And then sleep all night. No reason to get up in the middle of the night.Happy with it. By +9 he was 505. He’s struggling at the moment. Something changes in his eyes when his bg is high. PMPS, dinner, and insulin in a half hour.
I shot 3.0u at 7a (PST). 600+HI for AMPS this morning.Id give an increase. Deb said 2.75 on the other thread. I think go right for 3 u. Whatever you think.
Glad to see that you DID increase the dose again. I was kind of on the fence for a 0.25U increase or a 0.5U increase.I shot 3.0u at 7a (PST). 600+HI for AMPS this morning.
Ok!!! Glad a vet knew about us and sent you here for some day to day help with the insulin management.Ironically she sent me here to begin with. Hahahahaha! I will send her a message tomorrow.
Agreed. He’s still not staying down though. I can pretty much guarantee he will be 600+ by PMPS, which is still 2.5hrs away... I just keep hoping he will stay down, but seemingly it’s only very briefly on his mids that he gets a semi-okay number. I’m not an expert, but I don’t like him being that high. At all.Nico is still too high. We need to help you get those BG numbers back down. So a bigger increase, like Janet said to do, was a good idea.
No word from the vet yet because she’s not back in the office until tomorrow, but hopefully by end of day tomorrow. Why do you ask?Did your vet get back to you yet?
Just wanted to see if you had considered asking your vet about using lantus insulin? It's a depot type insulin, instead of an in-and-out insulin like Prozinc. Some cats can do better on lantus, and get back to a more even keel, BG number wise.No word from the vet yet because she’s not back in the office until tomorrow, but hopefully by end of day tomorrow. Why do you ask?
I’ve not, but she did suggest Lantus in the beginning, citing that it was equally as effective (depending on your cats body) as Prozinc, but that PZI was cheaper. We chose to see if he would respond favorably to the cheaper prescription then move to Lantus if he didn’t have good results. He’s scheduled for a [home] curve next week, so once I report those numbers to her I’ll ask if she recommends a med change.Just wanted to see if you had considered asking your vet about using lantus insulin? It's a depot type insulin, instead of an in-and-out insulin like Prozinc. Some cats can do better on lantus, and get back to a more even keel, BG number wise.
Can you explain to me the difference though? I guess I’m not familiar with the lingo (“in and out” etc.)...
Yes! Excited!! +7 a bit higher, 313. Not complaining, definitely still not too shabby!! Am I okay to wait until PMPS tonight, or should I try to get one more? (Finally feeling like we are actually in the game now— YAY NICO!275! Nice
OMG HYSTERICAL!!!! Good thing you caught her too, or it would’ve been a mystery 600! Those mystery numbers mess with my head, I don’t know about you..Omg. CC just walked into the living room and puked the BIGGEST PILE OF KIBBLE I ever saw. Apparently my partner was feeding the outside ferals some kibble and LEFT THE CONTAINER open.... And cc helped herself to high carb kibble!!!! Thank God she puked a lot of it up!!! she probably still digested some but if she ate all of that she would have been 600!
You can wait unless you are just curiousYes! Excited!! +7 a bit higher, 313. Not complaining, definitely still not too shabby!! Am I okay to wait until PMPS tonight, or should I try to get one more? (Finally feeling like we are actually in the game now— YAY NICO!)
I’m gonna let him be for a bit. PMPS at 6:50p ish, dinner, then insulin. Our new normal.You can wait unless you are just curious