Nicky - Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luann and Nicky

Member Since 2015
Hello Everyone,

I need some advice. It appeared that I was dosing Nicky a bit high at PM (1.6) cause he had some deep drops and a bit low in the AM (1.2) because I was being conservative because I was not home during the day to test him. So I split the difference and for the past several cycles, I dosed at 1.4U. It appears that he does go into the high blues with this dose. Should I stay the course at 1.4 or up him a bit to 1.5 or 1.6.

-Luann
 
I understand your reluctance to raise the dose when you aren't home, Luann. The 1.6 takes him down to nice nadirs that aren't quite in the 50s but that might happen some cycle soon. With 1.4 I think he has room to drop. Maybe when you are going to be there, give 1.6 and watch that he doesn't drop too low. When you can't be around, 1.4 or 1.5 if you are comfortable with that, and leave out some food?
 
Hey Luann,

We have been missing you. I snuck a peek at Nicky's spreadsheet. It looks like he is too low for amps and you are skipping. It is ideal to give two shots a day. Would you consider lowering the dose at night and seeing if that gives you two shoot able numbers a day? Your black yesterday pmps was 24 hours since the last shot so it wore off, and maybe a bounce from the cycle before.
 
Hi Sue,

Yes, I have not been on the forum lately, I have had a bit going on with work etc. But I am now on a week long vacation. It is to my home in Delaware. This is a place I go to on some weekends during the year. Since Nicky was diagnosed, I now bring him with me. Nicky's numbers are going down which is good, however I am now in new territory. They also have been coming down at a time when I am at work, so I have been fairly conservative. He is also eating less. I have been able to come home once during the day on certain days but it is a 30 minute drive one way, so I am somewhat limited. Anyway, despite being conservative in my dose, he has been staying low on his AMPS. I know it is not wise to skip which is why I was dosing on some low blues, but I had to skip on 29-Aug because he was just to low and it got to late for me to shoot. On top of that on that day we made our 3 hour drive to my house in DE. Nicky is getting used to the drive but I know it stressed him. That is why the 575 value did not really surprise me. I just saw your email today and in hind site agree that I should lower my dose at night. I also think I dosed a bit to high this morning, he will probably bounce again. I will home all day to monitor him.

I think someone said this is like a puzzle. You keep trying the pieces until you find the ones that fit.

Sincerely,

-Luann
 
Yeah for vacations! I'm glad Nicky can come with you. Yep, it is definitely a puzzle. You have the important pieces: testing, food, insulin, knowledge about how the doses work. Now for those tricky inside pieces!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top