Suit Keng Ho
Member Since 2018
Dee Dee has been on Vetsulin since Jun, his PS BG stubbornly hovers around borderline 150 (8.3), though strangely his BG after meals often drops to below 120 or even 100.
i have tried following Vet instructions was to give only if above 150, his normal dose 1.2 units, I have tried giving small doses even if bet 120 - 150.
Last week (12 Oct), Vet suggested to switch to Lantus, start dose 1.0.
Tried but had a hypo scare as his BG dropped to 1.9 - 2.2 range but he looked ok, so i just monitor him for signs of Hypo which he did not have.
I then lowered his dose to 0.5 but only dose if above 150 (8.0). And since his PS BG did not dip below 150, i did not give him his shots for the last 3 days.
Looking at his BG, even without Shots, his BG would still trend low about 2-3 hours after meals, and hit peak every 12 hours. I want to give him his shots so that he can have a strong remission but right now am scared to give coz his mid cycle BG is low around 80-110. Insulin may push it down even further.
Advice, suggestions ?
i have tried following Vet instructions was to give only if above 150, his normal dose 1.2 units, I have tried giving small doses even if bet 120 - 150.
Last week (12 Oct), Vet suggested to switch to Lantus, start dose 1.0.
Tried but had a hypo scare as his BG dropped to 1.9 - 2.2 range but he looked ok, so i just monitor him for signs of Hypo which he did not have.
I then lowered his dose to 0.5 but only dose if above 150 (8.0). And since his PS BG did not dip below 150, i did not give him his shots for the last 3 days.
Looking at his BG, even without Shots, his BG would still trend low about 2-3 hours after meals, and hit peak every 12 hours. I want to give him his shots so that he can have a strong remission but right now am scared to give coz his mid cycle BG is low around 80-110. Insulin may push it down even further.
Advice, suggestions ?