StephanieH
Member Since 2015
my cat, Hula was originally diagnosed back in 2015. He quickly went into remission after I switched his food to a low carb wet food. His numbers stayed great until this last December. I took him in for a dental and his number was up to 250. He had an extremely hard time coming out of anesthesia. He did not eat for many days and I was syringe feeding him and giving him appetite stimulants. The vet did say it was likely pancreatitis but did not test him. He started eating on his own and recovered well. I kept a check on his BG and always stayed around 100 or so. Previous remission readings were in 60s. Recently his drinking came up again and I checked him and his numbers were back to 300s. We went to the vet and had blood panels done to make sure there was nothing else going on to increase his BG. He had no sign of infection, liver was good, triglycerides are high (he is a bit overweight- his appetite is outrageous right now) and his teeth still looked ok. So we went back on Prozinc, starting out at 1 unit.
Since starting insulin, I have done one curve. This was a day when he actually looked pretty good. But I do have some questions, what BGs are we looking to get to between doses? Also his PMPS is always much lower than his AMPS. I am not sure what causes that unless it is the stress of being hungry. I leave food out overnight but his bowl is always empty in the morning and he thinks he is starving.
I increased his dose this morning to 1.25 units to try to get him a little more reduced. I wanted to increase slowly where I could keep an eye on him. Is increasing the right thing to do with his numbers? I just need to make sure I am doing the right thing for him. I would love for him to go back into remission again!
Also wondering how often I should do a curve? I really hate testing him. I know I must but he has become a master at jerking his head away at just the wrong time and causes way more than just a prick to his ear.
Thanks so much you guys for all you do to help these kitties!
Since starting insulin, I have done one curve. This was a day when he actually looked pretty good. But I do have some questions, what BGs are we looking to get to between doses? Also his PMPS is always much lower than his AMPS. I am not sure what causes that unless it is the stress of being hungry. I leave food out overnight but his bowl is always empty in the morning and he thinks he is starving.
I increased his dose this morning to 1.25 units to try to get him a little more reduced. I wanted to increase slowly where I could keep an eye on him. Is increasing the right thing to do with his numbers? I just need to make sure I am doing the right thing for him. I would love for him to go back into remission again!
Also wondering how often I should do a curve? I really hate testing him. I know I must but he has become a master at jerking his head away at just the wrong time and causes way more than just a prick to his ear.
Thanks so much you guys for all you do to help these kitties!