Jenn & Baxter
Member Since 2011
Hello everyone. My name is Jennifer & my big brown cat is "Baxter". He is a 14 yr old Himalayan, weighs 11 pds. Baxter has lived with me for 5 years. He was the neighbors cat. Long story short...he knew where the love was. He never thought twice about turning back once he was at my house. I do know in his early years he probably ate "JUNK FOOD". His brother died of KD. He was digosned with FD 1 week ago (Nov 12). Little did I know what a emotional rollercoaster this was going to be. Since Baxter was dignosed I have spent countless hours (crying) reading, & reading, printing & highlighting trying to educated myself about FD. At this point I think I might know more then my vet. I printed the information about TIght Regulation & took it to my vet. He never heard of it. So I left the info with him. We talked about it on fri & he told me that since Baxter wasn't regulated on insulin that we should wait to try that protocol.
I am hoping that some members could please help me. Even though I have read so much material on FD I still feel so lost & have the fear I am going to kill my best friend.
Baxter's Specs:
Food: Blue Buffalo wet Salmon. He has eaten BB for about a yr, but I was mixing wet w/dry. Been off dry for 4 days. Feeding times have always been 8am & 6 or 7pm.
BG #'s: When first digonsed: 468. On 11/18 he was test 4 times his lowest was 290 & highest was in the low 400's.
Insulin: PZI 1.5 twice daily. On 11/16 vet told me to lower the dose to 1.0 twice daily # was 183 when tested.
BG Testing: Performed by the vet. I went to Walmart to purchase the Relion monitor, but they were sold out of everything to go with it.(Just a reminder why I don't like WalMart). I am going to a different location tomorrow.
Here are my questions:
1. He threw up about 3 hrs after his insulin shot. I gave him about 2 tbsp of wet food about 30 mins after throwing up. He is acting normal. Do I give him the normal dose of insulin at his AM feeding?
2. At what point can I start Tight Regulation? I have read the success stories. I can be 100% committed. I don't work. I plan on making it my full time job to try to make Baxter part of those success stories.
Thank You,
Jennifer & Baxter
I am hoping that some members could please help me. Even though I have read so much material on FD I still feel so lost & have the fear I am going to kill my best friend.
Baxter's Specs:
Food: Blue Buffalo wet Salmon. He has eaten BB for about a yr, but I was mixing wet w/dry. Been off dry for 4 days. Feeding times have always been 8am & 6 or 7pm.
BG #'s: When first digonsed: 468. On 11/18 he was test 4 times his lowest was 290 & highest was in the low 400's.
Insulin: PZI 1.5 twice daily. On 11/16 vet told me to lower the dose to 1.0 twice daily # was 183 when tested.
BG Testing: Performed by the vet. I went to Walmart to purchase the Relion monitor, but they were sold out of everything to go with it.(Just a reminder why I don't like WalMart). I am going to a different location tomorrow.
Here are my questions:
1. He threw up about 3 hrs after his insulin shot. I gave him about 2 tbsp of wet food about 30 mins after throwing up. He is acting normal. Do I give him the normal dose of insulin at his AM feeding?
2. At what point can I start Tight Regulation? I have read the success stories. I can be 100% committed. I don't work. I plan on making it my full time job to try to make Baxter part of those success stories.
Thank You,
Jennifer & Baxter