Newly diagnosed

Status
Not open for further replies.

shapenney

New Member
Hi Everyone, my 11-ish yr old cat, Twizzler, was diagnosed w/ diabetes 2 weeks ago. She's receiving insulin twice a day and is on a new diet. Things are OK, just have a couple concerns - one is that she is VERY restless at night- always wanting my attention- "In my face" as I am attempting to sleep, so I am up 2-3 times a night- often she wants to go out and that works but sometimes she doesn't know what she wants, it's getting VERY frustrating. The other is that she seems a bit lethargic- not as quick moving as she was before, I just need to know if that's fairly normal?

Thanks!!

Susan and Twizzler (yes, ironic, my diabetic cat is named after candy!)
 
Hello to you and Twizzler!
You will find soo much information from everyone here! This is truely a great place! I am very new at this but my first question is are you home testing???? VERY VERY IMPORTANT~ as I was not and shooting what the vet said, my Bean girl dropped to 26~ one nite at a +2.... took hours to bring her up and out of danger! I STRONGLY ADVISE NOT TO SHOOT WITHOUT A TEST BEFORE!!!! I learned the hard way and Bean was great to survive it!
Welcome to you both!
Mommy to Sugar Bean, Slappy girl (civvie) and my new found heart patient girl, Gumpy (civvie)
 
When you hometest, which you should learn to do like yesterday :mrgreen: , we test before feeding and shooting, amps (a.m. Pre shot), a 26 at +2 means she tested her kitty two hours (+2) after shooting and her blood glucose (bg) was 26. The p.m. pre test is called a pmps. If you do a test at 4 hrs. after shooting you would put down +4 and so on till the next time to test, feed and shoot. What insulin is kitty on?
 
Hi Susan and Twizzler (love it - my civvies at Twix and Skittles!)

26~ at a +2
'26' is the number that she got from her glucometer when she measured her kitty's blood glucose (bg). Normal range is 40 to 90. There will be others who will have other numbers, but generally these numbers will work for this discussion. When a cat drops below 40 early in the cycle, it is a situation that needs management to avoid the cat going too low - into hypoglycemia.

'+2' is the time after the shot that she tested. All insulins have a period of action - the short acting ones we won't talk about, b/c we don't normally use them. The medium and long acting have their greatest effect on bg at sometime around 6 to 7 hours.

In ohbell's situation, her kitty's bg was already very low at only 2 hours after the shot. The insulin would have continued working and dropping the blood glucose number into extremely dangerous territory. Without intervention, we all shudder to think what would have happened.

What is intervention? This is probably the most important thing to read, and what often scares off new members. The information about hypoglycemia and the supplies to have on hand is in one of the documents at the top of the main page. I think that often we (that is board members in the broadest sense) come off as a bit over the top, but it is because of situations like ohbell's that we make these comments. And I have to say that it was great that she tested and caught that low number and with support from board members she handled the hypo at home very well.

Hope that helps. There is a wealth of information here - food lists, information about how each insulin works and how to get the most out of it, tips on reducing costs, and how to home test. The best part is that most of us have or have had diabetic cats so what you will find here is a wealth of experience and practical tips.
 
Humulin is not that commonly used, and not the greatest for a cat. Where are you located? Country? state? No details. It just helps members to know this as food availability and vet preferences (and types of insulin used) definitely vary by country.
 
Using for Bean PZI BCP - 1 unit starting out and as you can see by my spreadsheet, .50 yesterday was way too much... counter acted by some carb treats.... down to .25 unit on 5/15 pm hour.... I hope she will be diet diabetic sooon! She must stay out of the others food! Sneaky little girl that she is! :mrgreen:
 
Many people on this board have had great success with both Lantus (sometimes called Glargine) and Levemir. I think that these two have the greatest rate of remission - that is that the cat no longer needs insulin and diet alone controls the diabetes. Prozinc and PZI are also used. I know little about these, but if you click on 'Board Index' at the top of the page and then look in the 'Insulin Support Groups' there is a lot of information at the top of each page about the insulin and how it works. Unless there is a very special reason that your vet has prescribed Humulin, I think that most everyone would recommend asking about changing to Lantus or Levemir.
 
First off Welcome to the best place you never wanted to be but the absolute best place to help you help Twizzler!

As far as perferred insulins go...the three biggies are Lantus, Levermir and PZI. My personal favorite is Lantus. but it likes a strick 12/12 shooting schedule, Levermir is a little more flexible as far as timing the shooting schedule. While I don't have any experience with either Levermir and PZI, since my current diabetic what on Lantus, and my former one on Humilin, I do know all three work pretty well in cats. Humilin is a very harsh insulin, especially for cats, since they metabolize insulin much faster than either dogs or humans. When my Muse was on Humilin it was a roller-coaster ride for her, she would drop very low, very fast at onset and then it would wear off way before the full 12 hours, so she would sky-rocket back up for part of the day. She has since passed away (not from diabetes), and I adopted my current sugarcat Maxwell, from this very board.

Others have said how important home testing is, and I know without a doubt in my mind that it saved my Maxwell's life. Since I adopted him as a diabetic, wehad no past history together so what exactly was "normal" for him was unknown to me. Well when he was first dxed his bloodsugar was 485. One of the ladies from this board pulled him from the vet's office where he was scheduled to be put to sleep, if a new home couldn't be found for him. She took him home with her for a week while transport was arranged out to me and started him on 1u twice a day of Lantus, while changing his diet to a low carb/high protein canned food diet. On the day he was flown out to me, he recieved no insulin, and he had a long flight (he came from Mass to Nebr.) So that very first night I figured his BGs would be through the roof, so even though his insulin hadn't yet arrived I tested him...and guess what? He was barely in diabetic range. Same thing for the next morning, by then I had his insulin and gave him his first shot in his new home, but had to skip is evening shot as he wasn't high enough to safely shoot. After that initial first couple of days, Maxwell only had one additional half dose of insulin and has been diet controlled for the last 7 months with no signs of returning to insulin dependency. But had I blindly gone on giving him his starting does, I would have either seriously hurt him or out right killed him, because we just didn't have any history together and I would have missed those early behavioral changes that spell the onset of a hypo.

Even though he has been in remission for over half a year I still test him at the very least once a month and usually more often than that. And if you look at my avatar you can see his ears are still just as pretty as they ever were. Maxwell and I even now go out and give home testing demos for local vet offices and shelters. He's a champ at it. It is just so important I can't stress that enough, and even thorough in the beginning we had our rocky start, we have still built a deep and loving bond between us, he doesn't hate or fear me because I stick his ear, in fact because he associates testing with treats, he will come to me and ask to be tested!

Now the second question...What are you feeding Twizzler? Diet plays a huge role in managing a diabetic. But we don't encourage you to change diet until you are home testing if you are feeding dry food, as just the vey removal of dry food can drop a cat's bgs by as much as 100 pts. But once you are home testing we highly encourage you to switch out any dry food for a low carb/ high protein canned food. Personally I have 11 cats of which only one is a diabetic, and everyone here eats exactly what my Maxwell eats. Just good old fashioned Friskies Pate Style flavors, and they all look fabulous on this diet. Shinier coats, more energy, better weight control and the list goes on and on. So if Twizzler has any furry feline friends in the house they can all benefit from the diet change, mine certainly have. And the best part is with just a few weeks of insulin and a new diet Maxwell is not only still alive but a thriving, happy and loved member of my family and no longer requires insulin. Now while not every cat get to go into remission, we have seen an aweful lot of them that do.

Welcome again and remember just breathe, read and ask questions, and there will always be someone around here to talk you down off the ledge, and hold your hand and paw while you learn the steps to the Sugar cat tango. And unlike the vet's office, we never close, we have no business hours, no holidays off, and we don't close for vacations. Everyone who will respond to you either has currently or has had a diabetic cat that we have or are treating successfully. We eat, sleep and breathe feline diabetes here, why? Because we all love our extra sweet furry babies, and we treat every cat and their person like members of our own family, we cheer the successes and mourn the losses just as if it was one of our own babies.

Mel, Maxwell, and The Fur Gang
 
Hi Susan & Twizzler,

Love the name! First off, let's get you started home-testing Twizzler's blood glucose. It is not as intimidating as you might think. Because of the lethargy coupled with nightly agitation you are seeing I am concerned how the N insulin is working for her and the only way to know that is through hometesting. There are quite a few videos online to show you how it's done, but briefly -

We use the same glucose testing meters that humans use - popular brands are Wal-Mart's Reli-On, Accu-Check Aviva and One Touch Ultra. Strips for the Reli-On are cheaper than the other 2 and it got a good rating from Consumer reports. You don't need a special pet testing meter which a veterinarian might want to sell you.

The main reason we emphasize hometesting is that is the only way to know that it's safe to give the insulin. I highly highly recommend you learn to home test as soon as possible because, as others have said, Humulin N is fast acting and if you were to give a dose of insulin when the blood glucose is already lower than it should be when using N, Twizzler could have a hypoglycemic episode. Did the vet explain to you what that means?

You can prick the tip or sides of the ear either with the lancet device included with the meter (read contents on box) or you can use the lancet freehand. Once you get a kit you will better understand. Here is the main FD website's home testing page: http://www.felinediabetes.com/bg-test.htm for further reading and videos.

I recommend you buy a meter then come back when you're ready or read the link above and give it a try and come back here to ask questions. Then you can consider whether you want to keep Twizzler on N or inquire with your vet about switching to one of the longer acting insulins, Lantus (glargine) or Levemir (detemir). If your vet will not consider one of them, we recommend seeking a vet who will as they are clearly the better insulin choices for cats now.

Good luck and this board is pretty much 24/7, so ask questions any time.
 
Thanks everyone for your input, I plan to talk to my vet tomorrow about testing at home- they have been a great help and I know will listen to my concerns. All in all, it's going well, Twizzler is getting used to the boring food choices (Purina DM, both canned and dry) and has been a trooper w/ the insulin shots. The only issue that I'm dealing w/ is the night time nuttiness, she's eating well and urinating much less frequently that before her diagnosis. Hopefully we can get everything on the right track!
 
It is possible she is hungry at night. New diabetics do not process their food well and can be literally starving. Some of us freeze the wet food and leave it out to thaw. I use an automatic feeder that gives Niko a morning meal long before I am interested in waking up.
 
Depending what time she 's bugging me I will give her some food, I'm afraid to do it too often and throw off her insulin schedule- she gets her AM shot @ 6:00 and regularly eats at that time- I was concerned that feeding her before I go to bed b/w 11 and midnight would prevent her from eating nearer to the insulin shot
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top