newly diagnosed

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning...yes Lori, Jack is on PZI. This mornings reading was 372 so I gave 1.5 un again. My daughter will be home to check the +3 and +6 readings for me. A gentler curve would be nice!
 
Darlene & Jack said:
Good morning...yes Lori, Jack is on PZI. This mornings reading was 372 so I gave 1.5 un again. My daughter will be home to check the +3 and +6 readings for me. A gentler curve would be nice!

PZI what ?

There are several PZIs. ProZinc, BCP PZI,etc.

Please look at the label and give us the complete information.
 
Dear Darlene, and, of course, you too, still pretty sweet Jack,

Dinner consisted of refried beans w/a tad of melted cheddar followed by a 2-Oreo chaser. Didn't have the energy to forage much beyond what I saw first...



Recapping...

4/4 -- PM PS 463 / 1.5U
224 @ +3
185 @ +6

4/5 -- AM PS 372

Hmmmm... It'll be interesting seeing his +3 and 6 readings today... Go Rachel!!!



Darlene & Jack said:
I guess Jack does kind of look like he's smiling in his pic! Is that Nikki on your new pic? She's adorable!

Yes, I do believe Jack is smiling. It's a wry smile, like he's plotting something or has a really good secret... And, yes, that is Nikki. It was taken in her Virginia foster home when she found out she was going to be a Jersey Girl! She accepts your compliment. She knows she's adorable. It's those saucer-sized green eyes and pink nose with a smudge that get me every single day... If she hadn't arrived with a name she knew, I'd have named her Precious... Perhaps some day I'll take a picture of her two front paws as I could have easily named her Two Socklets after the little known movie sequel, Dances With Wolf Cubs... ;o)



Darlene & Jack said:
And I just have to say it...go UCONN!!!!!

YAY!!!!!!!!!!!

Love and our continued encouraging hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...

PS: Something has happened to Jack's SS link, dear Darlene. It's broken and doesn't work...
 
OK...so the insulin is ProZinc. I do not see any other specifiers on the label. Sorry, I didn't realize there were several PZ's...my human patients were never on that kind!

I recopied the spreadsheet, please let me know if it works. So today was as follows:

AMPS 372 1.5 units given
+3 263
+6 300

PMPS 331 1.5 un

Not sure why the +6 went up. Rachel said he hadn't really eaten in between those readings.
 
Spreadsheet is still not working. Those last few characters don't look right. How about trying it one more time.

Go to your signature first and delete the URL that is there. Go back to your spreadsheet, go through the share deal again, copy and paste the URL back into your signature and submit.

Hard to know why his nadir was early, but he surfed in the same general numbers after that. Collecting data - that's the name of the game.

Are you completely on wet lo carb now?
 
OK, please try the spreadsheet link again!

Jack is on all wet food now, as are my other 2 cats. Fancy Feast Classic and they don't seem to miss the dry food at all.

I am so glad my daughter is home at this time to check those morning +3 and +6 readings. She is doing an awesome job and learning what the numbers mean too! I will hold with the 1.5 units for now until I hear someone tell me to change it.

Deb...sounds like you had a good dinner! Glad Nikki loves being a Jersey Girl. When we adopted Jack and his sister Jordan, we thought of all kinds of other names to call them, but always went back to Jack and Jordan...when we first went to see them, they were so tiny, one could fit perfectly in the palm of my hand. Funny you mention about the socklets. Jordan is a calico and though they both have little white socks, Jordan has mismatched legwarmers on above the socks. One front leg is gray, the other beige.

I love seeing the pics of everyone's cats here, they are all gorgeous!

So any advice on dosages, etc is appreciated. Jack still has a few more days of his amoxicillin for the UTI left to go. He is due to go back to the vets on Friday and stay all day for a curve, but I think I may cancel that as I'm doing the home monitoring now and the being at the vets will just stress him out so much. I want to call around to find a vet with a little experience in this and who will appreciate me checking blood sugars, etc, not think I am crazy!
 
No need for a vet curve. Do one at home and fax them the results.

You could go over to the PZI forum:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=24 and regularly post for dose advice. It is not as busy as this forum, but people are there in the am and pm when you need to shoot. This forum is best when you need immediate advice.
 
Dear Darlene, and, of course, you too, still sweet Jack,

WOW! He had a lovely several hours today, didn't he? And, it appears he had an interesting night last night as well... Now if you could just get him to do something similar at PS times... Hmmm...

That's all. Just hmmm...

Love and our continued encouraging hugs for you and your furry puzzle,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...

PS: I think we all need to see a pic of Jordan's mismatched leg warmers...

PPS: Has Tucker figured out he's on a diet yet?
 
My furry little puzzle is certainly keeping us busy here! I am hoping tonight will be a nice gentle curve like it was this morning. I will see what I can find for pics of Jordan's legs. And Tucker...well, he is quite the talkative one. He screamed and yelled at me for treats all morning. I told him it wasn't fair because Jack couldn't have them. It was our morning routine for treats while I was making breakfast. I have to find some of the freeze dried meat ones. Anyways, he continued to yell at me. Then he gave up, chowed down a bunch of wet food, walked into the living room and threw it up on the area rug! I guess that was his revenge on me! but they have all really adjusted very well to the wet food.

Hope you and Nikki are doing well and enjoying this little bit of warmer weather!
 
oh that is rich!!!! tucker ate his wet food and then threw it up for you on the rug...as revenge for lack of treats! :lol: i would'nt doubt it for a minute. these little creatures know EXACTLY what they are doing....and will stop at nothing to get what they want!!!!
 
Hahaha, I agree Lori. They are very smart! Tucker is quite the character...I don't think he would be as cooperative with all of this as Jack is!

So another high start to the day... :-(
 
Dear Darlene -- sorry extremely sweet Jack, mom talk...

Darlene & Jack said:
So another high start to the day... :-(

498, trace ketones, and a possible partial fur shot due to flinching??? Sigh... Sigh... Sigh...

Would you consider going back to the 1.5 unit dose? The reason I'm asking is because you really need to get his PS numbers down...

Are you home today or is Rachel womanning his spot checks? And, does she know how to give Jack shots? Although I'm hesitant to even humbly suggest this, he may need an interim small dose (0.25u to 0.5u tops) if and when his BGs start to climb, say around +7 to +9 in order to keep his next PS lower... And, you or Rachel must keep checking for ketones...

Also, I know Jack is supposed to go for a curve at his vet's tomorrow and you were thinking of canceling because you're home testing now. But, would it be possible to keep his appointment, not for curving; but, because he might need to get fluids to flush the ketones if they worsen...

Please update when you can, okay, dear Darlene?

Love and continued encouraging, albeit worried, hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Hi Deb,
Unfortunately your reply must have come after I left for work. I did cancel the curve appointment as most had said I was doing it at home already so why add the stress and cost at the vets. When I called to cancel I spoke with the vet tech about the syringe mix up, and he wasn't concerned. He still said the syringes were the same, and I told him they weren't. I explained the difference and he said "well they're only a little different." I said no, it's a big difference! He still didn't think so. I asked to speak to the vet and he said just throw those syringes out. No concern over a wrong dose. So i will be calling around a few places tomorrow to find a new vet. My first choice is a place that actually has a 24 hour staffed animal hospital that all the local vets use for emergencies anyways. So it might be better to just get Jack known there so if there is an emergency, they have all his records, etc.
As far as the dosage, right now I am relying on the guidance of you all on here! I have been posting on the PZ board as well. We thought we would try a consistent dose for the week and try to stick with 1 unit, but I am willing to try what I can to bring those numbers down.
And I have to say, I am so glad tomorrow is Friday, because all these very late nights of testing are exhausting me, along with the worry and anxiety!
 
OMG...I did'nt even read past the sentence where the vet said it did'nt matter, the syringes were basically the same. I am totally freaked out that this is a person who practices medicine on animals. excuse me whilst I freak out!!!!! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

ok, did'nt you think there was a fur shot today?
that really puts a monkey in the wrench (what the hell does THAT mean???) but yes, i would go ahead with the 1.5 if number is still up at pmps.

did'nt read far...maybe you already shot
 
I think steph and toonces should see this for her 'bad vet daily' blog....this is absurd and dangerous. i will pm her even tho i know she never comes here anymore.
 
I know Lori, i was pretty upset with the tech and the vet both. I was trying to let the tech know this was a big issue. Luckily for Jack it turned out OK, but I want to make sure he didn't do that for another animal.
As far as the shot this morning, he had flinched and I worried maybe he didn't get it, but I'm assuming he did based on his numbers. I already did give the 1 unit tonight, was afraid to increase and cause more rebounding.

Bad vet blog sounds like a good place for this guy! I don't think they have any experience with someone home monitoring either. The vet tech didn't understand, but the vet himself said it was good I was doing it. But I still don't trust him.
 
so looks like you did'nt fur shoot...i have'nt looked at the ss yet. trace ketone hmmmm? we have to put that first but in a way i'm glad you gave 1u one more cycle to be sure.

as for vet tech, vet and syringes. particularly if vet does not think people are testing....no, no, no, i take that back. i think u40 as opposed to u100 syringes is basic 101 medicine. regardless of your testing or not. confusing doses of medicine is bad enough...not knowing you are doing it is another. am i to understand you were handed a mix of both types of syringes?
can't imagine any animal being subjected to care by this vet or vet tech.

off to see your ss

lori
and tomtom (pwees mommie, don sen meh to dat doktur)
 
Dear Darlene, and, of course, you too, definitely still sweet Jack,

Sometimes ER hospitals have either daytime office hours or a separate clinic (without the ER price tag to walk in the door). Oradell Animal Hospital in Paramus has a small clinic in Fort Lee that came in handy a time or two with Gizzie as well as non-ER office hours at the hospital. You can also request a complete copy of Jack's records from his current vet to have on hand or paw, should the need arise, or to take to a new vet... You're the paying client and mom of Jack, the patient, so the vet must comply and provide same.

At first I thought his current vet should simply fire that vet tech. Upon reading what the vet said, well, sadly and apparently, the apple doesn't fall far from the boss tree... Sigh...

I'm very glad you're now posting on the PZI support group! They're in the sugar trenches daily and have far more insights into dosing with that insulin than I do. And, yes, I too very much believe in consistency. Then again, there's Jack's very recent DKA history and yesterday's trace ketones... I admit to being worried about his 400+ PSs... He gets such an incredible drop, doesn't he?

Just refreshed Jack's spreadsheet (yes, it's now bookmarked...) and see you went with a slight increase. That's a good plan, dear Darlene. Sometimes the magic dose isn't in whole units or even half units. I eyeballed 2.25 units with Giz for years... 2.0 wasn't enough and 2.5 was too much... And one day, I just went, duh...

It isn't always like this, Darlene. Now, your mission, should you decide to accept it, is to get lots of recovery sleep this weekend!

Love and our continued encouraging hugs for you and Jack (which will never self-destruct!) -- and Rachel, too,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
So Jack's numbers were great today after insulin, it's just those preshot numbers that are staying so high. We'll see if anything changes on the small increase. I'll try to stick with that for a few cycles. I was nervous about going back up to 1.5 so thought this might be a little better. His poor little ears are getting so and red from all the pokes. He ran away from Rachel for one of the tests this morning, but then was ok for the next one. I did pick up an automatic feeder on my way home from work to try to give some overnight food as was suggested on the PZI board.

As for the vet, I will have to get the records and then eventually see if there is anywhere to report an issue like this. I called the new vet's office/animal hospital I was interested in. They have the clinic and office hours, then the emergency pet care. I explained to the receptionist about Jack and what i was looking for. About half an hour later a wonderful vet called me back and reviewed things with me. She was VERY supportive of the home testing and said it was the only way to go. When I told her about the syringe problem with the other vet she agreed that was a big mistake. I felt very good about her and we made an appointment for next Saturday to meet her and for her to see Jack. I'll bring my spreadsheet and she said bring my meter and we make sure we are getting accurate readings. So I am very happy about that...and I know I can call anytime of day or night for help. Plus she has the same last name as us, so I am taking that as a good sign!

I plan on trying to get some much needed rest, that's for sure!
 
Are you holding his ears for a few seconds after each poke to minimize bruising? You can also use neosporin with pain relief to help out.

I don't know about your state, but our state Attorneys General Office has a number you can call to report professional misconduct. There is also a State Veterinary Board that you should be able to contact.

Glad you like your new vet better. She sounds like a keeper!
 
Hi Sue...yes we are using the rice sock to warm his ears then holding them after we poke. I just started using the Neosporin with pain relief more.
Thanks, I will look into the Sate Vet Board for sure. And this new one does sound like a keeper!!
 
Very nice #'s for Jack today. Glad you found a vet you like. They're not so easy to find sometimes.
 
Dearest Darlene, and, of course, you too, sweet furry puzzling puzzle Jack,

I have bookmarked Jack's spread sheet, and, quite frankly, am not sure there's enough chocolate in the world to deal with his cacophony of colors...

I have at least three or four drafts of posts to you, that simply got way-laid, sitting in my draft box...

Here's the link to the CT Vet Board, by the way: http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3143&q=388948 Scrolling down and reading the disciplinary action part is pretty interesting -- http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=31 ... v_GID=1830 ... Sometimes they don't get much beyond a slap on the wrist and a fine you have probably already paid for in vet bills; but, sometimes they get more... I humbly think it's worth pursuing if you do... I like Jack's new vet very much! She called you back, supports home testing, and has your same last name! Can we spell Good Karma?!

So, back to the sweet furry puzzling puzzle that is Jack... Please understand, I'm just humbly throwing this out there... Would you even consider changing his insulin? I'm humbly thinking Lantus or Levemir... No, you wouldn't be seeing those incredible drops he gets on PZI; but, you might be seeing a far gentler curve with lower PSs...

It's just a humble, perhaps gentler, thought for both of you -- and Rachel...

Much love and countless encouraging, albeit humble, hugs for you all,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Hi Deb...I have missed hearing from you! (By the way, did you check out my song on the Community board?)

So....yes, Jack's ss is quite colorful. Poor little thing is just all over the place. I actually was going to ask the question soon about how long do you give a certain insulin to work before trying a different type...or how do you know when to switch. But I did have it on my list to talk about with the new vet. We have an appointment with her this Saturday. I am hoping it is good karma with her too...she sounds wonderful so far! But gentler drops sounds good to me.
Thanks for the info on the vet board, I will check it out later when I am more awake and have eaten some chocolate. :-)

Hope you are well, and thank you for the hugs, Rachel, Jack and appreciate them!
 
Dearest Darlene, and, of course, you too, colorfully sweet Jack,

It's like 4am and has become my habit to look at Jack's spreadsheet when insomnia rules... There's just something about the stillness of the middle of the night that balances viewing all his colors...

He did have a nice, long blue run today! Making it to +8 still in the blues is a new personal best for him! And, then, poof... All gone... Sigh...

Just wish he got more duration... (I sighed already, right?)

If you are thinking of trying a different insulin, I humbly suggest you start a new thread and ask exactly that question or questions: "How long do you give a certain insulin to work before trying a different type? Or how do you know when to switch?" And, cross post it to the PZI Support Group... I'd be interested reading the responses...

Can't wait to hear how things go with his new vet! I'm guessing Saturday can't come soon enough, right?

Much love and continuing encouraging hugs for you, Rachel, and colorful Jack,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...

PS: Loved your song! Actually loved that whole thread...

PPS: CVS has the little bags of Cadbury Mini Eggs on sale: 2 for $1.50. You know, in case you're looking for a balanced breakfast...
 
So Deb, you will have another colorful day to look at at 4am when insomnia strikes!! How nice to know you are thinking of us at that time! I wish you were getting some sleep though. Today's numbers will make you scratch your head for sure.

I am anxious for Saturday to come for a few reasons...but I am certainly looking forward to meeting the new vet and hearing what she has to say. I actually just found out today that a coworker brings her asthmatic cat to the same vet and loves her.

Cadbury mini eggs sound good...I just have some Hershey Kisses now. :-)

Thanks for all your hugs and support for me, Jack and Rachel! I don't know what I would do without Rachel's help right now. She deserves an extra helping of chocolate.
 
Dearest Darlene, darling Rachel, and, of course, you too, furry conundrum Jack,

505 to 109 in three hours??? And, on 1 unit??? You're sure the vial says PZI, right? I'm speechless...










Okay, let's look at this from another angle... To the best of your recollection, what happened during those three hours? Meaning, was he playing hard/exuberantly with his furry buddies, or eating, or in a crazy mood? Or, did he take a really humongous poop? Or, toss a really gross hairball? How did he react when you started banging your head against the nearest hard object when the meter beeped that 505? (Guessing here...)

And, what's up with that auto feeder? It's brand new and shouldn't be unresponsive and getting stuck...

Well, I just got home from my part-time job and am going to get in my jammies and wait for a +6 or something... For all I know, Jack will be posting his own +6 or whatever with a little note saying Rachel has taken you to the ER to get Xanax via IV... Or maybe chocolate via IV... Maybe both!

It's not supposed to be like this, Darlene...

Much love and countless encouraging hugs for you all,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Is everyone okay?

I'm up because of the thunder and lightning and torrential downpour. But, hey, at least it isn't snow!

Hoping you're all okay and warm and dry,
Deb
 
So I went to bed around 11pm and Rachel checked the +6, so that's why it wasn't posted until now. :-) lots of heavy rain here too.
As far as the time span from 505 to 109, I wasn't home the whole time but Rachel was. He was acting fine, doing some play fighting with Tucker briefly. No signs of a gigantic poop...we are trying to keep more food out so he is snacking a lot.

I thought I had the auto feeder all set...the instruction sticker on the inside cover was peeling off and seemed to catch on the tray as it turned, making it stick. So I taped it on and set it for a few times with no food in it and it ran fine. So I put the food in it last night and set it to go off twice. I got up to go to the bathroom and checked it and it had gotten stuck again on the first feed. I advanced it manually, and then it did go off fine for the 2nd feed. Might need to bring it back for a new one.

He did give me a funny look when I threw myself on the floor when I got the 505 reading....then again at the 109 reading. I will need the psych ward soon at this rate! Maybe a Margarita IV instead of chocolate!
 
He did give me a funny look when I threw myself on the floor when I got the 505 reading....then again at the 109 reading. I will need the psych ward soon at this rate! Maybe a Margarita IV instead of chocolate![/quote]


oh the agony of defeat we feel when the high numbers scream out at us angry(2)_cat ....but they must'nt win Darlene...they must'nt. take it in stride and forge ahead. it is what we do...as mom's.
 
Dearest Darlene, God bless you Rachel, and, of course, you too, Sir Jack of the many colors,

Darlene & Jack said:
He did give me a funny look when I threw myself on the floor when I got the 505 reading....then again at the 109 reading. I will need the psych ward soon at this rate! Maybe a Margarita IV instead of chocolate!

Long ago and far away, my mom went through 63 days and nights switching between two hospitals for basically ten surgeries... My sister and I call it the year of The Foot; but, please don't tell mom we call it that... It was 2002.

Donna, my sister, is really good at finding food and figured every way to every food vendor in both hospitals -- and, the way back to mom's room. Me? I'm kind of a use the sun as my navigator girl and get horribly lost inside hospitals; and, as a result, would just kind of graze on mom's leftovers... At some point I realized she was ordering "food" she never planned on eating during my hospital visiting tenures, thus my grazing offerings... My dad used to do the same thing, so I guess she was pretty used to it...

Donna was horrified I was grazing off mom's tray. She actually drew me a little map directing me to fresh food and how to get back to mom's room without the benefit of using the sun as my navigator...

Hospital elevators are pretty interesting, as they have doors that can open on two different sides depending on whatever floor you hit the button for... But, of course, you know this, Darlene, because you are a nurse! (There is a point here...)

So, one day when I just couldn't even fathom grazing her leftovers, I told mom I was going for real food. Even offered to bring her back something sinful (yes, involving chocolate). Pulled Donna's crumpled map from my pocket and went foraging for fresh food and something sinful... Made a straight path to the cafeteria, got enough food for two meals, and headed back to mom's room.

Well, as previously mentioned, hospital elevators are pretty interesting... Somehow got off on the wrong floor with the different side of the elevator opening and was greeted by many people wearing hospital gowns immediately kind of clustering around me. I'm talking really way too close for the normal amount of space Americans generally prefer... So there I was clutching my two meals and something sinful for my mom, smiling, in an oh I'm in big trouble now kind of way... Actually had an incredibly quick conversation with God regarding please don't keep me here. He intervened via a nurse who noticed my visitor tag and immediately whisked me back on the interesting elevator...

My humble suggestion, dearest Darlene, is to say no to the psych ward. Margaritas could be a better alternative. And, yes, I went back to grazing off mom's tray until figured out stairs back to her room...





I am in awe of your brain, Darlene. And, your courage to reduce Jack's dose, not once, but twice. You know I humbly, yet firmly, believe his pancreas is not a goner... Nope. It's sputtering along just enough to make you think you're crazy; but, you're not...

Much love and countless encouraging hugs for you, Rachel, Jack, Tucker, Jordan of the two leg warmers; and, yes, the auto feeder,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...

PS: Aren't you glad you're not limiting Jack to two feedings a day? Hello pancreas!
 
Cute story about your run in with the psych ward...you're lucky you got out with your dinner and treat! I agree the margaritas are a better idea. Maybe a good idae for Saturday night after our vet appointment. :-)

I can't take all the credit for my brain, as Sue and Lori and the lovely ladies on the PZI board are trying to help me with the dosage. but after reading all the articles on rebounding it certainly seemed to make sense to decrease the dose a bit. And Lori...yes, I will overcome and do what I must as a kitty mom!!

As far as hugs for the auto feeder, I don't think that will happen. Today the cats seem afraid of it, lol. Jordan doesn't like to eat from it. Today I came home and Jack was just looking at the full helping in the little well that was exposed, then looked at me, rolled on the floor in his cute way and waited for me to get him more food. I scooped the food from the feeder into another dish and he ate it all up! I know they are testing me!! And I don't think I could ever have limited the poor little guy to just 2 feedings! I am hoping that pancreas will keep chugging along.
 
Dearest Darlene, God still blesses you Rachel, and, of course, you too, colorful and still sweet Jack,

I'm glad you're getting help from Sue and Lori and the lovely ladies on the PZI support group! It doesn't mean I'm still not in awe of your brain and courage, though... I'm talking metaphorical balls of steel regarding dosing your Jack...

Glad you liked the psych ward story... Was even glad-der I got out!

Darlene & Jack said:
As far as hugs for the auto feeder, I don't think that will happen. Today the cats seem afraid of it, lol. Jordan doesn't like to eat from it. Today I came home and Jack was just looking at the full helping in the little well that was exposed, then looked at me, rolled on the floor in his cute way and waited for me to get him more food. I scooped the food from the feeder into another dish and he ate it all up! I know they are testing me!!

ROFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!! This is not unusual for auto feeders. It's why I'm the "auto" feeder here...



Darlene & Jack said:
And I don't think I could ever have limited the poor little guy to just 2 feedings! I am hoping that pancreas will keep chugging along.

Hello pancreas!!!

Much love and continuing encouraging hugs for you all -- but, not the auto feeder,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...

PS: Still ROFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PPS: My mantra has always been: Without a sense of humor, we are lost...
 
Balls of steel, hmmmm....LOL I love that comment!

We'll see what the demonic auto feeder decides to do tonight....I just filled it.

BTW Deb, I just made a photo album in the gallery here. added some pics, but I will need to get some of Jordan's little mismatched legs to add to the album. :-)
 
Darlene that phrase is so common here, especially on the lantus insulin we just say BOS. It means shooting a scary number...which takes ummm, yep, balls.
you will learn we have lots and lots of funny abbreviations and expressions here.
an entirely different language some might say.
test and see if you can guess.
OTJ
Bean
Alien
TBP
Drink the Koolaide
The Falls

enough for now...that oughta keep ya busy......like you don't already have enuf to do :lol:
 
Dearest Darlene, young Rachel who we all love -- and, of course, you too, sometimes extra-sweet, sometimes not, it's a mood/pancreas/demonic auto feeder thing, Jack,

Darlene & Jack said:
Balls of steel, hmmmm....LOL I love that comment!
Remember the orbs were metaphorical... ;o)

Darlene & Jack said:
We'll see what the demonic auto feeder decides to do tonight....I just filled it.
Still ROFLMAO!!!!!!!! I swear...

Darlene & Jack said:
BTW Deb, I just made a photo album in the gallery here. added some pics, but I will need to get some of Jordan's little mismatched legs to add to the album. :-)
Well, now I certainly understand the wonder that is Tucker! And, the BFF reference... (Excuse me, but just what exactly was going on in that one photo op?) Am still looking forward to seeing Jordan's mismatched leg warmers... She's a beauty, by the way!

Much love and countless continuing encouraging hugs for everyone -- except the friggin demonic auto feeder,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Thanks Lori for the reminder on the dictionary, I had read through it a few times but I guess not as thoroughly as I should. I missed the BOS part! lol

Well, for some reason the feeder behaved last night and worked fine. Maybe it wanted your hugs and approval, Deb. But Rachel and I both missed the +6 reading as we were asleep.

Glad you liked the pics and could see Tucker's personality shine through. He is such a funny cat...he snores and snorts, makes weird noises, yells, says "Mama" but then can be the biggest cuddlebug. Now that jack has lost weight and Tucker is still 19 lbs, we do call Tucker Jack's BFF...but meaning his Big Fat Friend, hahaha. poor Tucker...I'm hoping the switch to wet food will help him lose a little and keep him from being a sugar cat too. Jack, on the other hand is sooo laid back and sweet, wanting his belly rubs and he has the sweetest little meow, so soft and quiet. He gets along with everyone. Jordan is Rachel's girl. She is attached to her like velcro!

Tomorrow is the visit with the new vet and I am very anxious to see how it goes. I have a list of questions but any other suggestions of what else I should ask about are welcome!
 
awwwww, how cute. Jack is a sweetheart and Tucker is quite a characture hm? are they brothers? And the little girl kitty, a sibling?
Beautiful set of furry children. Thank you...............
 
Dearest Darlene, darling Rachel velcroed to Jordan, Tucker who really should request one F be removed from BFF, and, of course, you too, apparently still sweet Jack,

Now the auto feeder is actually working; but, Jack decided he wasn't in a munching mood. Cats... Sheesh... Auto feeders... Scary sheesh...


Darlene & Jack said:
But Rachel and I both missed the +6 reading as we were asleep.

Let's recap. It took two nights shy of two weeks of the most bizarre and colorful dance with Jack -- and you and Rachel finally slept. Be still my insomniac heart... Progress!

And, now tomorrow brings the new good karma vet... More progress!!

Please give an update on Jack and the new vet when you can, okay? We'll be anxiously waiting good karma news...

Much love and countless continued encouraging hugs for one and all -- well, we're a bit iffy on what to make or if we should hug the auto feeder,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...

PS: Hi Lori, and, of course, you too, Tom Tom,
Glad you got to see the pics! Took me a while to figure out how to get there and actually view as well... Jack and Jordan are siblings. Tucker is Jack's best buddy...
 
Thanks Lori, we think our furry children are pretty cute too. I seriously don't know what we would do without them, they make us laugh and smile so much. As Deb said, Jack and Jordan are siblings, we met them at the shelter when they were only about 4 weeks old, and took them home a few weeks later. We got Tucker from the same shelter when he was 12 weeks old, and the woman who worked there said he would be able to stand up for himself and should fit well with the other cats. He took to jack immediately, following him everywhere, worming his way under his arm when he was sleeping, etc. They've been BFF's ever since. :-)

Deb...you are too funny with your salutations, lol. Auto feeder worked again last night...it's trying to get on your good side! And they did eat from it. It was nice to finally get a little more sleep the other night.

Numbers are still up and down, but not quite as wild in the swings as they had been. I will start a new thread with the vet update when we get back. Rachel is coming with me so she can be familiar with her too. The vet had suggested I bring my meter to the visit, so we can check the accuracy against their test, so I will be curious to see how the numbers are. I did go to the previous vet late yesterday (Banfield located inside PetSmart) and get Jack's medical records. The girl working there didn't even ask why, could have cared less that maybe we wouldn't come back. No warm and fuzzy feelings there.

Will post the update this afternoon...thanks again to all of you for your support....you are the best!!!! Lots of hugs to all of you!
 
Dearest Darlene, darling Rachel eating Wheaties in order to un-velcro herself from Jordan briefly today, Tucker still trying to figure out how to delete an F from his moniker -- and, of course, you too, Jack, who's whole purpose in life right now is to provide the most colorful spread sheet imaginable -- or simply be extra sweet,

Darlene & Jack said:
The vet had suggested I bring my meter to the visit, so we can check the accuracy against their test, so I will be curious to see how the numbers are.
Do bring your meter and test strips (and a color print out of Jack's spread sheet). Chances are it will be a leg draw (vein...), but just ask for a bead of blood anyway. Whip out your meter, shove in the test strip, and sip. Let the new good karma vet know his spread sheets have meaning. Truly. If all else fails, his spread sheet could explain the circles under your eyes and Rachel's eyes...


Darlene & Jack said:
I did go to the previous vet late yesterday (Banfield located inside PetSmart) and get Jack's medical records. The girl working there didn't even ask why, could have cared less that maybe we wouldn't come back. No warm and fuzzy feelings there.
This is exactly why you're taking Jack to the new good karma vet!

Will be looking forward to your update!

Much love and countless encouraging hugs for you all -- okay, maybe one hug for the auto feeder (It's a tough love auto feeder thing...),
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Hey Deb why does Tucker have to wipe out the F in his BFF? are they not best freinds forever???????
 
LOL Lori...because in the earlier post I said we call Tucker Jack's BFF, but meaning Big Fat Friend! Tucker is 19 lbs and rather large now compared to Jack's smaller size since he lost weight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top