Newly diagnosed

Status
Not open for further replies.

dlynn

Member Since 2011
I have read as much as my little brain can absorb today. Everything has been helpful so far. My Morpheus is a stray that we found in July. He was extremely malnurished, has been eating stones and tree bark which broke off most of his teeth. I was told he had worms and just needed TLC. Well, we did that and I suspected something else all along but believed this vet. (my old vet moved and left the practice). Went to a new vet today because I just knew... Well, he is in the hospital with a BG of 528. It is my understanding he will be coming home on Lantus. So our journey begins. He also has lung worms and round worms despite being treated x2. Just wanted to check in now because I know I will needing advise in the near future. Thanks!
 
Welcome. Bless you for rescuing this sweet little guy. If you have been reading, you know our protocol is very successful. We like wet lo carb food and insulin in doses that are determined by hometesting.

The good news is 528 in the hospital is not incredibly high. Kitties are usually stressed there because of all the noises and smells and their numbers can be 100 - 200 points higher there than at home.

Are you planning to hometest? If so, you can gather the supplies while he is away from home. The ReliOn meter from Walmart is very popular here as it is the least expensive with the less expensive strips. We also have a newbie kit you can send away for, if money is an issue. We all donate items and money to it so it can be sent to newbies in need. viewtopic.php?f=28&t=19541

Let us know how we can help.
 
I don't know what the vet has planned, but I do plan on home testing. It makes me nervous that I have 2 days week where I am at work for 12 hour shifts. I am thinking that (cough, cough) I may need to call in this week (cough, cough) :razz:
 
It might be a good idea to get sick for a few days when he comes home. It is helpful to have time to get the insulin and testing together before you are away during the day.

Hope your cough gets worse.... :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top