NEWLY DIAGNOSED

Status
Not open for further replies.
After a month or so of testing, when you have a pretty good idea of how the insulin works for him, you can start shooting at lower numbers - as long as you know you can test during that cycle.

Neosporin with pain relief can help with the ears. Just a very thin smear. Also, holding the ear for a few seconds after the poke can help with brusing. Their ears toughen up after awhile and become less likely to bruise.

Until cats are regulated and out of high ranges, they are literally starving. The food they eat isn't filling them up but instead is being using by the pancreas for the diabetes. So we do suggest feeding a little more and feeding smaller, more frequent meals. Adding warm water to the food helps make him feel filled up.
 
This is looking fine. The amazing thing about him is that he doesn't seem to drop super low. I can say now (didn't want to scare you before) that normally any insulin on an 80 would be dangerous. He only had 40 points to drop for a hypo and that could have happened very early.
 
Okay, tonight, time for a spreadsheet. I think Rhonda set one up for you, right? Is it on your computer? If so, it is easy to easy to put in your signature. Then it updates with any new data you add and we can see his history at a glance. Let me know if you need help.

One reason it is so important is that if you posted tonight for dose advice and said he was 300, someone who didn't know what had happened today might suggest a larger dose than would be best. (My thinking is that he is likely to be high because he is likely to bounce). We need to be able to see what has happened previously to give you good advice.
 
Ok I'm home and Riley is alert and acting really good, thank God!!! Ok so I will take his next reading around 6:30 and let you all know what it is and I want you to guide me. I have read that protocol several times but I someone was saying something about even if he has really high numbers to still give a low dose? I gave him his injection at 7:00 1 unit with 80 bg. never again. My husband said he gave him regular cat food hard at 8:45 and he ate a good bit. His bg was at 80 at 9:00 and 122 at noon. I opened the spreadsheet and now I have to figure out how to use it. Thank you everyone.
 
That was me. If he is high this pm, it will be because he bounced from the low. (If his body perceives a lower number than it is used to, it releases extra glucose and his levels bounce up). The 2.5 you gave last night was too much (am I right on that dose? See we need that spreadsheet) because it gave you a low number this morning and potentially a very low number overnight. So we need to forget about that dose and give him less.

If he is over 200, I think I'd try one unit. He should be safe with that and you can relax and not worry. I'll be home tonight and watch for your evening number when you post.
 
It would be better if you could just give him a little snack now in case you get a wonky number when you test at +12.

That is strange. Any difference in the amount of blood for either test? Too much or too little can mess up the test.
 
Ok he just ate a small amount of soft food I have to go to samslub and get more strips and I will check at 7:00
 
Okay I got a reading of 182 then 159 then 184 all within about 2 minutes. the 184 had most blood on it. I just fed him some hard food wd since he didnt eat any soft but a few bites. So I guess I gon't give him any prozinc?
 
Looks like he is somewhere in the 180s. What you can do is stall. Don't feed ( food raises levels) and retest in 20 minutes. If he is over 200, then you could try one unit
 
He just ate!!!! a small amount though. It was the only way he would let me take it agian.
 
Last edited:
Not over 200 mg/dl, so I would either stall 20 min without feeding and re-test, or skip.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
Last edited:
Not over 200 mg/dl, so I would ether stall 20 min without feeding and re-test, or skip.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
sounds great. I wish I had more time to do all this. I have my daughter after work and its so hard to get anything done. She doesn't like me on the computer to much. Shes 3
 
I will test tomorrow around 6 again? Or should I have my husband do it again when he gets home around midnight?
 
Im gonna go throw up now!!!:banghead: Ok so if the reading is over 200 tomorrow. Give 1 unit or more if its 300 or 400?
 
Your spreadsheet is all set up. I can add the new numbers to it.

Can you see it in your signature?

Up to you. He is most likely to rise. He shouldn't go lower tonight. Yes, test in the am before feeding. He is likely to be high, after 24 hours since the previous shot. But I'd still lower the dose to 1.5 or one, depending on whether your hubby can monitor and how high he is.
 
Okay I added the latest numbers. If you have time tonight, take a look. All those blues and greens look really nice today. He surfed along in lower ranges all day. He didn't bounce up and he didn't crash. Both are good things.
 
Okay I added the latest numbers. If you have time tonight, take a look. All those blues and greens look really nice today. He surfed along in lower ranges all day. He didn't bounce up and he didn't crash. Both are good things.
I'm trying to go in and put in this morning's numbers but for some reason its not letting me.
 
I went ahead and gave him two units with food. That was the dose that he originally was prescribed before they went up and he seemed to do fine on that but we will definitely monitor.
 
I went ahead and gave him two units with food. That was the dose that he originally was prescribed before they went up and he seemed to do fine on that but we will definitely monitor.
He did not eat after 930 last night and he did not get prozinc last night because his numbers were around 180.
 
Sounds good. My vet always said to wait 3 days before changing the dose because it takes their body a little time to adjust, unless the numbers went much lower.
 
Re the spreadsheet - are you using the one I sent you via email? The one in your signature is a read only. You can't add info to it. Also, be sure you are signed into Google first.

We'll see with the dose. He is high because you skipped last night. Your husband can monitor today for a while, right?
 
Re the spreadsheet - are you using the one I sent you via email? The one in your signature is a read only. You can't add info to it. Also, be sure you are signed into Google first.

We'll see with the dose. He is high because you skipped last night. Your husband can monitor today for a while, right?
yes. he was acting his best ever lastnight getting up on my computer like he used to? idk. This morning he was ok but after I gave him his shot about 30 minutes later he started limping slightly with his right leg. When he came back from the vet he couldn't even walk. Why is it sometimes he limps other times he doesn't.
 
Let me check for sure. So this morning you went into your favorites on your computer at home, opened up the spreadsheet and couldn't add anything? If so, I'll see what I can do today.
 
Let me check for sure. So this morning you went into your favorites on your computer at home, opened up the spreadsheet and couldn't add anything? If so, I'll see what I can do today.[/QUOTok I did go into my email and signed up for the spreadsheet but I tried getting into it today and it said it didn't recognize my password. Every thing is a freaken task with me! I will try again when I get a minute. my husband had to change my password and was trying to open it up but it never opened.
 
Ok. Start over. Go to the email I sent you yesterday. Click on the spreadsheet link. If it then says you need to sign onto Goggle, do that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top