Newly Diagnosed

Status
Not open for further replies.

cad

Member Since 2015
My youngest kiddo, Cilla, almost 17, was diagnosed about a month ago with diabetes (already diagnosed with hyperthyroidism under control with medicine). She has been prescribed Lantus and has know reached 8u's a day and her blood glucose levels are still very high, with a possible additional increase to 10u's a day and I'm frustrated and frightened at the fact that I simply cannot afford the insulin for her, without insurance, at the cost of 287$/100u vial which will be approximately every 10 days if another increase isn't needed. My eldest, Vanadium, just a few months past his 18th birthday, is having health issues at the same time that "should" be under control shortly with no further expenses in regards. How do you handle this? Even when Vanadium is well again, there is just no way to afford this expense and my heart is breaking at the thought of not being able to treat Cilla for this condition and I do not know how to move forward. My vet is very understanding that I have in fact not won the lottery or come into a large sum of money to afford an additional 900$/month but suggests switching to the pens when this vial is nearing empty and I'm not sure what the cost savings is, but even an additional 400$/month for just the medicine not counting test strips and thyroid medication etc. . Has anyone had experience with this that can offer some words of wisdom or advice? Even if this was medication for me, I wouldn't be able to afford it. I'm really lost and guilt is raging at trying to make a decision moving forward.
 
Welcome.
each 110 ml vial contains 1000 units, not 100 units. Per mil or per units, the 10 ml via is less expensive than the disposable pens. Usually the pens are less expensie overall since few cats can use up a 10 ml vial before it goes bad. However, with a dose like yours you should be able to use up a vial before it goes bade.

Do you have any BG values to share with us? A curve with a BG before shot and then at about 2 hours intervals til the nex shot would be good. Such information at different does would be great. Maybe you missed the the "right" dose.

What are you feeding? A low-carb canned is best. No reason for prescription food.

Does Chilla have any other health problems?
 
I've been monitoring her BG levels from the time she was diagnosed through the first insulin and daily since at least twice a day. On the 4u/2x/day, she is between 329-427 at the lower dose of 2u/2x/day and 1u/1x/day she was between 426-560 ( no different than BG when no insulin wad administered)
Cilla also has hyperthyroidism and is being treated for that with Tapazole (Methimazole) 1x/day and her numbers there are good. As soon as those numbers improved, the diabetes showed up. In August 2014, she had a BG of 170 that had been nearly same every year since forever. In November when she was diagnosed (2.5 months after starting the tapazole) with diabetes, she was at 475 that day.
She mostly eats low carb high protein canned food to maintain her weight, keep the thyroid in check, etc. as she lost 4 lbs between starting the tapazole and being diagnosed diabetic. She is still ingesting ridiculous amounts of water and urinating in accordance (kidneys are fine).
I see the mistake in my reading on the u-100 being per ml at 10 ml. Thank you.
 
Let's check the specific food(s). What, specifically, are you feeding? The package labeling won't tell you if it is less than 10% calories from carbohydrates.
Pop over to Cat Info and check the food list in the right hand column which says Protein, fat, carbs.
 
Last edited:
At the current dose what is a typical BG at shot time and again at about 6 hours? Try to find out how much BG drops if any.
Have you ever done a more detailed BG over time like every 2 hours? That vives a better indication how the insulin is working than just a before shot and at about 6 hours.

Many of us here record our BGs, dose and other info in a Google document. That way other users here can view it and see what is happening so as to better help you. Here is how to do that
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...te-a-ss-and-link-it-in-your-signature.130337/
 
Setting up a spreadsheet and filling in the readings would really help other members to offer advice. 8 units is a big dose and I wonder if cilia is dropping very low and the bouncing back up or maybe an underlying condition (besides the hypothyroidism )?

She isn't having any other issues? No sickness, peeing outside the box? Etc
 
I do have a list ongoing of all of this information. I'll get it setup hopefully this evening to share. In regards to "other issues" she does pee "outside the box" but she is inside the box when she's doing so. I have since built her new litter boxes out of plastic storage containers with a higher entry to avoid the overshooting and it's not a problem any longer. Apologies for the late delay, my cat that was sick, ended up being considerably more than sick and I lost him 2 weeks ago and have had a rough go of things. Right now, Cilla is eating only Fancy Feast Flaked Fish and Shrimp Feast which the list shows on the composition list as P:79 F:21 C:0. I've adjusted her insulin slightly and she is now at 4 units in the AM and 5 in the PM and she's ranging at about 230 (we're getting soooo close). As soon as I have the spreadsheet done, setup a signature, and link them, I will repost. Thank you all for your rseponses here. I need to get my girl's bg under control and it's helpful.
 
spreadsheet has been nearly completed. hopefully it helps moving forward. i know it will be good to present to her vet on her upcoming appointment, and makes more sense to me now seeing everything laid out. BJM - thank you, it is much appreciated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top