Newly diagnosed

Status
Not open for further replies.
ok, i will add that in the notes thanks..I notice now with this spreadsheet that 2 was too much for her but 1 is too little for her. do they have needles that would show 1.5 doses?
 
Yes, there are various insulin syringes available with half unit markings. Those are the smallest made. You want to look for 3/10 cc, 5/16" or 1/2" needle length, 29-31 gauge, with 1/2 unit markings on the barrel. I know the Wal-Mart Relion brand has the 1/2 unit markings. So do Terumos and some BD's I think.

Our shopping partner, ADW, in the link at the top of the screen has a couple different insulin syringes to choose from.

Would you be willing to update your user control panel and add your location of Bethelem PA to the profile? User control panel, profile tab, edit profile, location field, fill it in and submit to save. Optional but it helps us. I had to go searching through your posts to find out if you lived in the US or not, before I gave my syringe information.
 
ok thanks for the info, and i added my location

i forgot to update last nights dose and bg reading. i did not test after that as i couldnt stay awake.
i am going to try to test today at 3pm, before her shot at 10pm and two hours after that.
 
Morning. This morning she is at 153 amps. The vet sad anything over 150 and I can give her the 1 unit. Do you agree ?
 
If you do shoot, you will want to check around +5 hours after the shot to see how low the glucose is getting. And you'll want to have high carb food and Karo syrup handy in case you need to bring the glucose up a bit.

Here are instructions on How To Handle A Hypo, just in case you need to intervene.

Also information on Handling Low Numbers
 
When you shoot that low it's always a good idea to get a test in a few hours. You don't want him dropping too low plus its useful data because over time and as his pancreas heals, you should start to see more and more lower numbers and will need the data to know if and when you can shoot.

Wendy
 
Hi ladies. She is due now for insulin and bg is 135. Should I give her half of one or none ? She is eating right now so I know it will be rising
 
How late can you stay up testing and feeding her if she were to go low?

If the answer is not at all, then you might shave the dose 0.25 units (which you'd have to eyeball between 0.5 and 1.0).

As you collect test data, you'll be able to shoot at lower numbers with more confidence it will be safe.
 
Ya that's what it is. I'm afraid she will go too low and I won't be able to stay up. Ugh I think it's best not to shoot and just test when I get up. I rather that then her go too low, right ? Especially since I won't be up to watch her

Thanks again for all the help I feel like I keep coming on asking the same questions.
 
Please, keep asking all the questions you want and need to, as many times as you need to. It takes time to get a handle on all this information and start to feel comfortable.

"Better too high for a day, than too low for a minute."
 
Zoey831 said:
Ya that's what it is. I'm afraid she will go too low and I won't be able to stay up. Ugh I think it's best not to shoot and just test when I get up. I rather that then her go too low, right ? Especially since I won't be up to watch her

Thanks again for all the help I feel like I keep coming on asking the same questions.

That is a reasonable decision. I did almost an all nighter with Spitzer the first week and I have a sleep disorder. It was pretty grueling.

Sometimes, getting the same question answered different, yet correct, ways may help your understanding of the information. And sometimes asking the same question slightly differently brings out additional details.
 
Lets hope future low preshots happen during the day! It would be a shame if we lose any momentum or possible remission due to having to skip repeated shots.

Her numbers look so good I think her pancreas might be trying a bit. Remission isnt out of the question and I have hope for her - just need some more tests so we can tweak the dose if need be.

Wendy
 
The problem is we r going away for a few days and have my sister testing and giving the shots, makes me nervous. I didn't know if I should just stop all shots until I get back but now that you write her pancreas is trying maybe I should have her give zoey the shots. I am just nervous that she will go too low and I won't be here to watch her.
 
When I have others watching Mikey for me when I'm gone, I usually have them give a slightly reduced dose. He might run a little higher while I'm gone, but at least I know he's getting insulin (for the most part). Make sure your sister tests before every shot. If they have to skip shots because Michelangelo doesn't feel like cooperating for his test, then I'd rather have a missed dose than them shooting him when he's low. He also has a tendency to drop lower when I'm gone (he doesn't eat as much), so usually it only takes us a day or two to get back in business once I'm home again. A slight setback, yes, but better than him going without insulin for days at a time or him having a hypo while I'm gone.
 
me too - i reduce the dose too so maybe lower it to 1/2 unit?

Also

- give her a reference syringe with food colouring in it so she can refer to it.
- give her the vets emergency number/map
- print this link out for her and stick to your fridge. Go through it with her + leave a copy beside a hypo kit http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887
- give her this forum info for emergencies!

Also give the vet a credit card number and let them know you will be away

Wendy
 
The vet said to give her a insulin vacay for the day I am gone. But to have my sister check her, with her numbers dippin she said it might be risky and it's better to be high than too low. I will get in touch with you all when I get back, thanks
 
Ok I am back and started giving her her 1 unit friday night. she did really good while we were gone. The vet said to do another curve in two weeks and to call if she dips before that.
 
Welcome back!

Can you get a before bed test ( or a test 2-3 hours after the shot) next time you see a blue pre shot? I worry and wonder how low she goes those times and that might tell the vet if you need a dose change.I also wonder about bouncing.

Wendy
 
Sure next time I will do that when I see a blue number oddly it was over 300 again tonight Pre shot. I'm thinking it might be the kinds of good. I notice she is lower on chopped grill feast ff classic I think I justify add what kind of food to my log. Thanks again
 
The schedule I have her on right now is 10 and 10 so that's basically my before bed test lol. I might have to change her schedule to 8 and 8 but that's hard for me bc we usually are not home at those times. Running with the kids morning noon and night. And I have to stay on a every 12 hour schedule right ? On e school starts I might be able to get a better schedule
 
i could try that. maybe tonight i will give it to her earlier. will that mess things up? and then try to stay on that schedule.
 
Good thank you, she was a little low this morning and last night but she seems good. Acting really well, eating and drinking normal. I still have yet to get her on a better schedule
 
How is she doing? I saw you had to skip a shot last night because she was too low to shoot. If that starts happening more often, then it means it's time for a dose decrease! :thumbup
 
Please get some tests between shots, especially between 5-7 hours after the shot - even if it means setting an alarm at night. She may be going too low between shots, which means a dose decrease is warranted.

If you cannot test between shots until the weekend, please reduce to 0.5 units; I am concerned she may be going low enough to hypo and if you aren't able to test, you could come home to a comatose cat or worse.
 
Because she dipped? And I skipped ? Now she is high. I'm guessing bc I skipped ???? Now that I changed her to 7 and 7 I can start testing more.
 
It could be because of the skipped shot but it looks more like a bounce to me. The problem is, we don't know how low she's dipping until you can get some more mid-cycle tests. The schedule change should help with that. ;-)

Bounces
what are they and is my cat doing them?
When a cat is first diagnosed, the blood glucose has probably been high for a while. As the insulin starts to take effect and numbers start to come down, the liver has to learn to adjust to the lower numbers. We call this "liver training school". But before it relearns that low numbers are ok, when the BG drops to a number lower than the liver is accustomed, or if BGs drop low, or if the BG drops suddenly, the liver”panics” and reacts by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glucagon. This drives the BG back up. This is what we call a "bounce". Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear so we are generally careful about increasing doses during the bounce. Once the bounce clears, then you can see the "real" numbers and determine if the dose needs to go up or down.
 
I agree. Please try and get some spot checks in this weekend as well as preshots. Lets see how low she is going. Esp. around 5-7 hours after the shot and before bed. It would be good to get spot checks for 2-3 days in case the bounce holds around that long.

Any chance of a before bed test until then?

Wendy
 
Yes. I think I can get test in before bed now. I have her the shot at 7pm so I can test at 10pm tonight
 
Now you are home testing, the following may be helpful:

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first (mg/dL). Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters (mmol/L). Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mf/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
That is very good. :-D I hope she still has a bit further to come down into some green. if so, it will also keep her from climbing back up too high by pre-shot. She might be due for a decrease soon if you find yourself having to skip many more shots. :thumbup
 
I can't test hourly as I am waiting for my new strips to arrive today or tomorrow. If I had more I would
 
Shame. Next time though you see a blue I would get a test in an hour - you want to keep testing till she goes back up so you can see how low she goes.
 
so she is in blue again, 156, i will test again soon, just feed her but didnt give her the insulin.



Update 1 hour later Nd after she ate she is now at 313
 
Ok cool! If you maybe stall only 30 minutes next time (dont shoot or feed) you might be able to catch the rise before it gets that high. The less she rises the better so that it keeps her lower.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top