Newly diagnosed & worried about costs- advice needed!

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you skip it will drain the depot and tomorrow you can start fresh on 1 unit. I would still get a test at your usual preshot time though to see where he is and another before bed test if you can. the more data the better at this point..

You definately do not want to continue on 2 units. I think skipping tonite would be safest since you arent home tomorrow
 
OK, so I did another test an hour ago & Scamper's reading was 393. Just did another one (would be his pre-PM shot test) and he was up to 437. Do you still recommend skipping tonight's shot? That's so high... Please help!
 
Remember I told you he would "bounce" high and not to worry? ;)

We can certainly shoot 1unit tonite, and it would be preferable I am going to need a test again in a few hours, just before bed... Can you do that?

Wendy
 
Sure, I can test again, but I can also skip the shot if you think that's best. This is the first time I've seen a number so high, so it scared me. I guess too low is even worse, though, right? If I give him the 1 unit now, how many hours later should I test again?
 
Really I would prefer for you to give the shot. And test again in 2 hours and let us know. Since he is bouncing he probably will be high for the night but we need to check. Better safe than sorry as you discovered today.


Wendy
 
Here is definition of a bounce. Get used to them.. Most cats bounce for a while..


Bounces - what are they and is my cat doing them?
When a cat is first diagnosed, the blood glucose has probably been high for a while. As the insulin starts to take effect and numbers start to come down, the liver has to learn to adjust to the lower numbers. We call this "liver training school". But before it relearns that low numbers are ok, when the BG drops to a number lower than the liver is accustomed, or if BGs drop low, or if the BG drops suddenly, the liver”panics” and reacts by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glucagon. This drives the BG back up. This is what we call a "bounce". Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear so we are generally careful about increasing doses during the bounce. Once the bounce clears, then you can see the "real" numbers and determine if the dose needs to go up or down.
 
Ok, Wendy, thanks. I'll give him the 1 unit dose now & test again in 2 hours. Thanks so much for the support, help, advice, explanations, etc. I'm so thankful to have people like you to lean on!
 
We enjoy it!

I will be here in two hours.

Basic rule of thumb with lantus

If +2 is a lot more than pre-shot, than it's probably going to be an inactive cycle.
If +2 is similar to pre-shot, it's likely to be an active cycle.
If +2 is much less than pre-shot, it's likely to be a VERY active cycle.
BUT, there is that ECID thing. and kitties can surprise us and not follow the rules.
 
I'm so sorry! Fell asleep on the couch & missed perfect +2 time - this has been a crazy day... Going to test now & hopefully it will still work. Bless you for already putting an explanation of the different readings already!
 
+2.5 test is even better since you can already see the insulin kick in. It looks like he is slowly clearing the bounce, which can take up to 72 hours.

However I suspect he may clear it by tomorrow. If you can get a +6 or +7 I would set the alarm just to be 100%sure nothing unexpected happens like another drop low. It probably won't but will give you peace of mind.

Don't feed for two hours before shot time to ensure the preshot number isn't influenced by food.

Tomorrow if he is under 200, don't feed, don't shoot and come here and post. Then retest in 30mins. We don't like newbies to shoot under 200 until they have data to support it , and an experienced member coaches you through it.


Wendy
 
I'm so glad the +2.5 worked even better, but I'm sorry if you were kept up waiting for me! I'm afraid I fell asleep before seeing your last message & I slept right through the +6-7 numbers. Just woke & took a +10 and got 335, so I doubt I'll have to worry abt Scamper being under 200 pre shot. I'll definitely let you know in a couple hours, though! Thanks so much!
 
Thanks, Wendy. I gave Scamper the shot, but have to leave for awhile. I'm hoping to be back to test him again today, definitely for the +6 hour & possibly in between as well (if possible). I will keep adding the test measurements to Scamper's spreadsheet & hopefully I won't need your help as drastically as I did yesterday.

On a side note, is it normal for cats to develop dandruff as a side effect of any of the changes Scamper has had lately - food change, insulin shots, etc.? I noticed some flakes when petting him yesterday and again this morning...

Thanks again, Janet
 
Dandruff is a symptom of the BG numbers not being regulated for some time. It may get worse before it gets better.

Wink had awful dandruff, huge flakes the size of a nickel. And his hair was matted and skin was so dry and he lost hair in big chunks. It took a while, but his dry skin got better when he got switched to the wet food low carb diet and his BG's got under control. He now has a beautiful, shiny coat.
 
Thanks for the info, Deb! I'll look forward to no more dandruff somewhere in the near (hopefully!) future.

Scamp's +6 reading was 375. Not much change in today's readings so far with the lower dosage (1 unit for last 2 shots instead of the 2 units the vet prescribed). Thankfully I'm not panicky today since I didn't experience a very low drop like yesterday, but these numbers don't seem very good. Just keep going so the depot continues to fill, I guess?

Thanks, as always, for the tips, information, and guidance!
 
Patience... He is still bouncing from the low... Hold the dose for at least three days to let it settle in.. Unless he drops under 50 again..
 
Yes, I'm home today, so I'll get a +3 and a +6. I'm hoping to see something that continues to have me smiling! :razz:

Scamper absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVEs these freeze dried treats! He's already associating the ear tests to getting a treat & will come to me when I start prepping the supplies! Thanks for the help leading me to them - I was worried he wouldn't like them as much as his old, crunchy treats, but that worry was for naught! LOL

Thanks for keeping up with him (and me!).
 
106 at +3. Was planning to do another test at +6, but knowing it is prob going to drop more, should I do them sooner? :?
 
That's more than a 50% drop in 3 hours since the AMPS so, yes I'd definitely advise getting a test at +4.
 
Very nice. Now he might drop more (under 50 is dose decrease) or he might surf the blues, or go back up.. lets see! A +4 would be good.
 
My cat, this is the second time he has dropped into low levels, I think I would want a test at +5 just to be sure... Probably will be another blue but who knows since we don't have that much data yet.
 
Surfing in the blues today. Keep it up Scamper.

There is not a lot of past test data for Scamper to predict how he will do. Your choice. Test again at +5 and +6 or only at +6.

I'd feel safer with you doing both tests.
 
Since I have the time & supplies, I'll go ahead and do both +5 and +6. Scamper seems to LOVE the treat he gets afterward, so it's really just me that's feeling bad about poking him so many times! LOL It'll be better to have the info, I know.
 
+9 = 107! Not sure how you made that kitty dance, but I sure feel like dancing now!! Such a good day so far. :-D :lol: :razz:
 
Ok looking good but also looking like he might be heading to a low preshot test. I dont think you are ready for that as you dont have enough data to shoot low, so if he is under 200 we will ask you to skip the shot but get another test at +3. This will mean a higher than normal AMPS but he will come back down.

Read this too in preparation because you will need to learn to shoot low - just not yet. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Wendy
 
Scamp's pre-shot blood test was 140. Should I still skip the shot tonight? Going to read the info you posted now.
 
No, I don't have the ketone strips. I couldn't find where to buy them. If I already prepped the shot, can I just store it in the fridge (in the needle) to use tomorrow?
 
Urine test strips are generally available with the diabetic supplies in a human pharmacy. Sometimes you have to ask the pharmacy staff for them. Some smaller pharmacies may not routinely stock them.

Our shopping partner ADW carries them.
Diastix
KetoDiastix
Ketostix
 
Ok, thanks BJM. I will look for them when I go out in the next couple days for more testing strips - tearing through those at a VERY quick rate (only for now, I hope).

I'd alreay prepped the needle with 1 unit of insulin before I saw your message, Wendy, to hold off on the shot for tonight. Can I store it, as is, in the fridge & still use it tomorrow morning?

Also - I'm not sure I'll be able to stay up at +3 tonight, but will get as close as I can to that for another reading! Will also set my alarm to help (and hopefully I won't sleep through it). Thanks for the help, as always!
 
Its often easier to wake up from sleep if it is at a multiple of 45 minutes. This is because the average sleep cycle is about 45 minutes. Time your wake up for a multiple of 45 minutes after falling asleep to be awake and conscious enough to test at +3.
 
Ok cool. So have a nice sleep tonite as you never know what tomorrow will bring ;)

You should be able to get the strips at any pharmacy including Walmart, just might have to ask as they might be behind the counter.
 
348 pre shot BG. Administered 1 unit dose. I'm not worried (you warned me #would be high - you were right!)

Wendy, even though ReliOn is Walmart brand, they'll have the correct testing strips other places besides WalMart? But Walmart probably has the best price, I bet...

How often should I try to test the BG numbers today?
 
Relion brand test strips are only available at Wal-Mart. Either at the store or ordering on-line.

Arkray is the manufacturer of the Relion brand glucometers. The test strips for the Relion Confirm/Micro are interchangeable with the test strips for the Arkray Glucocard 01.

DCIN (Diabetic Cats In Need) was looking to switch their clients to another meter system. After research, this is what founder Venita had to say in this post: equivalency --- arkray and relion
Venita and Ennis93 wrote:Thanks so much to everyone for their information.

Using what I learned from you, I spoke to customer service at Arkray.
The Relion Ultima is not manufactured by Arkray. It is manufactured by Abbott. There is no equivalent Arkray meter.
The Relion Prime is manufactured by Arkray, and it is similar but not identical to the Arkray Vital. The Relion Prime and Arkray Vital strips ARE NOT interchangeable.
The Relion Confirm is the Arkray Glucocard 01. The Relion Confirm and Arkray Glucocard 01 strips ARE interchangeable.
The Relion Micro is the Arkray Glucocard 01 mini. The Relion Micro and Arkray Glucocard 01 mini strips ARE interchangeable.
The Arkray Assure meters are not sold retail. They are used in professional long-term care settings, like nursing homes.

And if you use the link at the top of the screen to go to ADW to buy the strips, this website gets a little bit of money to keep it going. Any shopping through Amazon or at Walmart will too, so I use the link whenever I can. Every little bit of money will help this website to keep going. We have fundraisers too.
 
No - you would have to buy them from walmart but thats the whole point since they are cheapest! I live in Canada, we dont have those here and I pay $50 for 100 strips if I can get a good deal. The relions are like half that price! Please use our affiliate links above if you are buying online though since a small proceed of the sale goes to supporting the board.


Wendy
 
Will do! Happy to contribute to this site since it has already been so, so helpful to me! Glad to find out there's a way I can help & get needed supplies at the same time. :razz:
 
Some bounce today, but not nearly as low as Tuesday. I did not have to administer Karo today, but was very surprised by the high pre-shot PM number. Felt confident in giving Scamper the PM shot since his number was so high. If you get a chance, take a look at his Spreadsheet and let me know what you think. Thanks!
 
The high PM pre-shot for today, 6/21 is most likely caused by those low green BG numbers you got midday. What we call a bounce. The body is not used to those low numbers so it reacts and pumps out hormones and glycogen to raise the BG's back to what it considers a normal range. It can take 72 hours to clear a bounce.

Be patient.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top