newly diagnosed with hypo incidents won't eat

Status
Not open for further replies.
@Cat Ma - I'd actually keep suggesting that @catmommy7 keeps using honey on gums as a precaution and get her cat to the vet (or, at minimum, phone her vet for advice). There are too many unknowns without BG readings and the symptoms don't sound good, especially the glassy eyes.

I can't stay on any longer. I'm really struggling with exhaustion. If you need support try posting a 911 on health and also on L&L. Suggested title: "HELP NEEDED - Possible Novolin Hypo in Progress - NO METER." I hope everything goes OK for Papoose.


Mogs
.
 
If you can get to an ER vet, that would be best.

Can someone else drive while you give high carb gravy or syrup?

If you gave insulin and he's in hypo again, you need to give 1-2 teaspoons of gravy or food with honey/karo/other syrup, every 20-30 minutes. It may not be enough.
 
It's very hard to regulate a cat on Novolin, @catmommy7. Please get Papoose in to the ER or vet. Don't ride out this Novolin roller coaster on your own. Figuring out and cutting back the dose on your own puts Papoose's life at risk.

Often, when a cat goes hypo on Novolin, one has to wait till the #'s go back up above 200 before giving insulin at a reduced dose. Occasionally the #'s never go back up, as they did in CJ's case. You can't know without home monitoring daily.

Giving insulin blindly without testing before shooting (giving insulin) will keep putting Papoose at risk for repeat hypo episodes.
 
Last edited:
BG was 68 this morning at the vet. No insulin since yesterday morning. Vet gave him medicine for nausea and an antibiotic (states he has fluid at the top of his abdomen and lots of gas in his digestive tract). She checked his mouth for any issues that may be keeping him from eating and found none. Vet says to lower insulin to 1 unit when I do give it. She wants to see him again on Friday. She states if the sugar stays as low as it has been, she will discontinue use of it. He purred the whole way home. He's happy to not be at the vet getting poked more. Will post more this evening.
 
Did you tell the vet about Papoose being lethargic and glassy-eyed last night?

Did your vet use a pet glucometer or lab equipment to measure your kitty's blood glucose today?

.
 
vet says to lower insulin to 1 unit when I do give it. She wants to see him again on Friday. She states if the sugar stays as low as it has been, she will discontinue use of it.

Did the vet say to hold off giving Novolin till you go back to the vet Friday? Papoose could very well be going into remission if her #'s continue to stay so low.

(states he has fluid at the top of his abdomen and lots of gas in his digestive tract)

Did the vet say what the fluid in the abdomen is due to? Do you know the name of the antibiotic the vet gave Papoose?
 
Papoose is still continuing to improve. He is looking better, although his eating and drinking are still a little sluggiesh. He has received one unit of insulin Wednesday, Thursday and Friday mornings only. He returns to the vet today for a check up. He ate a couple of times overnight (setting alarm clock every 2 hours and checking on him/3rd night of doing that). Definitely think we are moving in the right direction.
 
Very relieved to hear that Papoose is feeling better. He is blessed to have you to care so well for him. :)

I hope the vet check-up goes well. Do let us know later how you got on.



Mogs
.
 
Our vet told me it's foul-tasting. Some cats really froth and drool after it. I'd suggest posting a new topic on Feline Health asking for help with administering Flagyl.


Mogs
.
 
@catmommy7 Flagyl can be given as a shot and/or given as a liquid suspension and mixed in food. I believe it also comes in tablet form and can be crushed and mixed in food. I haven't had a cat that likes chewable antibiotics.

Please let us know how Papoose's visit went today.

@Larry and Kitties how do you give your cats flagyl (metronidazole)?
 
I place my metronidizole in a #3 gelcap and pill MurrFee. 1/4 of 1 250 mg tab of metronizole fits nicely.
Googling only shows IV injectable metronidizole.
 
Any pill can be surrounded by Pill Pockets to seal in the taste of the pill. Then you just poke it down the kitty's throat.

Are you having trouble affording a glucometer? Because there are ways to get you one if that's the stumbling block to getting you hometesting. Cats are notoriously hard to regulate their blood sugar and the only way to know with certainty what's going on inside Papoose's body is to test.

How did the appointment today go?
 
Appt was routine/generic, at best. The vet doesn't seem to be helping. Papoose's sugar, of course, is higher when he is there. Plus, he won't eat when he is there, so she is not getting accurate readings. I've decided to fight the battle at home. My sister had a diabetic cat and it advising and helping me along as her cat fought the battle for 3 1/2 years. Papoose is improving slowly. I still must encourage him to eat, but he is eating. Only giving 1 unit each day and that depends on the behaviors I'm seeing out of him. He was high yesterday morning before I gave the shot. Today, for the first time since the madness began, he was asking for his breakfast....great sign!!
 
That is great that your sister has a diabetic cat so she can help guide you through this and help you with home testing. We're here to help, too!
 
Appt was routine/generic, at best. The vet doesn't seem to be helping. Papoose's sugar, of course, is higher when he is there. Plus, he won't eat when he is there, so she is not getting accurate readings. I've decided to fight the battle at home. My sister had a diabetic cat and it advising and helping me along as her cat fought the battle for 3 1/2 years. Papoose is improving slowly. I still must encourage him to eat, but he is eating. Only giving 1 unit each day and that depends on the behaviors I'm seeing out of him. He was high yesterday morning before I gave the shot. Today, for the first time since the madness began, he was asking for his breakfast....great sign!!
It's great that your sister can help. Is she teaching you the home testing? And as @julie & punkin (ga) asked, are you having trouble getting a meter? There are ways to help.
 
Papoose has greatly improved. I think we are getting the hang of all this. We are on 1 unit twice a day and are well regulated. He's back to eating on his own. Thank you sooooooooooo much for all the advice and assistance through this.
 
It sounds like vet was giving insulin without checking BS first. That doesn't sound right to me. I would think any vet would check first knowing the cat is diabetic.

Anyway you have him home, he is better and eating, you will be monitoring him. That's what counts .

It can take time so don't get discouraged. My Smokey is all over the place with his numbers. I'm getting a lot of support here. Have a list of questions and now my chart to discuss with them in a couple of weeks when we go. You will get there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top