Newly diagnosed with diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.

RhondaSam

Member Since 2021
Totally blown away! My cat had a UTI and when I took him in for his follow up visit, he was diagnosed with Diabetes. He has just started his insulin regimen yesterday; I must say, he is a fantastic sport about taking the injections, whereas I am a nervous wreck about it! The biggest adjustment for him is/will be eating at certain times of the day. In the past, I always left food down for him all day and treats were plentiful.
So, I have done quite a bit of reading in regards to diabetes in cats; seems like low carb is the way to control it? What brand/style/etc cat food do you feed your diabetic cat? My ultimate goal is to get him off insulin all together some day; is this a realistic goal?
Any advice offered is greatly appreciated.
 
Hi and welcome Rhonda and Sam to the forum.
It is stressful in the beginning but you will soon find it old hat! Learning as much as you can will help you understand it all and make it much easier. We all started where you are now.
Would you like to tell us a bit about Sam.
What insulin and dose he is on?
What you are feeding him? Did he eat dry food before diagnosis?
Here is a chart with suitable canned foods . Look for 10%or under carbs?
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

There is no need to restrict the times you feed him. That is old thinking

We recommend feeding him before the dose of insulin....how long before depends on the type of insulin you are using.
Then offer a couple of snacks during the cycles around +3 and +5 (3 and 5 hours after the dose of insulin).
If you are home testing the blood glucose you would don’t feed for the 2 hours preshot so the BG is not food influenced.

Have you thought about home testing the blood glucose?
It is the best way to keep Sam safe?
Here is a link to home testing.....we can help you get started. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

Not all cats go into remission. First you need to get them regulated and the best way to do that is to home test the BG so all the guess work is taken out.
Also feeding a low carb diet is as important.
For treats you need to find some low carb treats as most treat are high carb.
Freeze dried treats and foods are suitable.

Make sure you have a hypo kit set up
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

If you can tell us the insulin he is on, we will be able to give you more information.
Keep asking lots of questions
Bron
 
I certainly hope this becomes "old hat" for me. Sam doesn't seem to mind me giving him an injection; I however, struggle with it. For the past 2 injections I have had a hard time poking thru skin to get the needle into him. He is quite patient and just sits there while I try.

The insulin prescribed is Prozinc. The first day he was diagnosed, his glucose level was a bit over 400. The vet said he is not overweight and his diabetic state is due to genetics. (?)

My vet instructed me to feed and then give him his injection twice daily. I was instructed to let Sam eat for about an hour, then give him his insulin right after he eats. Before the diagnosis, Sam ate mostly wet food and, every once in a great while, he would have some dry food. Since his diagnosis, I have gone thru his canned foods and weeded out all the hi carb foods. (went from approximately 100 cans of food to about 20 that are low carb). I have documented the cat foods on the list on the catinfo.org website that I can buy locally and that will be what I get for him from this point forward.

I will definitely have to look into freeze dried treats as Sam enjoys a treat in the evening. Can you recommend any good brands? I have seen PureBites and they boast they have only 1 ingredient in their treats. Good choice?

As for home testing, I am NERVOUS about that; I am struggling to give him injections (having difficulty getting the needle into his skin). Any advice on how to make giving the injection less painful (for me? As I said, Sam doesn't seem to mind). I've been grabbing a patch of skin, making it into a "tent" and then poking thru the tent door, but the last 2 times, this has not worked well. I would really like to be able to test him at home so I would have the most current information on his levels.
 
Hi Rhonda
I’m not sure where you are giving the injections but there are a few spots to give it. Often the scruff can be tough.
upload_2021-4-30_23-2-27.jpeg


Are you giving snacks during the cycles?
With the treats you can take a photo of the ingredients and we can tell you if they are are ok.
I don’t live in the US so am not sure about suitable treats.
I’ll tag @Diane Tyler's Mom, she may know some suitable treats.

With home testing it sounds as if Sam is a very patient boy. It is just a matter of practice and you both getting used to it.
Try humming or singing while you are giving the injection or testing...it is surprising how it helps.
Here is a link to home testing. I would get a human meter as they are much cheaper to run than a pet meter and our dosing methods are based on the human meter. If you live in the US, Walmart has the ReliOn meter which is inexpensive and reliable and you can get the lancets and test strips there for that meter as well.
You will also need some lancets to prick the ear.....get size 26 or 28 gauge. And some cotton balls to hold behind the ear when you test.
Link to home testing https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

Here is a picture of a cats ear and where to prick
upload_2021-4-30_23-12-47.jpeg


Here is a link to using pro zinc. Now that you have swapped over to a low carb diet, Sam’s BGs could be lower so that should be a big incentive to start testing him to keep him safe. You forgot to tell us the dose of prozinc.
Link to using prozinc https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-the-prozinc-basics-please-start-here.164995/
Keep asking questions
Bron
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-4-30_23-2-27.jpeg
    upload_2021-4-30_23-2-27.jpeg
    52.3 KB · Views: 193
  • upload_2021-4-30_23-12-47.jpeg
    upload_2021-4-30_23-12-47.jpeg
    79.2 KB · Views: 275
This morning I was trying to give his injection in the side of his chest and the needle just wouldn't go in; I moved it over a smidge and got it in. When I try to do it in his flank, he flinches and meows, so I think that hurts him a bit more. Normally, he is a very patient boy, but I cant really blame him for getting inpatient with me when I can't do it quickly. I pray for the day this becomes second nature to me. I want to go for the least painful and easiest spot to aim for

As for treats, after the diagnosis, I didn't give him any treats as I was sure the ones he had been getting are high in carbs. I stopped at the store and got him PureBites and he seems to like those. (By the way, Pet Supermarket has PureBits at 10% off until I believe this Sunday). Sam only likes crunchy treats so these work out well; I tried to attach a photo of the package to this post, however, it told me I was unauthorized to do so. The Guaranteed Analysis shows: Crude Protein 74% min, Crude Fat 3% min, Crude Fiber 1% max and Moisture 5% max. Calorie Content shows Metabolizable Energy: 3709 kcal/kg and Average treat: 2 kcal/.5g I will definitely look for the bigger bags now that I know Sam likes these. You mention buying the ones for dogs as it is more cost effective; I notice the guaranteed analysis is very slightly different on the ones for dogs than it is for cats. Will that make much difference in feeding them to a cat?

Home Testing: going this weekend to get testing equipment. Thanks for the tip on where to get it from; I would have never guessed a human meter would work for a cat (then again, I would have never guessed a cat could get diabettes...this is ALL very new to me!!)

Sam went to the vet today for a follow up. His initial diagnosis was on 04/27 and his BG was 407. Today it is at 341. He is on 3 units of Prozinc.

Thank you EVERYONE for the information and guidance. This has all been VERY overwhelming for me and the more I know, the better I feel and the more confident I am that I can take care of my baby boy and he can live a happy and long life with me. I am sure you all understand, Sam is my world. He is my best buddy; Sam and I actually have conversations daily (ok, so I talk to him and he looks at me like I am crazy!). Sam is 9 years old (10 in September; yes, he has a celebration for his birthday each year). So a huge THANK YOU to everyone!!
 
I not sure about the dog purebites, I can tag a few members who might be able to tell you
What did you get the chicken flavor?
I just tagged a member about the purebites for dogs
Looks like they will be fine, I found a post from her awhile back if you look below and she bought the ones for dogs



Rhonda you should set up a signature, it's at the end of everyones post in gray, see mine
It's information about Sam so we won't have to keep asking you the same questions over and over again if you need help

I will give you the link for it
@RhondaSam
 
Last edited:
We also have a spreadsheet we use to keep track of our kitty's numbers
If you need help with dosing we need to see how the insulin is working for Sam and how low it's dropping him
I will give you the link , if you have trouble setting it up we have members here that will do it for you, just ask
The link will also explain how the spreadsheet works
Tap on mine it says Tyler's spreadsheet, it's at the end of my post, he is in remission right now
 
@JanetNJ
Hi Janet the reason why I tagged you is because I told Rhonda to get the putebites freeze dried treats and told her if her cat liked them then to buy the bigger bag for dogs and break them up
If you read her post#9 she was questioning if the ones for dogs are OK for cats because she said the guaranteed analysis is slightly different

So I did a search and saw you had posted this awhile ago
These were one of her favorites. PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ( Packaging May Vary )https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P7M2HG/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20. I actually bought the ones for dogs because it's cheaper per ounce. Half my cats like them and half don't, so maybe try one of these cat sized bags. There's different flavors of pure bites too. I also used to give cold cuts or chicken or catnip.


So it's OK for her to get the ones for dogs?
Thanks Janet

Rhonda is new I asked her to do her signature and set up a spreadsheet, her cats on Prozinc
 
I think I added a signature line correctly now.
As for the spreadsheet, my vet had something similar so I got his and added to it so I can include at home testing results.
Thank you so much!!
 
I think I added a signature line correctly now.
As for the spreadsheet, my vet had something similar so I got his and added to it so I can include at home testing results.
Thank you so much!!
That's fine, you may want to add when you start home testing that you will be using the Relion Meter.
If you ever want to set up our spreadsheet just ask.
If it wasn't for this group of experienced members I would have never gotten Tyler in remission. I have to say they know more than most vets do.
I love my vet but I taught her a few things about dosing, how much to reduce , how much to increase and when , and much more.
Vets don't get that much training when it comes to diabetes.

One more question are you using syringes with half unit markings, we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time. We don't increase by whole units because you may go past the correct dose that may be working
@RhondaSam
 
The syringes we are using have half unit markings on them (It shows 2 then a short line, then a longer line, then another short line, then 4)
 
Welcome to FDMB!!

When Sam was diagnosed with a UTI, did the vet put him on antibiotics? Just an FYI, any infection or inflammation can cause blood glucose (BG) numbers to rise. The UTI may be inflating your cat's numbers. It would be very helpful if the vet had done a fructosamine test to confirm the diabetes diagnosis. (This test is similar to a human hemoglobin A1c -- it's an average of blood glucose over a several week period vs. a single test that can be influenced by vet stress, infection, etc.) It is a good idea to get started testing as soon as you can since if the antibiotics kick in, your cat's numbers could drop.

Remission means no insulin. Your cat becomes a diet controlled diabetic so you still need to maintain a low carb diet.
 
I used Lantus and then Levemir, so I am not experienced with ProZinc. Please read over the guidance on using ProZinc here. I think 3 units is a much larger than normal starting dose. I would try to start testing as soon as possible. Please set up the spreadsheet and link it to your signature, so that we can help you. Also, please print out the information regarding hypos and keep it with your hypo kit, for just in case.
 
@JanetNJ
Hi Janet the reason why I tagged you is because I told Rhonda to get the putebites freeze dried treats and told her if her cat liked them then to buy the bigger bag for dogs and break them up
If you read her post#9 she was questioning if the ones for dogs are OK for cats because she said the guaranteed analysis is slightly different

So I did a search and saw you had posted this awhile ago
These were one of her favorites. PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ( Packaging May Vary )https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P7M2HG/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20. I actually bought the ones for dogs because it's cheaper per ounce. Half my cats like them and half don't, so maybe try one of these cat sized bags. There's different flavors of pure bites too. I also used to give cold cuts or chicken or catnip.


So it's OK for her to get the ones for dogs?
Thanks Janet

Rhonda is new I asked her to do her signature and set up a spreadsheet, her cats on Prozinc
I buy the one for dogs. It's a bigger bag. The pieces are bigger so I just break them up
 
Yes, Sam was on antibiotics for the UTI. He finished the cycle of the antibiotics on a Saturday (04/24) and was diagnosed on a Tuesday (04/27) with diabetes and started insulin the same day. How long would the antibiotic stay in his system and affect his blood glucose? I will have to ask the vet if he did a fructosamine test; we go back this coming Friday. Actually, it's been less than a week and he has gone to the vet twice so far since his diagnosis. I take him back again this coming week. Is that what you are referring to by doing an average blood glucose?
Thank you again for all the answers to my questions. I am really quite clue-less when it comes to anything medical. This has been a real eye-opening experience.
 
Unless the antibiotics had sugar in them, they should not raise the BG. It’s the infection or inflammation which will raise the BG.
The average blood sugar Sienne was referring to is the fructosamine test. The fructosamine test is an average of the last couple of weeks BG levels and is a good way of diagnosing a diabetic cat. It is not affected by stress.
A cat’s BG can rise from stress at the vets. So if the vet took a one off BG test to see what the BG was at that time (not a fructosamine test), it could have been raised from stress. Does that make sense?

Have you thought any more about home testing the BG?
With the UTI treated, the BG could be dropping and unless you are testing you won’t know.
 
His antibiotic was quite sweet tasting so I assume it had sugar in it, but I am not certain.
After the infection/inflammation went away, how long afterwards would it take for the BG to go back to its normal state for Sam? (if there was no infection and his BG was xx, how long after the infection would it take for his BG to get back to xx)
I am definitely going to talk to his vet about the fructosamine test. I am interested in that.
I am working on getting the supplies for the home testing; my local Walmart did not have the meter in stock, so I am having to look elsewhere.
 
You can order the Relion Prime on the Walmart site and the test strips
Get 100 test strips
The lancets you can pick up at any pharmacy , Walgreen's or Walmart
They ship very quick
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top