? Newly diagnosed - Wet spot when giving injections

Status
Not open for further replies.
Try adding a little water and microwave for a second and offer from a spoon. If you have spaghetti cheese sprinkle some on it.
 
I did the water and microwave thing already but I will try the spaghetti cheese. He's never eaten that before. What would the ketones test look like? I have his tests.
 
The Taurine is recommended for heart by the Heart Group on Yahoo.

He still not eating. This is scary. He always eats.
 
Some things you want to get when you can get to the store.

Ketone urine dipsticks. Ask pharmacist they will help you. You want to test daily.

Karo syrup or honey for times they get to low.

Baby food-meat make sure there is no onions or garlic. Beechnut and Gerber are good brands.

A feeding syringe, one without a needle. You can water food down a little and give it that way.
 
He ate a couple of bites of the Hills DD Duck. Not much at all, just a nibble.

I have baby food he turned that down. Thats his favorite. I also have the feeding syringe and the Karo.

He looks like he feels so sick.
 
His vet is an Emergency Vet. They are open 24/7. At this hour I think I could get there pretty soon. I think they will keep him overnight until the curve test tomorrow.

He doesn't look like his stomach is gurgling or anything but he has only turned down food once in his life that I can recall. When he had the 14 oz of fluid in his chest. I don' think thats whats happening now but he has to feel pretty bad to stop eating.
 
I don't want to leave him there for the night but at least I would know he's being cared for. Thoughts?
 
I'm out of ideas for you. But if its the same vet that says to dose once a day, I wonder. Do you think they will listen to you if you request 1u twice a day. Except Lantus is a depot insulin and takes time to fill up.

One other idea. If you think you can continue to get small amounts of food in him. I might go with half unit tonight. It's possible it could lower him enough to eat better, but it is risky. If not I think maybe the hospital then.
 
They will not give him the twice a day. His vet is not there and they will not do it without her OK. What is the risk? That he would get too low?
 
I would not give Teddy insulin if he's not eating and you don't have a meter to test him. With a heart kitty as you know there are way to many variables. Always better they are in high numbers rather than too low for even a minute.
 
They will not give him the twice a day. His vet is not there and they will not do it without her OK. What is the risk? That he would get too low?

Karen, she is testing just started though. Only got one or two readings. I'm at a loss as far as helping her now. Any ideas?
 
Cheryl, can you put the question mark in your title make the first word help. It will get more people here to help you.
 
What do you think about me syringing some food down his throat?

If I take him now. It usually takes a few hours there, so It would be 1AM before I leave to come home. I would have to leave home tomorrow at 7AM and take him back there again for the curve test. He is drinking water but still no food.
 
By all means give it a try.

Can you put the question mark up. I have to sign out.

@Doodles & Karen , can you help for awhile. I can't stay on. If nothing else maybe a half dose, what do you think?
 
He had that on Wednesday. I always have them do the kidney test because of the lasix. I also had them to an ultra sound of his belly which was clear.
 
What do you think about me syringing some food down his throat?
If you're comfortable syringing food and waiting until tomorrows vet visit I think that is fine. I'm not comfortable saying it's OK to give him insulin if he's not eating. We don't have enough information/data on Teddy. If you think it's an emergency and he's really not feeling good if it were me I'd be off to the ER.
 
Do you think it will be OK if he does not eat until tomorrow? Or is that really bad for the Diabetes?

Maybe he would eat in the night? He is sitting up now and acting alert. Still turning down all food so far.
 
It's never a good thing when they don't. He'll likely have high sugar but it's better than him being to low. When was his last insulin shot?
 
This morning at 6:45 AM 1 unit. His blood sugar was 417 when tested this afternoon. Down from 445 at around 10AM
 
Ok, I'm more concerned about Teddy not eating than him having high blood sugar until your appointment tomorrow. You are with him so as long as he is acting normal otherwise and you don't think it's a heart emergency he should be fine until the morning.
 
Great news! Success with plain canned tuna. He's eating!!! No I just have to get his lasix and vetmedin down him and we are set until morning.
whew!
 
Ok good. See how your appointment goes tomorrow with requesting the twice daily dosing. Once you have the spreadsheet set up we will be able to help you and Teddy with his diabetes. At this point, just skip his shot tonight, get a good nights rest! :bighug::bighug:
 
I cannot tell you how happy I am! We have spent hours and hours at his vet this last week. So thrilled to not go back there until tomorrow morning. Thank you so much for your hand holding and help. I'm truly grateful!!!
 
Hi Karen,

Teddy was OK through the night and seemed pretty alert this morning. However, he wouldn't eat anything, even the tuna he ate last night. I couldn't give him any of his meds and ask them to do it at the vet hospital.

He needed to be at the vet for his curve test at 8AM today. I'm supposed to pick him up at 5:30 tonight. I just called and asked them for current status.
Not only do I want to know how he is doing, but I like to remind them that he is very loved and his owner (me) is very attentive. I think I'm hoping they will pay extra special attentions to him. :)
The assistant will call me back.
 
Hi.

I just checking in. It will be sporadic tonight. Trying to get my dad to find papers we need. Seems he has short attention span.

Any ways, how did teddy make out at the vet? Remember to get copies off all the records. I saw he ate last night that's good
 
Hello, Woodstwife.

We just got home from the vet hospital. Teddy was there all day. The vet said, he has a lot of low blood sugar. I'm going to ask that they send me his curve and records from today. Plus she said his potassium was a little low (3.0 ?) but she didn't want to supplement yet. That's not good for his heart. Is there something I can give him thats easy to raise his potassium? His insulin dose will be 1 unit twice a day. They said they don't know why he stopped eating. They force fed him today so that he could take his meds and insulin. He's taking an appetite stimulant and he is eating like crazy. I hope he gets his own appetite back again. He's little stumble and wobbly on he back legs but otherwise looks ok. His next dose of insulin is in a couple of minutes.
 
I wonder what they consider low for blood sugar. Be interesting to see the results.

Good news on having an appetite again. Regarding potassium maybe googling will provide some answers. Or the cardiologist might be who to ask.

The legs should get better as the insulin starts helping. Also the Zobaline works well

http://www.ilifelink.com/zobaline-for_diabetic_cats-3_mg_x_60_tablets.html

I started Smokey on it when his legs started showing weakness. It does take time to start working. Quite a few people here use it.
 
Had to bring Teddy to emergency!!!!! Low sugar. Meter just said lo

Gave him Karo syrup and rushed him to emergency. We are still here.
 
Last edited:
I am desolate. I have been giving Trddy the wrong dose of insulin. Where he should have had one unit I gave him ten. I'm hoping and praying he will be ok. He will be here at the hospital for the next day or so. I have no words for how bad I feel.
 
Cheryl, You got him to the ER in time that is what counts. You tested him and took immediate action, great job. They will probably put him on a sugar drip and monitor.

Breathe honey, he is where he needs to be.
 
They didn't want to give him the drip since the fluid would be bad for his heart, but they had to do it. I am praying he is OK.
 
It might be to early yet to know, but are they thinking of keeping him there 24 hrs? It will take time for that insulin to get through his system and there will be the depot to take into consideration.
 
Yes, they said he would be there for a while. The emergency doctor just called and said that he has been up and down and that every hour he goes low. They have been moderate with the drip because of his heart but she feels we need to be more aggressive and increase. She said she feels more comfortable since his heart has been ok so far. She did he is not stabilized. His doctor will be arriving in the next few minutes (to the vet).
 
This could go on 12+ hrs. That depot has to drain out, so teddy will continue to drop if drip is stopped until the depot is drained.

As you are aware when you give karo it is only a very quick fix and sometimes you have to give it for hours. Teddy had 10 times more, it's going to be a long night/day for you and him. There was one kitty here back a long time ago where it took over 16 hrs to stabilize.

I'm going to get back on the road and head home. I will check in later. Prayers for you and Teddy. As I said it's going to be awhile, remember to breathe and try to keep calm.
 
Your kind words are appreciated. How much of a depot do you think he has? He's been taking the insulin for a week. Is that a lot? Knowing that time frame is helpful. I took him in at about 1am pst.
 
I just spoke with his vet and she thinks he will make it. His BG has been 118 and he's eating. They will keep him another night and maybe into the day tomorrow. We can visit him tonight. I'm so relieved. I want to talk to the vet about the vet tech who showed me how to do the insulin. I take full responsibility because he is my baby and it's up to me to keep him safe but I want to figure out how I got such a wrong impression on the dose. I am the overly vigilant type.
 
Cheryl, glad to hear he is better. Another night is not a bad idea. One thing is to take a syringe you use in with you and make sure it's the correct syringe. Lantus should use a 100u syringe. If using a 40u syringe would require a conversion of dose. A lot of people, maybe even the tech who showed you don't realize that and it happens often.

How many times did Teddy get 10u?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top