Newly Diagnosed - Urinating and pooping on floor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Callie's Mom

Member Since 2017
Callie, my sweet ten year old Maine Coon mix, was recently diagnosed with Stage 2. Approx. 2 weeks ago I noticed her paws were getting covered in litter, her pee "balls" were massive and she was laying by her water fountain. I also noticed she started to get skinny (could feel her back bone).

Callie came to us as a rescue at 8 years old, was dumped at a high kill shelter and 2 days away from being euthanized.

She's on one unit of insulin twice a day (unless my shift prevents the second shot) getting 85/90 % diet of proper wet food, and has a spotless litter box. I've started switching over to the corn based litter, as it's lighter and won't stick as much and added some "Cat attract" to it. She used it a couple of times, but now pees and poops all over the floor by the box. There's no blood in the urine, nor is she doing any of the usual symptoms of a UTI.

Is this normal? I don't know what to do......

I use vinegar, as well as Fizzion to clean and deodorize, but I don't get it.
 
I'm mixing it slowly....in with the regular clumping litter. I started the switch because she was doing her business outside of the box.....

It's so odd, she used it a couple of times then stopped. I've read that some kitties get an aversion to the box when first diagnosed because they associate the box, not the disease with the dirty paws. Strange tho, she wasn't peering outside the box prior to going on insulin.

Her BG at the vet was 28 (504 in US numbers).
 
Has she been checked for a UTI?
If her blood glucose is high she may just feel really crappy - no pun intended - and that might make her go outside the box. Another thing to consider is the height of the sides of the box; is she showing any signs of neuropathy in her back (or front) legs that might make getting in and out of the box a challenge for her?
 
She had a full work up at the vet....no UTI.

I have one of those corner boxes, with high sides and little dip in the front for easy access.

Maybe I need to put a step of sorts in front to help?

I've noticed she appears to have issues jumping on the couch like she used to...sometimes she doesn't make it. She no longer jumps up in the bed.....used to be at my feet all the time.
 
Are you home testing to know what her numbers have been like since starting insulin? Also, what dose and what insulin? Is she Stage 2 CKD? I know you're asking about the litter issue but it's good to have some extra background information. That's what we setup signatures for (light grey text after our posts): http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/editing-your-signature-profile-and-preferences.130340/

Sounds like she does have some neuropathy. My boy stopped coming upstairs, much less jumping on the bed, the first month or so. A step or ramp might help her get in better for now. Getting her BG numbers under control will help her the most. Maury has been coming upstairs and sleeping in bed with me again, most nights :)
 
I'm not home testing at this time. She's been on Insulin since the 30th of March. I'm due to take her to the vet and have her curve checked.
 
So, after looking over this forum like a madwoman, I went out and purchased the B12 supplement that is mentioned here. I gave her the first 3000mcg/3mg dose yesterday.

I scrubbed the bejesus out of the gym/cat bathroom floor (smells like a massive French fry from the vinegar lol) and bought some puppy potty training pads.

I've lined up the pads in the spots she frequents, so that I have less scrubbing to do. I've also made a little step, of sorts, by the entry to the litter. Her 17 year old step-sister seems appreciative of that as well.

Keep your collective fingers crossed....I noticed she's walking on her front ankles/wrists a lot and, not fully, on her hocks.

She's using the puppy pads, but the amount seems to be lessening. I'm hoping after a month or so of insulin and b12 she will be on her way to getting a bit better.
 
Last edited:
So, after looking over this forum like a madwoman, I went out and purchased the B12 supplement that is mentioned here. I gave her the first 3000mcg/3mg dose yesterday.

I scrubbed the bejesus out of the gym/cat bathroom floor (smells like a massive French fry from the vinegar lol) and bought some puppy potty training pads.

I've lined up the pads in the spots she frequents, so that I have less scrubbing to do. I've also made a little step, of sorts, by the entry to the litter. Her 17 year old step-sister seems appreciative of that as well.

Keep your collective fingers crossed....I noticed she's walking on her front ankles/wrists a lot and, not fully, on her hocks.

She's using the puppy pads, but the amount seems to be lessening. I'm hoping after a month or so of insulin and b12 she will be on her way to getting a bit better.
Best wishes. A great product I've found for cleaning cat urine is called Anti Icky Poo... I like the unscented one.
 
So I've been giving Callie 4mg of B12 every day in her food. She actually was able to jump onto the bed for a cuddle a day or so ago and has been climbing the cat tree.

My concern is that she seems to be walking on her hocks more and limping more. Her pees have gotten smaller (still on the pee pads) and lessened in numbers.

I guess I'm worried that, even though she jumped on the bed and seems to be peeing less in quantity and frequency, her walking seems worse.

Any advice?
 
So I've been giving Callie 4mg of B12 every day in her food. She actually was able to jump onto the bed for a cuddle a day or so ago and has been climbing the cat tree.

My concern is that she seems to be walking on her hocks more and limping more. Her pees have gotten smaller (still on the pee pads) and lessened in numbers.

I guess I'm worried that, even though she jumped on the bed and seems to be peeing less in quantity and frequency, her walking seems worse.

Any advice?
It sometimes takes months to resolve this. B 12 will help but you need to get her levels down. The real key to reversing neuropathy is getting her blood sugar levels under tight control. If you set up your spreadsheet we can help you with dosing. Blindly shooting 1 unit isn't helpful if it isn't enough. Please let us help you test at home.
 
Another concern I have is I work 3 rotational shifts, which means I have to adjust her dose times. IE - on days it's before work in the morning and after work in the afternoon (actually, I've enlisted the assistance of a pet sitter who is a registered vet tech to administer the second shot as on days it's near impossible for me to get home in that 12 hour window). On afternoons, it's mid afternoon before shift and early morning (1a/3a) after. Nights it's later evening (8p) and early morning (8a).

I know that doing the shots at same time each day is preferred but I just don't have that option. I try to slowly adjust the timings on my days off to make it as much of a gradual change as I can.

I'll admit I'm still very new to this and still working my way around the injections, never mind the self testing.

I guess I'm concerned that my horrible shift schedule is going to negatively impact her recovery.

Also, I'm looking into the Young Again ZERO mature food for her and her sister. Since I can't always be home to give her wet food and she likes to eat her sister's Urinary SO. Figure it would be the best for both of them.
 
Last edited:
So I haven't been on here for a bit. Callie got upped to 2 units twice per day about a month a half ago.

She continued to do better and better.....smaller pees, less pees, more mobility in her hind legs (thanks to B12), muscle tone and weight coming back, fur becoming shinier/softer/thicker and overall more energy (even chasing after her sister here and there to give her a swat on her tush).

About two weeks ago, I noticed she was beginning to jump up on the couch on her own again. Not every time, but any time she did it I took it as a win.

This past Sunday morning, at around 2a, I heard this banging in my closet, only to find my poor little girl having a seizure. All I could do was hold her, get some coconut oil onto her gums and just cuddle her. She came out of it (after peeing all over herself - gave her a light bath) and eating right away. So I take her to the vet........

My heart break turns into joy as her blood glucose is at 6.1 (109) and vet believes seizure was caused by the fact she has gone into remission and her second dose dropped her far too low. I get a full blood work up done and cease insulin (as per the vet) until I hear back.

Today I got the results and find out she's in remission. Doc says to hold off on the insulin for next week, continue to 100% wet food diet like I'm doing and come back for a retest. I'm so happy.

She's still got some weakness in her hind legs (using pee pads), but everyday she jumps up on the couch more and more, so I will continue to give her B12, her wetfood and exercise. I'm so happy that that early Sunday morning heartbreak turned into good news. I'll update next week after she's been OTJ and gets her glucose rechecked.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1468.JPG
    IMG_1468.JPG
    53.6 KB · Views: 86
Wow. Glad you caught it.

Do continue to test this week. Get an idea of what a day in the life of Callie not on insulin is because BG numbers run higher at the vet's, and you'll need to be able to show the vet some non-stressed numbers.

Being in remission does not mean that you can start feeding higher carbs or dry. It is important that you keep the same food plan, or the numbers will start a spiral. Once a diabetic, always a diabetic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top