Newly diagnosed, skipping too many shots, please help!

nslade001

Member Since 2018
Hi there,

My cat Willow (17yo) was pronounced diabetic from a urine sample I brought to vet for testing for UTI on Saturday the 10th.

Went in on Monday and all other blood tests and abdominal x-rays were normal.. Absolutely amazing to me, as I'd thought she was in chronic kidney failure for years due to pupd.; BG was almost 30. She was extremely stressed. We brought her home and back to clinic for testing her curve through the day. Vet wanted to start her on a "rounded up" dose of 3 units caninsulin twice daily (after we said we wanted to start low and were switching her to low carb) but we said 1 unit, which she was ok with.

So, I've been testing at home and we've skipped the last two injections because she was under 11.1, and if the trend follows she'll be under tonight.

What do i do? Keep skipping doses? She's not "normal range" but too low for insulin?! Lower dose twice daily ( currently supposed to be on 1 unit twice daily)?? Please help.

She was moved over completely to low carb canned yesterday (friskies and fancy feast)... I'm stopping friskies and will keep her on Fancy Feast only.

Other notes: she's not obese. The last few months have been stressful due to us caring for a parent with Alzheimer's (lots of different nurses in and out) and fostering greyhounds. She's been on a high carb wet diet most of her life with some kibble. She had IBD for the first half of her life. The past while she isn't pooping regularly (we've *just* started working on that). And, we're packing house to move next week, a 12 hour drive (over 3 days) to a new home. So stress to come.

Thanks so much, with love,
Nikki
 
we said 1 unit, which she was ok with.
Good for you! Three units is far too high at the start especially if it's based on stress inflated numbers at the vet clinic.

So, I've been testing at home and we've skipped the last two injections because she was under 11.1, and if the trend follows she'll be under tonight.
Willow is responding really well to the insulin. Having a low PS today after no shot last night is amazing! You definitely need to lower her dose and it's possible she might end up to be a diet controlled kitty. How about trying to eyeball 0.5 units tonight IF she's under 11 tonight? It's guesswork so early in the game. If your syringes have half unit marks you could even try eyeballing 0.25 u to see how she does with that.
 
Good for you! Three units is far too high at the start especially if it's based on stress inflated numbers at the vet clinic.


Willow is responding really well to the insulin. Having a low PS today after no shot last night is amazing! You definitely need to lower her dose and it's possible she might end up to be a diet controlled kitty. How about trying to eyeball 0.5 units tonight IF she's under 11 tonight? It's guesswork so early in the game. If your syringes have half unit marks you could even try eyeballing 0.25 u to see how she does with that.

Hi Kris, thanks for responding.

I was going to try to get some 100 unit syringes tonight in case I had to lower her dose; my chart says:

To give 0.4 units caninsulin draw to 1 unit in a u-100 syringe, and

To give 0.2 units caninsulin, draw to 0.5 units in u-100 syringe.

So just barely over the 0.5 unit in a u-100 syringe should be around 0.25 units caninsulin? Is this correct?

And is it safe to give this if she's reading below 11.1? How often should I check through the night?

Thanks so much for responding.

With love,

Nikki
 
Oh! Forgot to add I tested urine this afternoon and got trace ketones. Appetite is fine, eating everything we give her.
Nikki
 
Hi Kris, thanks for responding.

I was going to try to get some 100 unit syringes tonight in case I had to lower her dose; my chart says:

To give 0.4 units caninsulin draw to 1 unit in a u-100 syringe, and

To give 0.2 units caninsulin, draw to 0.5 units in u-100 syringe.

So just barely over the 0.5 unit in a u-100 syringe should be around 0.25 units caninsulin? Is this correct?

And is it safe to give this if she's reading below 11.1? How often should I check through the night?

Thanks so much for responding.

With love,

Nikki
If you get U100 syringes and use them with the conversion chart, don't bother trying 0.25 u. Give 0.2 u instead. Once you switch syringes put the U40s away somewhere so you don't make a mistake. It's too early in the game to know how she'll react to insulin if the PS is below 11. With trace ketones I'd want to give something, though. If you can monitor more often and have lots of test strips, honey or gravy style high carb food, try 0.2 u (on a U100) or 0.25 u (on a U40) if she's in the 10 - 11 range.

Test again for ketones if you can.

OMG! I just saw that you're in Nova Scotia! I'm in Ottawa but one of my brothers lives in Truro. :)
 
If you get U100 syringes and use them with the conversion chart, don't bother trying 0.25 u. Give 0.2 u instead. Once you switch syringes put the U40s away somewhere so you don't make a mistake. It's too early in the game to know how she'll react to insulin if the PS is below 11. With trace ketones I'd want to give something, though. If you can monitor more often and have lots of test strips, honey or gravy style high carb food, try 0.2 u (on a U100) or 0.25 u (on a U40) if she's in the 10 - 11 range.

Test again for ketones if you can.

OMG! I just saw that you're in Nova Scotia! I'm in Ottawa but one of my brothers lives in Truro. :)

Lol I went to college in Truro, and am moving to Prescott next week... Family there and in Ottawa :)

So, ½ unit on u-100 syringe. Ok.
Just tested and pmps is 10.8.
also just tested ketones and its negative-trace.
How often should I test?
Thanks so much,
Nikki
 
Lol I went to college in Truro, and am moving to Prescott next week... Family there and in Ottawa :)
Nikki
Prescott!! My horse is stabled not far from there and my horse vet's practice is based there. Small world indeed! :smuggrin:

So, ½ unit on u-100 syringe. Ok.
Yes. Think of it as the 0.5 u "mark" on the U100 and record it as 0.2 u on your SS.

Just tested and pmps is 10.8.
also just tested ketones and its negative-trace.
How often should I test?
Interesting! No insulin in 36 hours and she's this low? If the 0.2 u gets her to the 5 to 8 range you're laughing! Get a +2 for sure if you give 0.2 u. It can be a useful predictive test for what the cycle might bring.

It's very hard to distinguish the negative from the trace on the ketone strips. If she's easy to catch in the litter box test more frequently for now.
 
Awesome thanks. Yes, I'm *really* hoping she goes to a normal range on a very low dose, hopefully just diet.
Will get a +2 and probably +3 or +4.
Thanks again!
With love,
Nikki
 
Hi, so her pmps was 10.8. I gave 0.2 units.

+2. 11.4
+3. 10.3
+4. 10.0

She's been ultra quiet and depressed today, and pupd again (started yesterday). Also restless and uncomfortable tonight, getting up from bed and going to floor in corner, and back to bed. Pretty much all the same behaviors as developed before diagnosis.

So, since there was some response but not much on 0.2, would it be safe/fine to up her to 0.5 twice daily in the morning if she's at her "usual" 12ish BG? What if she comes in at under 10 like this morning? I just don't know what to do... (her initial dose was 1 unit twice daily).

I'm always home and able/willing to monitor closely.

Thanks so much, with love,
Nikki
 
Amps is 9.1 .... Should we keep her on 0.2?
Thanks!
It's hard to make a decision based on just a few numbers. You could leave her at 0.2 u today, increase to 0.4 u because you're home with her or you can eyeball half way between the marks on the U100 to give her 0.3 u - that's the beauty of microdosing using U100s! :)

She's a very pretty girl!
 
It's hard to make a decision based on just a few numbers. You could leave her at 0.2 u today, increase to 0.4 u because you're home with her or you can eyeball half way between the marks on the U100 to give her 0.3 u - that's the beauty of microdosing using U100s! :)

She's a very pretty girl!

Thanks, we're sort of fond of her :)

We gave 0.4 units, hope to keep her on that twice daily the next few days to see how she does. I just don't like having to change or dose, or skip it, especially so early in the game when my experience and confidence are zero.

Will monitor and update through the day, go to library later to update SS.

Won't be able to update SS tomorrow as library is closed. I hope it's ok to keep updating thread?

Also have to look into b12 for suspected neuropathy.

Thanks, with love,
Nikki
 
Thanks, we're sort of fond of her :)

We gave 0.4 units, hope to keep her on that twice daily the next few days to see how she does. I just don't like having to change or dose, or skip it, especially so early in the game when my experience and confidence are zero.

Will monitor and update through the day, go to library later to update SS.

Won't be able to update SS tomorrow as library is closed. I hope it's ok to keep updating thread?

Also have to look into b12 for suspected neuropathy.

Thanks, with love,
Nikki
Yes, keep updating here.

People in the US order a supplement called Zobaline (B12 plus folic acid) online. Shipping to Canada is very expensive. You can get her a human supplement at a pharmacy. Look for the methylcobalamin type of B12, not the cyanocobalamin. You also want unflavoured, non-time release (won't dissolve) tablets that are 1200 mcg (1.2 mg) to 2500 mcg (2.5 mg) in dose. Don't worry about the folic acid for now. The Zobaline is 3 mg per tablet so that's the dose you want to aim for roughly. The unflavoured tablets are tasteless to kitty and will dissolve very easily in a little water added to wet food.
 
Yes, keep updating here.

People in the US order a supplement called Zobaline (B12 plus folic acid) online. Shipping to Canada is very expensive. You can get her a human supplement at a pharmacy. Look for the methylcobalamin type of B12, not the cyanocobalamin. You also want unflavoured, non-time release (won't dissolve) tablets that are 1200 mcg (1.2 mg) to 2500 mcg (2.5 mg) in dose. Don't worry about the folic acid for now. The Zobaline is 3 mg per tablet so that's the dose you want to aim for roughly. The unflavoured tablets are tasteless to kitty and will dissolve very easily in a little water added to wet food.
Thanks! Was just looking at Jasper's big orange site :) was wondering about the folic acid.
Very good to know I can dissolve the tabs in her food!
Willows attitude is a million times better than last night, up and in living room, looking for attention.
With love,
Nikki
 
Hi, so today so far is as follows:
Amps 9.1
Gave 0.4 units caninsulin
+2. 7.9
+3. 6.1
+4. 5.9
+5. 6.2
Pmps 9.3

!!! :) I think it looked good
Tonight will be giving 0.4 and monitoring.

Also, ketones negative today.
Attitude was tired, but not uncomfortable. Definitely more alert/interested than yesterday.
And pupd down again.

Went to library to update SS but couldn't. Have to figure out how to find it... I could go to the signature link and *see* it but not add to it. Could anyone help me with that?

Hasn't pooped today, but had a fairly good poop yesterday and a button last night. I'm not sure if her discomfort stems from constipation since she's so irregular or her (suspected) neuropathy. We've started her on clearlax (equivalent of miralax) 1/8 tsp through the day.
Can't get anything for neuropathy since Canada Post stopped taking anything at the border.

With love,
Nikki
 
Lovely numbers! Stay at 0.4 u for now. I'm not sure about the SS. You need to be working with an editable copy - I'm not well versed in those details. @Djamila? @Yong? Any chance you might have a home computer at some point? Some people do it on their smart phone.

Keep looking for B12 (methylcobalamin) at pharmacies. All you need is an unflavoured version and a time release type is acceptable if you get a pill crusher to break it up and then dissolve it.
 
Went to library to update SS but couldn't. Have to figure out how to find it... I could go to the signature link and *see* it but not add to it. Could anyone help me with that?

You have to login to your google account in order to edit. So when you click the link to open it, then in the top right corner there will be a little blue "sign in" spot. Type in your username and password and you should be able to edit.

upload_2018-11-18_6-13-30.png


If you have a smartphone, download "google sheets" from the app store, and then you can edit the spreadsheet on your phone.

Hope that helps! :)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2018-11-18_6-11-44.png
    upload_2018-11-18_6-11-44.png
    107.5 KB · Views: 385
You have to login to your google account in order to edit. So when you click the link to open it, then in the top right corner there will be a little blue "sign in" spot. Type in your username and password and you should be able to edit.

View attachment 40449

If you have a smartphone, download "google sheets" from the app store, and then you can edit the spreadsheet on your phone.

Hope that helps! :)
Thanks! Will try this tomorrow.
With love,
Nikki
 
Lovely numbers! Stay at 0.4 u for now. I'm not sure about the SS. You need to be working with an editable copy - I'm not well versed in those details. @Djamila? @Yong? Any chance you might have a home computer at some point? Some people do it on their smart phone.

Keep looking for B12 (methylcobalamin) at pharmacies. All you need is an unflavoured version and a time release type is acceptable if you get a pill crusher to break it up and then dissolve it.
Hi, yes we'll... Will be starting a new thread in a moment about our hypoglycemia scare. My mistake.

I got a link to a store in Canada I may be able to buy from on another forum :) thanks!
With love,
Nikki
 
You have to login to your google account in order to edit. So when you click the link to open it, then in the top right corner there will be a little blue "sign in" spot. Type in your username and password and you should be able to edit.

View attachment 40449

If you have a smartphone, download "google sheets" from the app store, and then you can edit the spreadsheet on your phone.

Hope that helps! :)
@Djamila ,
Hello, I am so not computer savvy and incredibly frustrated!
I am at the library trying to edit my spreadsheet...it is not happening. no sign in button is coming up. I can *view* it, but that's all.
I followed the instructions to create it exactly (I had to, as I have absolutely no idea how to do it otherwise!) . The librarian got me to open google drive and log in to view my files, but it says there are no files.
Is it possible if I wasn't signed in to google drive when I created it, it wouldn't have saved to my drive? but where would it be?!
If you can help in any way, I would greatly appreciate it!
With love, Nikki
 
@Djamila ,
Hello, I am so not computer savvy and incredibly frustrated!
I am at the library trying to edit my spreadsheet...it is not happening. no sign in button is coming up. I can *view* it, but that's all.
I followed the instructions to create it exactly (I had to, as I have absolutely no idea how to do it otherwise!) . The librarian got me to open google drive and log in to view my files, but it says there are no files.
Is it possible if I wasn't signed in to google drive when I created it, it wouldn't have saved to my drive? but where would it be?!
If you can help in any way, I would greatly appreciate it!
With love, Nikki
Actually imay have possibly got it lol. Thanks!
 
There's only one Bg on "Willow's Spreadsheet Take 2". On the original I can see all your data up to and including Nov 16 but there's nothing after that.
 
Hi, yes I didn't have time to finish the second one (the library was closing). And the first I messed up so I can't add any data! So I was leaving the first up until I get a chance to update the 2nd, which I *can* edit lol.
 
When you were at the library, did you access your SS through the link in your signature? If so, that's why you couldn't edit it. You'd have to go to Google Drive and sign in, then find the SS in Sheets on Google Drive and open it from there for the editable copy. :)
 
@Kris & Teasel

I hope your appointments went well :)

So, new day, new dilemma

I apologize for not having my SS finished, I know this is a horrible hassle. Hopefully tomorrow, now that I have it started correctly!


So yesterday was her 1 unit am shot after amps of 13.6, followed by her too-close-for-comfort dip to 3.9 at +3.

Last night pmps was 13.6
0.4 units caninsulin
+2 was 11.4
+4 was 10.2

Today's amps was 12.6
+2 was 7
+3 was 6
+5 was 9.4
Pmps is 8.2

And her appetite *was* improved through the day, but she's pretty much refusing supper. So she ended up eating her normal daytime amount of just over 1 can FF by 2 pm, and a small chicken in water snack at 5pm, but nothing since.

I'll post this in hopes you'll get it before shot time, because I don't know what to give.

With love,

Nikki

 
When you were at the library, did you access your SS through the link in your signature? If so, that's why you couldn't edit it. You'd have to go to Google Drive and sign in, then find the SS in Sheets on Google Drive and open it from there for the editable copy. :)
Hi, yes that's what I did at first. But then the Librarian guided me to Google drive, but there were no files there. So I'm thinking I never signed in to Google drive when I made the first SS because I didn't know I had to, but someone else must not have signed out of their Google drive. So they now have Willows chart access :)
 
@Kris & Teasel

I hope your appointments went well :)

So, new day, new dilemma

I apologize for not having my SS finished, I know this is a horrible hassle. Hopefully tomorrow, now that I have it started correctly!


So yesterday was her 1 unit am shot after amps of 13.6, followed by her too-close-for-comfort dip to 3.9 at +3.

Last night pmps was 13.6
0.4 units caninsulin
+2 was 11.4
+4 was 10.2

Today's amps was 12.6
+2 was 7
+3 was 6
+5 was 9.4
Pmps is 8.2

And her appetite *was* improved through the day, but she's pretty much refusing supper. So she ended up eating her normal daytime amount of just over 1 can FF by 2 pm, and a small chicken in water snack at 5pm, but nothing since.

I'll post this in hopes you'll get it before shot time, because I don't know what to give.

With love,

Nikki
To be clear: you gave 0.4 u this AM, right? The low PMPS could be from not eating much or else the 0.4 u dose is a bit too high. I wouldn't give it on a PS of only 8.2. It's early days to be dosing on PSs much lower than 11 but you might try 0.2 u or an eyeballed 0.1 u tonight. Get a +2 this evening for sure.
 
Hi
To be clear: you gave 0.4 u this AM, right? The low PMPS could be from not eating much or else the 0.4 u dose is a bit too high. I wouldn't give it on a PS of only 8.2. It's early days to be dosing on PSs much lower than 11 but you might try 0.2 u or an eyeballed 0.1 u tonight. Get a +2 this evening for sure.

, Since she ate her usual amount this morning (just over longer time) I dont think it's that, but it may be. We couldn't get supper in to her.
I'll give her 0.1units so she at least gets some insulin, and monitor closely.
I'll give her a famotidine injection in an hour as well (I don't know if you read my other post on the main board about the multitude of meds I've gathered for our trip to Ontario?)

Thanks so much, with love,
Nikki
 
Hi @Kris & Teasel ,

So last night pmps was 8.2
Gave 0.1 unit insulin
+2 was 10.4

Also gave 1st injection of antacid famotidine.

She ate *well* last night, devoured 1/2 can at 10 and ate rest by hand feeding before midnight.

Was quite uncomfortable, went to her crate at bedtime.

This morning came in bed and * purred*!!! The antacid must have made a difference!

Will give Cerenia injection a bit after caninsulin.

Today's amps is 9.3.

Only ate maybe 1/8 can.

Dose advice please? * See below*

I'm so sorry, I'll get the SS utd today if at all possible!

* Edited to add gave 0.4 units*

With love,
Nikki
 
Last edited:
Hi @Kris & Teasel ,

So last night pmps was 8.2
Gave 0.1 unit insulin
+2 was 10.4

Also gave 1st injection of antacid famotidine.

She ate *well* last night, devoured 1/2 can at 10 and ate rest by hand feeding before midnight.

Was quite uncomfortable, went to her crate at bedtime.

This morning came in bed and * purred*!!! The antacid must have made a difference!

Will give Cerenia injection a bit after caninsulin.

Today's amps is 9.3.

Only ate maybe 1/8 can.

Dose advice please? * See below*

I'm so sorry, I'll get the SS utd today if at all possible!

* Edited to add gave 0.4 units*

With love,
Nikki
I'm sorry I wasn't around - had some other early things to see to. I see you gave 0.4 u. Get a +2.
 
@Kris & Teasel ,
Hi again. Please don't apologize, I'm grateful for whenever you're available :)

+2 was 6.8

She hasn't eaten much for all that she started out feeling better. Ate some by herself, then I spoon fed some more. Gave Cerenia SQ at 9:35 so I'd really have liked a positive result. Instead she lay on the hard floor a few times, then hid under the bed for the first time.

Will wait another half hour and try feeding again, if not interested or improved I think I'll start the bupe.

Do you have any knowledge/experience with these drugs? I'm wondering if it would be better to give the antacid in the morning as well instead of at night...

Thanks so much, with love,

Nikki
 
I've used Cerenia when Teasel has been off his food. Most recently (May/June - he was very ill) I used ondansetron (brand name Zofran, a human drug for chemo nausea) for nausea. I learned about it here on FDMB. Some here have used it along with Cerenia because the two target different nausea receptors. We usually say tackle the nausea first because that can get them eating. If that alone isn't working add in an appetite stimulant. I've given mirtazapine in the past but some cats react negatively to it. This last go around I gave Teasel cyproheptadine, a human antihistamine that stimulates appetite. Again, learned that here. I'd say that the ondansetron/cypro regimen worked fairly well for him.

Good hydration is very important when they're not eating. The "perfect storm" for ketone development is not eating, dehydration from lack of food, vomiting or diarrhea, inflammation or infection somewhere and insufficient insulin causing high BG. High BG isn't Willow's issue. She might have the makings of a pancreatitis episode. Is she showing signs of pain or discomfort like meatloafing? Pancreatitis is common in FD kitties and the treatment is for symptoms. Adding the pain med to the Cerenia can help a lot, along with good hydration and maybe an appetite stimulant.

I've never used antacids in my kitties so I can't advise on that.
 
Thanks again.
So she had the Cerenia injection, and did eat some after (but that might have also been the type of food, chunks not Pate and she hasn't turned chunks down yet.
But she was still going to the floor, and went under the bed twice, so we just gave her oral bupe.
As long as she is eating, I'll try to avoid the appetite stimulant.
Last night I was reading more (I really haven't stopped) and sooooo many symptoms seem like pancreatitis...But she's not meatloafing, she does sleep and rest on her side. It's just the going to lie on the cool floor, and now the hiding in crate and under bed.
I also have been noting her ears are hot, and I have no problem getting blood samples even if she's been lying in a cool room. Ive never needed to heat them. I read that may be hypertension.
I can't remember if I asked you, and I plan to post anyway, but do you know if there's an order/protocol to give these drugs in relation to each other and feedings?

Thanks, with love,
Nikki
 
Update: The spreadsheet is completed!
Unfortunately, I started writing in the us chart, so erased that and wrote in the world chart; apparently i didn't need to erase it, because i messed it up for us readers. I'm useless when it comes to computers.
 
You did a great job getting the spreadsheet up so don't be so hard on yourself. :) You're not the first person to type on the wrong sheet and won't be the last. The tabs should really be in the right order on the template to prevent this from occurring. :rolleyes: When/if you go to the library again, you can move the world sheet to the first position and the US sheet to the second position by just dragging one or the other to order them the way you want them.
 
@Kris & Teasel
Hi, today was amps 9.3
+2 was 6.8
+4 was 9.9 (gave bupe 50 minutes prior)
Pmps is 8.9

Appetite has been iffy but she eventually will eat the amount I want.

Also had cerenia in am

Should I dose 0.4 units?
 
Also, do you think I should give an appetite stimulant even if she does eventually eat her food without it? Ive been avoiding it because I figure the less meds the better, but maybe that's not the case?

With love,
Nikki
 
I think you can give the 0.4u again tonight as long as you can get her to eat a reasonable amount of food. PMPS is roughly the same as her AMPS. Get a BG Test around +2 or +3 just so you now what she's up to before bed. I wouldn't use the Mirtazapine unless you really need to.
 
Glad you got your SS worked out! Sorry I haven't signed in the past couple days. I'm trying to get more active again but I have a long work schedule :oops:. I'm seeing medications and symptoms related to pancreatitis, is there any confirmation that Willow might be having a p-flare?
 
Glad you got your SS worked out! Sorry I haven't signed in the past couple days. I'm trying to get more active again but I have a long work schedule :oops:. I'm seeing medications and symptoms related to pancreatitis, is there any confirmation that Willow might be having a p-flare?

Hi there,

No confirmation. She started showing these signs (inappetance and pain) after diagnosis and treatment started of diabetes (insulin and food switch).
She'd had a Cerenia injection in 2011 that effectively cured her IBD she'd had since a kitten,as well as her inappetance at the time so originally that's what I was going to ask the vet for (if it had cured her nausea before and got her eating...)
Reading the posts I realized how much it sounded like pancreatitis; I asked her vet if she'd been tested and was told no, it's a specific test, and usually they rule it out. So I asked for Cerenia injectable as well as an appetite stimulant and bupe (since so many use it successfully) as well as SQ fluids in case I need them. I asked for enough to get her through the trip (at the time, I was more worried about getting her to eat and the stress of the trip.)
So I started with the injection for stomach acid Monday night (which *did* make her more comfy as she came on bed in am with me for cuddles again!) Then Cerenia injection yesterday am follows by 2 doses of bupe, which do conk her out, but also relaxes her some (she responds with some purrs to us, and leaned into me once for scritches).
But, the Cerenia i injected didn't have a great effect on her nausea... She was still on and off her food through the day. And even with the bupe she was hiding under the bed sometimes.
And I only have enough of all this for like 5 days or so (enough to cover the trip) but we're not leaving till Friday and it doesn't make sense to hold off treatment until the trip! I'm worried I won't get her comfortable and eating and the trip will worsen everything.
How long before you usually see results of treatment? She's pretty much a zombie, hasn't left our bedroom much in 2 days, couldn't care less if we patted her or not, just lies there.
Thanks so much for reading, with love,
Nikki
 
Hi:)
So yesterday pmps was 8.9, gave 0.4 units, with +2 and +4 being 7.8 and 8.5

Today's amps is 9.4, gave 0.4 units

Today she may be a bit better! She had a cerenia injection yesterday am, followed by 2 doses of bupe through the day (decreasing dose still as it conks her out) and famotidine injection before bed.
This morning she came up in the bed again for Pat's and purrs. Then while I was still in bed typing a fdmb response I heard her at her bowl eating the rest of last night's snack we forgot to take up lol. I quickly got her bg. She then ate a fair bit of food (had to put it in front of her piece by piece.) She licked her nose a few times before she'd eat it.
She's definitely a bit more responsive with regards to purrs and looks more comfortable than yesterday. She's moving freer and more responsive to our voices. I'm repeating the Cerenia/bupe as yesterday but will try less bupe. If all goes well I'll switch to Cerenia tablets tomorrow, so I can save the injectable for the trip if needed.

How long does it usually take for a pancreatic flare to stop (if that's what's possibly going on?) I have no idea how many days worth of meds I should have...

Thanks so much, with love,
Nikki
 
I think the duration of a pancreatitis flare is variable but I've personally never dealt with it so hopefully someone else will chime in on that question.
I am delighted to hear Willow is feeling better today. Eating on her own and seeking attention are great signs that she is improving. :joyful:
 
Linda is right, it does tend to vary. Some can just be a few days and some can last longer. Maury's was about a month long because I couldn't afford to give him the "aggressive" treatment. There are 2 tests (Spec fPL and SNAP fPL), one is more accurate and the other is just a yes or no. I will definitely agree, it's like a rollercoaster. He had good days and he had bad days. All we can do is manage pain, try to keep nausea down so they'll eat and can receive insulin, keep them hydrated and some need antacids. Always good to hear about good days though!

If you can't get one of the two p-titis tests, then did they do any blood work? I think some levels can help you lean towards pancreatitis, like elevated liver enzymes and BUN levels :bookworm:. I hope she continues to have more good days! It's always hard when our baby's aren't feeling well :bighug:.
 
Hi @Kris & Teasel and other's experienced with dosing sugarkitties,

I haven't updated on here with dosing questions recently because Willows been so stable in her BG's., But this am is a bit lower and i just wanted to check with you :)

My SS is up to date until Tuesday's am +4; I haven't been to the library since. So to continue:
Tuesday pmps 8.9
Gave 0.4 units caninsulin
+2 was 7.8
+4 was 8.5

Wednesday November 21
Amps was 9.4
Gave 0.4 units caninsulin
+2 was 7.2
+4 was 7.5
Pmps was 9.1
Gave 0.4 units caninsulin
+3 was 6.6

Thursday November 22
Amps was 9.7
Gave 0.4 units caninsulin
+3 was 6.6
Pmps was 11.2 *
Gave 0.4 units caninsulin
+3 was 8.9

Today's amps was 8.4 and I've never given full 0.4 units that low. Advice please?

* She was in some pain/discomfort on and off yesterday, and her abdomen felt quite bloated/gassy/distended last night, so BG probably elevated by pain.
Also the bupe is constipating her some, she only had 2 tiny buttons (if that) Wednesday and a short bumpy log yesterday morning. We've been upping her clearlax and pumpkin.
No BM yet today.

Appetite very good yesterday, back to normal today!!!!! Eating everything we give without hesitation :)

And attitude this morning is awesome!!! Bright and active, even pushed me and licked me this morning :)

Thanks, with love,
Nikki
 
Linda is right, it does tend to vary. Some can just be a few days and some can last longer. Maury's was about a month long because I couldn't afford to give him the "aggressive" treatment. There are 2 tests (Spec fPL and SNAP fPL), one is more accurate and the other is just a yes or no. I will definitely agree, it's like a rollercoaster. He had good days and he had bad days. All we can do is manage pain, try to keep nausea down so they'll eat and can receive insulin, keep them hydrated and some need antacids. Always good to hear about good days though!

If you can't get one of the two p-titis tests, then did they do any blood work? I think some levels can help you lean towards pancreatitis, like elevated liver enzymes and BUN levels :bookworm:. I hope she continues to have more good days! It's always hard when our baby's aren't feeling well :bighug:.

Hi, @Yong, sorry I didn't respond sooner. Thanks for writing :)
Blood results were fine; alt and crea were high normal at 121 U/L and 202umol/L respectively. Glucose elevated. T4 normal. Abdominal x-rays seemed fine.
For interests sake:
ALB 32 g/L
Alkp 84 U/L
Bun/urea 9.8 mmol/L
Tp 78 g/L
Glob 46 g/L
ALB/glob 0.7
Bun/crea 12

Other borderline ones below:
HCT 30.7%
Hbg 10.0 g/dL
Neut 10.29x10(9)/L
PCT 0.68%
And retics were high
Retics 51.5K/uL

Thanks! With love,
Nikki
 
I think you can give 0.4 u this AM. You gave that dose on an PMPS of 8.9 on Tuesday. That's essentially the same BG. Meters are allowed a 15-20% variance in readings so what looks to be a different BG to us isn't really.
 
I think you can give 0.4 u this AM. You gave that dose on an PMPS of 8.9 on Tuesday. That's essentially the same BG. Meters are allowed a 15-20% variance in readings so what looks to be a different BG to us isn't really.
 
Back
Top