Newly diagnosed-seekingswitching from dry to wet food advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

arienette386

Member Since 2014
I have a newly diagnosed diabetic cat.

My cat has been eating purina pro plan weight management dry kibble and everything I have read has recommended wet food or fresh. First off what is your advice for making the switch? She's never been too picky with wet food because she used to get it as a treat so she takes to it well. I know I have to be cautious. So how should I go about it. Do I need to do anything special or can I just give her wet food at her next meal?

Secondly, my budget does not make it feasable to do a prescription diet. What wet food brands/types are the best for a diabetic cat? I know higher protein/fat and lower carbs is what to seek. The highest protein content I could find was Fancy Feast Liver & Chicken Feast with 11% protein and 5% fat. Is this a good one to go by? She's never been much of a fan of fish flavored varieties of wet food.

Please help! My vet told me to stay away from wet food because he said it has higher sugar content but everything I read says wet food is better than kibble. . .I'm having some trust issues with him right now as a result...

Also I do have a home BG monitoring test kit and am comfortable testing already. I know this will probably be very useful in the switch. Just looking for generic advice about the switch and specific advice about what OTC wet foods to buy.
She is currently prescribed for a dose of 4 units of vestulin 2x per day with her food. I'm assuming I will have to reduce that when the switch happens.
 
Re: Newly diagnosed-seekingswitching from dry to wet food ad

Friskies pates are low carb and one of the least expensive options in the USA (we have members in other countries).

If you are not using insulin yet, go ahead and transition the food.
- To reduce the chances of GI upset, transition about 20-25% per day to the new food.

If you are using insulin now, please focus on home glucose testing. Changing to a low carb diet may reduce the blood glucose by 100 mg/dL and may reduce the insulin required by 2 units. This amount of change can be very risky to your cat if you are not checking the glucose levels while you do it and adjusting the insulin dose to accommodate it.
 
Re: Newly diagnosed-seekingswitching from dry to wet food ad

She had been eating less and less over the last couple of weeks when I decided to make the switch to low carb wet food. She was barely eating any dry food at all the last couple of days and I made the switch. The last three feedings she has not eaten on her own and I've had to feed her some with the syringe. This convinces her to eat a little on her own for about thirty seconds. Then she's back to snubbing the food. I have switched flavors each time hoping to find one she goes for. Also tried adding some warm water. So far the purina one turkey pate has had the best results-but i still have to sit with her and feed.

After giving her insulin tonight she dipped VERY low on BG-down to 50 and I have just given her a little smear of Karo on her mouth. I have been syringe feeding/coaxing her to eat a 3 oz can off and on since 7p (it's 1035). She finally finished it about forty minutes ago. Obviously 4 units is way too much insulin for a wet food diet. I am continuing to monitor BG until at least 11:15. It seems her peak low is about 4 hours post shot.

Her next feeding is supposed to be at 6:30 tomorrow morning. How much Insulin do you think I should give if I cannot be there to monitor her? I will have to leave for work at 7:40 and wont return until 1130 or noon.
 
Re: Newly diagnosed-seekingswitching from dry to wet food ad

That 50 mg/dL is as low as you want her to go on a human meter and too low on a pet specific meter. See my signature link Glucometer Notes for more details about meter readings. Maybe halve the dose.

Do you have a hypo kit prepared? You'll want to have on hand, and hope never to need, the following: Karo syrup, high carb gravied food (ex Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers), an oral syringe, and directions to the nearest 24 hour emergency vet. In the even she goes lower then 50, feed 2 teaspoons of high carb gravy and post here in Feline Health with HELP in the subject.
 
Re: Newly diagnosed-seekingswitching from dry to wet food ad

Dusty went into remission and has stayed in remission by feeding Fancy Feast Classic (pate style) in chicken, beef and chicken, and chicken liver flavors. The switch will amaze you, just make sure you're monitoring his Glucose because his insulin needs will drop dramatically.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top