Newly diagnosed POST DKA and this Mama is scared!

Status
Not open for further replies.

CAB7712

Member Since 2023
Hello, my name is Amanda and I am the mama to 2 adorably codependent Burmese cats;Puddy (15) and Newman (9). Newman was diagnosed on 12/31/22. He was going into crisis when we rushed him into the ER. We had no idea that he was diabetic, although now that I look back on the past 2 weeks, I should have known. We are expecting to have him home tonight, and I am a nervous wreck! I am not scared of the injections or the routine of it (I’m a nurse so injections are second nature to me) but I am terrified of not doing something right and he gets very sick again.
I am worried about being late coming home from work, leaving him alone just to run the simplest of errands…I have spent all day getting organized but I cannot shake my anxieties. I am glad I found this group and look forward to using all the resources to help get us through this journey. Thanks for having me (and Newman).
And yes, for those wondering about the names of my cats…we are HUGE Seinfeld fans!
 
Hi Amanda and Newman! Newman :facepalm:,(I'm also a big seinfeld fan).
Firstly, you have clicked on a most wonderful place and the information, the "sticky's posts" on this main health forum, the advice and support, all of it is exceptional.
A rush to the ER is never something a furbaby mama wants to do or take lightly, and it always puts us in a tailspin...Take a deep breathe if you can, if he gets to come home to you tonight, he will be wrapped in your lovin arms, and back with his little buddy Puddy. He will be in a good place cause YOU will be in the arms of those here with so much knowledge, incredible support, and devoted hearts to getting every kittie here on the best road to recovery!
I too am new here, only 2 months in, and I sure was scared to death at first, knew little about Feline Dibetes, and was completely overwhelmed by the info. Every person here has been in this position.... I will tag a couple of members for you with much more experience, I just see that it's been a little while since your first post.
Please rest assured for now that everyone has your back. :cat::cat:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Hi and welcome Amanda, Puddy and Newman to the forum. Burmese are beautiful kitties.
Can you tell me was Newman diagnosed with DKA or ketones as well as diabetes when he arrived at the ER?
If so we will be giving you different advice.
Has the vet told you what insulin he is coming home on and what dose?
Have you thought about home testing the blood glucose ?
Wereyou told to feed him a low carb wet diet? Don’t be talked into buying expensive prescription food from the vet. It is expensive and mostly high carb even though they say it is for diabetic cats. We can give you a list of suitable foods that won’t break the bank,
I’ll wait to hear back from you before giving you any more information.
Bron
 
Welcome to team sugar kitty! This place is the absolute best place on the planet to get help for your cat. Home testing of the BG is key, if I could learn how, you can too.

Sounds like DKA, my kitty Hendrick had DKA but recovered, I hope Newman does as well! Love the names!
 
Welcome. Since you have not purchased insulin I would turn down Vetsulin should it be offered and ask for lantus or Levemir. Vetsulin is harsh and not appropriate for cats. Prozinc is fine as well. I’m just partial to the depot insulin. Ask questions as they come up and that will happily a lot. Home testing with a human meter will keep your cat safe. I was afraid to do that at first as Max was so timid but once I started wished I had started immediately. My vet was a believer and was the one who got me started. I was scared at first as well but soon it will be a piece of cake. Not a good analogy as you want to feed lc food but you get the point.
 
Welcome to FDMB! This is truly the best place you never wanted to be.

First, you're feeling pretty much the same way that most of us felt when we learned our cat was diabetic. It doesn't matter whether you're a health care professional -- it's your kitty! I was a wreck when my cat was diagnosed. The good news is that after a few weeks, it all becomes routine. And even better, this is a community that will offer as much support as you need.

I would partially disagree with Elise (tiffmaxee) with regard to insulin. Either Lantus (glargine) or Prozinc are the two types of insulin recommended by the American Animal Hospital Assn in their guidelines for treating diabetes. They mention Levemir (detemir) but it is not as widely used (either in humans or cats). There is a generic/biosimilar form of glargine, Semglee, now available that is a fraction of the cost of Lantus.

Hopefully, your nursing skills will have you prepared for home testing. Most of the members here use a human glucometer. There are pet meters available. While vets tend to prefer the pet meters, the cost for the strips is outrageous. Many of our members use the Walmart Relion brand meter as the cost for strips are very reasonable. This is a link on home testing that will provide you with a great deal of information.

Just like with humans, diet is important for cats. This is a website on feline nutrition. You'll want to get Newman started on a low carb diet. I included the feline nutrition link since you can also feed Puddy the same diet as Newman. Also on that website is a chart of most of the canned foods that are available in the US along with information on their nutritional components, including carbs. We consider low carb as less than 10%. However, most of the caregivers here feed their cats foods that are in the neighborhood of 5% carb. You have lots of choices. If your vet tries to convince you to feed Newman a prescription diabetic diet, I'd encourage you to gracefully decline. There's nothing "prescriptive" in those diets. You can buy a much higher quality low carb food for with the prescription diets cost. And virtually none of the diabetic dry foods are low in carbs.

I'm also including a link to a post on helping us to help you. The post contains information on setting up your signature so we don't keep pestering you with the same questions. It also has information on how to set up a spreadsheet. Once you're home testing, you'll want a way to track Newman's progress and the spreadsheet also allows us to follow along and offer input.

Sorry for inundating you with information/links. The members here are very generous with their time and knowledge so please ask questions. We're here to help.
 
Thank you everybody for your support and replies!
Newman came home this afternoon,and because I am at work all day my husband has been with him.
A quick glance at the paperwork via a picture my husband texted me shows that he is on Vetsulin40, 1/2 unit each injection. I have already set up a follow up appt with our vet for Saturday morning, and have been in contact with him since the beginning of this. He has advised to stick to discharge instructions until we see him Saturday and come up with a good plan.

Newman has a Libre on and my husband has been monitoring the levels every 2 hrs. He got a high reading of 500 this afternoon, but I assured him it is better to be high than low. Newman didn't go over 354 while in the hospital, so I had my husband call the hospital but none has gotten back to him as of yet (he said they were very very busy when he was there).

I purchased some Fancy Feast today after reviewing the food chart and will start with that until we see our vet. I just don't know how much to give him? We were a dry food free feed house before, and now I know better! He weighs about 15 lbs (he is a big chonk). I assume it's a full can? Next insulin is at 5, but the vet tech said we have until 6 to give it on case we aren't available at 5. I should be home by 5:30 and my husband is nervous about doing it and wants to wait until I get there...should I tell him to go ahead and feed him before I get home?

Plan on heading to Walmart tomorrow for glucometer, as the Libre comes off at 14 days post application.

I know I have weeks ahead of me filled with hypervigilance and anxiety, but I am willing to do what it takes to get Newman on the right track!

Correct me if I am wrong, but we shouldn't be expecting lower BG numbers right away? It takes a while to stabilize him out,correct? Also, my husband said Newman drank water twice and peed twice within about 90 minutes...is that ok? I realize diabetic cats tend to urinate more.
 
purchased some Fancy Feast today after reviewing the food chart and will start with that until we see our vet. I just don't know how much to give him?
I wild give him a can of the FF before each of the injections and then wait 30 minutes before giving the insulin.
Then give him 2 or 3 snacks of the low carb FF during the first half of both cycles. He probably needs 3 or 4 of those cans a day. Is he overweight or normal weight.?
Next insulin is at 5, but the vet tech said we have until 6 to give it on case we aren't available at 5. I should be home by 5:30 and my husband is nervous about doing it and wants to wait until I get there...should I tell him to go ahead and feed him before I get home?
What I would do is get your husband to get the pre shot BG…in the evening that is called the PMPS at 5 pm. If the BG is over 200, get him to feed Newman and then when you get home 1/2 hour later you can give the shot.

Correct me if I am wrong, but we shouldn't be expecting lower BG numbers right away? It takes a while to stabilize him out,correct?
Insulin is a hormone and it takes time for the body to adjust to it and respond. Some respond quicker than others. It’s not like an antibiotic that works straight away and fixes the problem. don’t worry about the numbers being all over the place atm. That is normal. Just be vigilant for lower numbers. Once they get under 100 start to check more often. And be aware you can steer a drop by feeding food.

Also, my husband said Newman drank water twice and peed twice within about 90 minutes...is that ok? I realize diabetic cats tend to urinate more
Yes that’s OK. He will do that until he is more regulated. Just make sure there is always plenty of water for him to drink.

Did you ask if Newman had ketones or DKA at the ER?

If you could get a spreadsheet set up and enter some of the BG data, that will make it much more helpful for us to help you. We can’t help with dosing advice if we can’t see a SS:)
Keep asking lots of questions and posting so we can see how Newman is going :)

HELP US HELP YOU has the links for the spreadsheet and signature and hypo box and other useful information for new members
 
I wild give him a can of the FF before each of the injections and then wait 30 minutes before giving the insulin.
Then give him 2 or 3 snacks of the low carb FF during the first half of both cycles. He probably needs 3 or 4 of those cans a day. Is he overweight or normal weight.?

What I would do is get your husband to get the pre shot BG…in the evening that is called the PMPS at 5 pm. If the BG is over 200, get him to feed Newman and then when you get home 1/2 hour later you can give the shot.


Insulin is a hormone and it takes time for the body to adjust to it and respond. Some respond quicker than others. It’s not like an antibiotic that works straight away and fixes the problem. don’t worry about the numbers being all over the place atm. That is normal. Just be vigilant for lower numbers. Once they get under 100 start to check more often. And be aware you can steer a drop by feeding food.


Yes that’s OK. He will do that until he is more regulated. Just make sure there is always plenty of water for him to drink.

Did you ask if Newman had ketones or DKA at the ER?

If you could get a spreadsheet set up and enter some of the BG data, that will make it much more helpful for us to help you. We can’t help with dosing advice if we can’t see a SS:)
Keep asking lots of questions and posting so we can see how Newman is going :)

HELP US HELP YOU has the links for the spreadsheet and signature and hypo box and other useful information for new members
He was DKA with ketones at ER. They reduced the ketones by 50% within the first 12 hours and then didn’t say much about them after that. Should I purchase some ketone test strips? He was rather wobbly when I got home but his BG reading was around 464 at that time. I will spend tomorrow working on his spreadsheet. I am someone who needs to be very organized so having that will help immensely. He seems kinda drained tonight, but I called the ER vet to ask questions about a few things since I wasn’t there at discharge and they told me he may seem a bit off the first few days due to the meds, but to keep an eye on him if he doesn’t interact at all or get up to eat then I should bring him back or take him to our regular vet. The only other question I have is about feeding…he was a free feeder before with kibble, and now I have him doing a can of FF and plan on doing that 2 times a day before injections. Do I still leave out kibble? The discharge yech told my husband to resume his normal diet, but the doc said no more kibble just two feedings wet food a day. What if he gets hungry during the day? Or his bs drops and he needs food?
 
He was DKA with ketones at ER. They reduced the ketones by 50% within the first 12 hours and then didn’t say much about them after that. Should I purchase some ketone test strips? He was rather wobbly when I got home but his BG reading was around 464 at that time. I will spend tomorrow working on his spreadsheet. I am someone who needs to be very organized so having that will help immensely. He seems kinda drained tonight, but I called the ER vet to ask questions about a few things since I wasn’t there at discharge and they told me he may seem a bit off the first few days due to the meds, but to keep an eye on him if he doesn’t interact at all or get up to eat then I should bring him back or take him to our regular vet. The only other question I have is about feeding…he was a free feeder before with kibble, and now I have him doing a can of FF and plan on doing that 2 times a day before injections. Do I still leave out kibble? The discharge yech told my husband to resume his normal diet, but the doc said no more kibble just two feedings wet food a day. What if he gets hungry during the day? Or his bs drops and he needs food?
Having had DKA changes the picture on how we advise you.
Can you please put ‘DKA kitty’ into the subject line so we can be alerted. Its important as we need to keep a closer eye on DKA kitties.
I am going to give you a list of what you should be doing for him because he has had DKA.
Also please get that SS set up asap. If you would like help I will get @Bandit's Mom to help you. We want to see as much data as possible to decide if the dose of insulin needs adjusting.
Please post daily so we can help you.

Here is what you need to be doing for Newman post DKA:
  • you need to give one and a half times as many calories as Newman normally eats. Offer snacks every couple of hours during the day and evening as well as the 2 main meals. Food is like a medicine and helps keep ketones away. If your kitty won’t eat the low carb food, feed him whatever he will eat as eating any food is better than not eating. At this point I would leave out the kibble for him if he won’t eat the wet food. I’m amazed the vet said only two meals a day…a DKA kitty need a lot of food post DKA to get better. We can worry about getting him back to low carb food once he is feeling better.
  • Don’t skip any doses of insulin as insulin helps keep ketones away. If the BG is not high enough to give the dose…stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes and post and ask for help. Keep the SS up to date at all times
  • Don’t feed for the 2 hours before the preshot BG as we don’t want that food influenced.
  • Test daily for ketones. If you don’t have a bottle of ketostix which you can buy from Walmart of a pharmacy, please go out and buy a bottle asap as testing for ketones is very important in the recovery of DKA. Put the results of the tests into the remarks column of the SS so we can see. Please report any trace ketones at all. We want to see no ketones at all. If any appear, it means we have to feed more food and / or increase the dose of insulin
  • Give antinausea medication if needed.. Ondansetron is a good anti nausea medication. He may need the antinausea medication for some time after coming home as many post DKA kitties have nausea.
  • Give appetite stimulant if needed after the antinausea medication of needed.
  • Give extra fluids. If kitty will tolerate warm water in the food, put a teaspoon into each snack..
  • Ask the vet about subQ fluids
  • Set up a spreadsheet and test the BG frequently
  • Ask the ER vets for a copy of any path results and post them so we can see please.
  • Post daily with updates and ask for help as often as needed.
 
He definitely is eating the FF, he ate the entire can tonight. The ER vet said he was eating well while with them the past 4 days as well. I purchased some Churro sticks yesterday as the nice man at my locally owned pet store has a diabetic kitty and he said they are great choices for mid day snacks or if I can’t get Newman to eat before his insulin. They are basically puréed chicken in a tube.
I will work on all of these suggestions tomorrow,starting with a morning trip to Walmart for testing kit and ketone strips. Any suggestions on how to check his ketones in urine? Do I just hold it under his pee when I am able to catch him peeing?
Thank you for all your help and I really look forward to diving into all of this and being as educated as possible. I am familiar with diabetes with humans bc of nursing but I am interested to see how it relates to cats.
As of right now, Newman is laying on my chest as I lay in bed. I am hoping to get some sleep tonight since I haven’t slept more than 5 hours total the past few days. I am sure I willl wake up a few times,but even just having him home makes me feel a little better.
 
You can feed him some ordinary chicken cooked on its own as well if you like.
Make sure you give him some snacks during the night. Don’t let him go hours without food. Lots of food is essential in the recovery of DKA in cats.
Don’t forget to change the subject line to DKA.
You can hold the strip under him if he will let you or collect some urine in a small container or spoon. Remember 15 seconds apexactly to read it.
COLLECTING URINE TIPS

Do you need help with the spreadsheet?
 
When the Libe comes off as you noted
can pick up from Walmart The Relion Premier Classic meter and test strips

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103. 9 dollars

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197. 17.88 for 100

When you get a chance
Can you please tap on this blue link and fill out your signature, it's information we need about Newman it's at the end of everyone's post in gray lettering
helping us to help you has a lot of good information for getting started.

Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

A video one of our members posted, she is using a pet meter ,strips too expensive plus you have to code it
A human meter is just fine, most of us use human meters ,that's what our numbers are based on
When you get your meter can you add the name of it to your signature and spreadsheet


VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar

Here is another link to read
This is a link to one of our posts on home testing.
 
Thank you Diane for posting this info! I went to Walmart today and purchased the glucometer. The options were slim, but I ended up getting the ReliOn Premier BLU. My husband and I like that it has the app with it so we can put it on our IPad and whoever checks the glucose reading can enter the data into the app. It wasnt that much more expensive, and it came with 50 test strips (i plan on ordering more online because I found them cheaper). We have the libre for 10 more days, and since Newman sees his regular vet on Saturday, this gives us the opportunity for our vet to go over the meter and show us in person how to get the sample. Newman is doing well today, his numbers are still high, but the Nurse from the ER vet called for an update and she said that it to be expected. He is angry that there is no longer dry kibble out for him to graze on, but she said he will get acclimated to the new feeding routine. He eats very well when we give him the FF! He hasnt had that stuff in a very VERY long time, so I am sure he is loving it!
I am working on my SS now, it is taking me a bit because I am also working so I have to keep going back to it. Hoping to have it completed by tonight. I will update my signature with all Newman's info as well.
 
Did you get some Ketostix to test the urine for ketones while you were at Walmart?
I did,yes. When the ER called for an update today I asked the best method and she told me I don't need to check for them at home. However, I am going to at least until my personal Vet sees us on Saturday. Thankfully, our personal VET is a very very good friend of ours so he has been a huge help.
 
I am glad you got the Ketostix. I am amazed the ER said no need to check for ketones at home. That is a real ‘head in the sand’ approach. It is ketones that lead to DKA and is an early warning that the food and insulin need adjusting. Please don’t follow that advice. We frequently find DKA cats are sent home with no advice about giving extra food, not skipping doses of insulin or checking for ketones.
How is Newman today?
 
They did not tell me about feeding him extra, even when I called today to make sure I was giving him enough they said the same thing "2 meals a day, 1 can FF should be fine". Today I have given him some snacks of pureed chicken (Churro Stix) twice because he keeps begging for food when I go into the kitchen. His BG has stayed in the 300s today, sp I know he isn't telling me he is low. I think he is getting used to the adjustment of not having free feed available all day.
I have some Churro Stix in my nightstand as well, so I can give him snacks when we go to bed (last night we checked his BG right before turning off the light).
I apologize for not having my SS posted yet, it is kinda confusing so I keep having to go back to the directions. Hopefully since I am off work tomorrow I can it posted in the morning.
 
Last edited:
They did not tell me about feeding him extra, even when I called today to make sure I was giving him enough they said the same thing "2 meals a day, 1 can FF should be fine". Today I have given him some snacks of pureed chicken (Churro Stix) twice because he keeps begging for food when I go into the kitchen. His BG has stayed in the 300s today, sp I know he isn't telling me he is low. I think he is getting used to the adjustment of not having free feed available all day.

My vet was useless with the DKA at-home recovery guidance, and so was the ER vet. They both also said the same 2 meals a day crap, which is old and outdated but still taught in vet school unfortunately.

They did not provide me the the guidance and advice needed to help Hendrick recover at home and avoid another episode -- if I had not found the FDMB with Bron, Diane, and others telling me to give him extra food, etc -- I don't even want to think about what could have been. Unfortunately it seems to be a common story. A lot of vets out there who don't know this stuff.

Hendrick also had an adjustment period switching from free feeding dry to 3-4 meals a day of canned or homemade raw (E-Z Complete) but he came around. Newman will most likely still be hungry all the time for a while until his BGs get down a bit and his body can properly make use of the nutrients in the food. That is kind of normal for a newly diagnosed diabetic feline.

ps Let's see some pictures of him! I love Burmese, we have 3 Siamese and an Oriental Shorthair in our family

Newman is a young 9 years old, I'm sure he'll recover and be himself in no time!
 
How are things going with Newman.
Would love an update and @Bandit's Mom has offered to do the SS for you.
Newman seems to be doing well. He is eating like a champ, and seems to have no issues with getting his shot. We are struggling a bit with the Metronidazole med as it is very bitter tasting and he spits a lot of it out. The vet patient care coordinator told me that med is one of the worst to give bc the taste is so terrible. We do our best though.
His BG numbers seem to be all over the place, still high, but I have had a few readings in the 200's. Did a ketone strips last night and it came back negative, so I am hoping to get another one this morning when I can catch him using the box. I constructed a catch cup with a Bamboo skewer and an empty bottle cap ..lol. I got peed on last night trying to get a sample so I had to come up with something!

Bandits Mom reached out and I have sent her the info she asked for. Until then I am using anoth app to track all his BG readings (along with the Libre app) because I know I will need something quick and easy once we switch to ReliOn. I tried to get an ear stick this morning, just to practice, but I think my lancets are way too small because I didn't get anything. I warmed his ear and everything, but they say they are micro so I need to grab at least 26-28g correct? He tolerated me trying to a point, but I am going to keep practicing while we still have the libre on so I can get him used to it before it comes off.

Finally posted a pic of Newman as my avatar. Definitely shows his personality.
 
Beautiful photo! yes get 26 or 28 gauge lancets. You may have to vary the depth of the lancet.
Great no ketones! And fabulous he’s eating well! looking forward to seeing the SS!
 
Welcome Amanda, Newman is ADORABLE. Glad to hear he is eating well. The thicker gauge lancets should help, I found massaging the ear briefly pre-poke made a world of difference. You are in the right hands here!
 
Love the pic!! Lol, I keep going back and looking at him again what a character.

Regarding home testing of the BG -- in the beginning we had to use thicker lancets but after we got the hang of it and the capillary bed grew we were able to switch to 30g lancets. But I think we started with 26.

We used a rechargeable handwarmer to heat up Hen's ears, worked great for us. Also a headlamp device with magnifiers so we could really see what we were doing. Honestly I can't believe I ever even tried to do it without them (I'm 49)

This is the handwarmer we used: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B08FMSJ1NN/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

This is the magnifying/LED headgear: https://smile.amazon.com/Magnifier-...tion/dp/B08RJ1RLXD/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
Has anyone tried the FreshPet select Moisture Rich Tender Bites tender chicken recipe before?
I am trying to find something to feed Newman between his fancy feast feedings that is like a "snack" for mid day/mid evenings .
17% protein, 10%. Fat, 2% fiber, 65% moisture
Thinking of picking it up while here at Target.
 
Has anyone tried the FreshPet select Moisture Rich Tender Bites tender chicken recipe before?
I am trying to find something to feed Newman between his fancy feast feedings that is like a "snack" for mid day/mid evenings .
17% protein, 10%. Fat, 2% fiber, 65% moisture
Thinking of picking it up while here at Target.

stand by, let me see if I can determine the % of calories from carbs. I am leaning towards it being high-carb just from reading the ingredients though
 
Has anyone tried the FreshPet select Moisture Rich Tender Bites tender chicken recipe before?
I am trying to find something to feed Newman between his fancy feast feedings that is like a "snack" for mid day/mid evenings .
17% protein, 10%. Fat, 2% fiber, 65% moisture
Thinking of picking it up while here at Target.


Appears to be right around 10-11% calories from carbs. So not very low-carb but also not high. It is ok to feed but many would go lower carb.
 
Ok, I am going to pass then. I will stick with pureed chicken and broth.


if you're game to puree chicken, you might want to look into E-Z Complete. It is a powder you can mix with the meat of your choosing and the end result is a healthy complete meal for kitty, that contains all the vital nutrients, minerals, etc that feline bodies need. I started doing this for Hendrick as a low-carb alternative to canned food, he LOVES it

https://www.foodfurlife.com/#/
 
if you're game to puree chicken, you might want to look into E-Z Complete. It is a powder you can mix with the meat of your choosing and the end result is a healthy complete meal for kitty, that contains all the vital nutrients, minerals, etc that feline bodies need. I started doing this for Hendrick as a low-carb alternative to canned food, he LOVES it

https://www.foodfurlife.com/#/
Awesome! I will look into that. I have just been baking a chicken breast and pureeing it with some chicken broth (low sodium). Is that ok?
 
I’m not sure why, but Newman numbers today have me feeling really discouraged. I realize it’s still early in his treatment, but it’s so hard seeing such high numbers most of the day. No ketones in the 3 tests I did today. Anxious for our regular vet to see him tomorrow post discharge so he can guide us on the right path. Newman acts hungry all through the day, but he was a free feeder for a few years so I am hoping he catches on to the new schedule and routine. I’m nervous about the next few weeks because I start a new job Monday that will have me out of the house more. It’s only part time, but some days will be long days. Thankfully my husband will be home all day, and I can rely on him a bit to keep an eye on Newmy. But I am the type who needs eyes on a situation in order to feel like I have some control.
Sorry, not sure if this is the place to vent or not….it’s just a bad day I guess(anxiety wise….Newms seems to doing well besides being hungry and hating getting his oral meds).
 
Do you have any other BG data you can share with us? I suppose that is all you have since he only came home on Wednesday. Can you look back on the libre and see if he dropped lower overnight?
It is possible he dropped lower and he is bouncing OR He needs more insulin. Seeing more data in the night would help decide what is happening.

Have you been testing for ketones? Can you put all results in the remarks column of the SS please. Daily tests are needed at the moment to monitor ketones.

The fact he is eating well is great. How often are you feeding him?
 
I must have missed the remarks column on the SS, will go back in and add. His ketones this morning were negative and He did pee about 20 minutes ago and it tested negative.
He gets a full can of FF classic Pate in the morning(5:30, shot at 6) and a full can of FF classic at 5:30pm (we shoot him at 6).
We switched the Libre to my phone from my husband's phone this morning, so I only have data from the time we switched. I can see if my husband can log in and get his data, but along with the Libre app I am also keeping a written log of all tests just until we get everything situated.
 
I will plan tonight to set an alarm every couple of hours to scan him now that it's on my phone. My husband can't be waken in the night as easily as me so we haven't tested over night. I am exhausted and hardly sleep well anyways, so getting up to scan shouldn't be too hard for me
 
Are you giving snacks during the cycles?
It’s very important that he gets as much food as possible at the moment. I would suggest snacks three times in each cycle, day at +2 +5 and +7. A snack is 1 or 2 teaspoons of normal low carb food.
great no ketones.
 
if you're game to puree chicken, you might want to look into E-Z Complete. It is a powder you can mix with the meat of your choosing and the end result is a healthy complete meal for kitty, that contains all the vital nutrients, minerals, etc that feline bodies need. I started doing this for Hendrick as a low-carb alternative to canned food, he LOVES it

https://www.foodfurlife.com/#/
How many meals do you get out of one bag of ez complete?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top