Newly diagnosed/please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Casey301

Member Since 2019
Hi everyone? My cats name is Johnny. Do you give insulin over a certain number?
 
Last edited:
At first, we say not to give insulin under 200 …..if you get a Pre-shot reading under 200, you should stall, don't feed and post for help. Test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the number comes up without the influence of food.

2U is actually a high starting dose. We usually start at between .5 and 1U

What are you feeding Bruce? Switching to a low carb canned or raw diet can bring the blood glucose down as much as 200 points. Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classics or Friskies pates.

There's more information than you have time to read (and it can be overwhelming) in the Sticky's at the top of the Lantus forum. Even those of us that have been here for years occasionally read them and remember something we've forgotten or learned something we never knew!

Keep asking questions! There's lots of experience here to share with you!
 
Hi and welcome to FDMB. I don't doubt that you are overwhelmed at the moment, it's perfectly understandable under the circumstances. Most of us were overwhelmed and confused just with a diabetes diagnosis, so we do understand.

Ok, you can't stop the prednisone, your cat needs what he needs and we can help you work with diabetic treatment.

Have you begun the insulin injections yet?

Yes, you should test Bruce's blood sugar, always before injecting to be sure the BG (blood glucose) is high enough, and then during the cycle between shots. It's the best way to determine if the dose is working, or is too high or too low.

We suggest you work to condition a new sugar cat to the testing process using the old age technique of bribery. Choose a testing station that is comfortable for both of you with good lighting. Give a low carb treat, gently rub and stoke his ears, praise him and give him another treat. Do this as many times a day as you can. Low carb treats can be a piece of boiled or baked plain chicken, Pure Bites or Orijen brand freeze dried meats.

You can get a ReliOn glucometer and a box of 50 strips for about $20 at Walmart, plus a box of 100 26 or 28 gauge lancets for another buck or two.

We have testing videos and tips so you can learn to test the BG (blood glucose). We all learned the process and not all our sugar cats were cooperative. Other members will be happy to tell you what worked for them.

One of our members, JanetNJ, made a video of testing her cat How to test your cat's bg at home: Video I made showing how to test your cat's blood sugar
Diet is very important for our sugar cats, too many carbohydrates just fuel the fire and we recommend a carb ceiling of 10%.
Dr. Lisa Pierson of www.catinfo.org recommends " start with protein minimum of 40, fat maximum of 50, carb max of 10, and for cats with kidney issues....phos less than 300." Many members start out at least with Fancy Feast Classics and/or Friskies pates. Not sure what to feed? Food Chart

We have and have had members that also fought, or are currently fighting the same two fronted war of diabetes and cancer. Going forward we can do a little research and put out the word that you need some extra support in this area too.

Please set up the signature so we can see Bruce's information whenever you post:
Setting up your signature (light grey text under a post). Here's how:
click on your name in the upper right corner of this page
click on "signature" in the menu that drops down
type the following in the box that opens: kitty's name/age/date of diabetes diagnosis/insulin you're using and dosage amount /glucose meter you're using/what (s)he eats/any other meds or health issues (s)he has. You can add your name, and a geographic location (sometimes the country/time zone matters) Be sure to SAVE when you are finished.

We use a spreadsheet here to record the insulin and testing data:
You will see how the trends and patterns emerge, and members can review his/her progress before offering suggestions or advice:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/understanding-the-spreadsheet-grid.156606/

There is an insulin support group for Lantus users HERE
I believe for new users the "no shoot" number is 200, just to be safe. Someone may come along and correct that.

From this information because I am concerned with the 2 Unit starting dose your vet recommended.
Starting Dose:
  • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
  • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
  • If the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
  • Generally, shots are to be given 12 hours apart.
 
Thank you so much for the info.
Quick questions:

Is fancy feast gourmet naturals chicken pate ok? Its similar to the classics.

If I do get a BG reading below 200 and I post here and no one is able to answer ...should I just skip it until the number goes up and then give it to him? Then adjust the timing of the next dose?

Thanks

Also, I asked the vet to start with Lantus 1iu. I felt 2iu was a bit much to start with. I ordered the alphatrak2 and will get it tomorrow which is when I plan to start insulin.
 
Thank you so much for the info.
Quick questions:

Is fancy feast gourmet naturals chicken pate ok? Its similar to the classics.

If I do get a BG reading below 200 and I post here and no one is able to answer ...should I just skip it until the number goes up and then give it to him? Then adjust the timing of the next dose?

Thanks

Also, I asked the vet to start with Lantus 1iu. I felt 2iu was a bit much to start with. I ordered the alphatrak2 and will get it tomorrow which is when I plan to start insulin.
Yes that food should be fine. The first few weeks of its under 200 is best to skip until you have more data.

Wonderful you are going to home test. The alpha is an excellent meter. The strips are expensive so if you looking to save money I often use freestyle insulinx strips in the alpha meter and find them accurate. I have a video in my signature showing how I test my cat CC at home.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top