Janel and Alabaster
Member Since 2017
Thank you!
I will have to try and do this from home at a later time.
Oh I see the link now! I'll have to figure out how to access to chart it once I close it.I'm going to send you a PM (private message). Check your Inbox in a minute.Also, the way my spreadsheet looks, it seems I can't chart AMPS unless it's under 299. Do you know how I can set this up to where it can be for any range?
Honestly, I think a lot of vets are totally at sea when it comes to treating FD. I don't fault them necessarily - they don't get much instruction on it, they might see only one or 2 FD kitties in their practice, if any, and cats are very complex in their reactions to insulin. I even had my horse vet comment once about how very complicated cats are when it comes to diseases of the endocrine system like diabetes. That's why we as owners have to learn all we can and be willing to be more hands on, especially when the vet's treatment falls short.That is terrible. One Vet I talked to who saw him for his appointment was grateful we're checking me at home so that made me feel good. I guess he has a cat that gets 6 units a day. But a different Vet from the same clinic called and advised I don't check him and put him on 3 units. I don't like they're not on the same page. What is YA? Is it a type of food?
We're always here to help.I can see that from their perspective. It's just all very overwhelming. But thank God for this website or I would be totally lost! You all have been an amazing help and have given hope and comfort. We're going to start his Zobaline today so I hope we get good results with that.
There is also the new Dr Elsey (of little fame) Clean Protein low carb dry foodYA is Young Again, one of the only low carb dry foods for our kibble addicts. There is also EVO but it seems that even though it's low carb it can keep some sugar cats BG elevated.
I see starting last night you jumped to 2.0U though, that's a 100% dose increase. Please try to get a before bed test if you are not home during the dayThank you so much! I can't imagine what I might be putting him through, or not treating him as good as I could without all the helpful info.We're going to adjust his dose on Saturday when we're home with him all day. Only by .5 so we'll see.


Ok then you're 322 reading should go in +6. Meaning 6 hours after shot administeredGood Morning! We did do the increase. At 6:30 last night we checked him and he was at 380 so we gave him 2 units. We checked him again at 12:30am and he was at 322. We checked him this morning at 6:30 and he was at 305. We gave him 2 units which made me a little nervous, but we fed him a whole can of food instead of half. I hope this was okay to do. I am just so nervous. Do you think I should try to go home at noon and check him?
. If you won't be penalized for stopping home and you are worried, you can try to stop home. He'll probably be OK since the little drop last night was over 6 hours. If the Vet tries to increase to 3.0U next, please don't jump to that. He is showing some response to 2.0U so you might've lucked out and his ideal dose (which can change 
That's very good to hear!His energy level as of yesterday was a bit better. This morning he was really talkative which was great. He even sprinted for a second. We started his dose of Zobaline last night and today as well.
Thank You for checking in!![]()
Hello, and thank you. You all have been an amazing help. We're both incredibly blessed we found this site!Hi and welcome. Around here we increase in .25 increments so as not to miss a good dose. My Max was 16 pounds and started at 1 unit and within a week had a 60 nadir. Every cat is different. The depot builds so it's too soon to know if he will need more or less insulin. Since dosing is based upon the nadir, lowest point in the 12 hour cycle I'd try to get a test st +5-7 whenever possible. If you can grab a +2-3 you will get an idea if more tests are needed for that cycle. There's a lot to learn so keep asking questions. I'd also suggest you start posting on the lantus/lev board so more eyes will be watching.
Yup, we do it this way to accommodate the multiple time zones members live inOh I was so happy to see him have some sass back! Oh, so the +"numbers" mean hours? Like where to put it in the spreadsheet? I'm sorry, not computer savy over here. Thank you for clarifying!![]()
I wouldn't bump him up so soon, like tiffmaxee said, the depot takes some time to adjust/stabilize. Have you read the Lantus protocols stickies? They're on the Lantus forum: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/I think tomorrow were going to bump him up to 2.5 in the morning depending what his reading is tonight.

What does the depot mean? And is it best to just keep him at 2 units with checking for maybe a week?Yup, we do it this way to accommodate the multiple time zones members live in
This might help too: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/understanding-the-spreadsheet-grid.156606/
I wouldn't bump him up so soon, like tiffmaxee said, the depot takes some time to adjust/stabilize. Have you read the Lantus protocols stickies? They're on the Lantus forum: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/
Start Low, Go Slow Method (SLGS)
Tight Regulation Protocol (TR)
I believe collecting data on your SS is way more beneficial than a Fructosamine test and probably less expensive![]()
Click the Lantus link, it answers these questions better than I canWhat does the depot mean? And is it best to just keep him at 2 units with checking for maybe a week?
. If I try again, I'm taking a picture of the one's I want as other's suggested. Good luck with yours! 
Please don't worry. What he's doing is a very common reaction to some slightly lower yellow numbers - he's bouncing. There's a lot to learn in treating FD and I recommend that you post on the Lantus forum to get help with dosing from the experts there. Read the info stickies about the two sets of dosing guidelines, TR and SLGS. It's best if you choose one to follow so you have a system in place to help you with dosing decisions.@Yong @Kris & Teasel Today has been a rough one.. Not sure what happened, but I gave Ally his morning dose and he was at 400. Rechecked him at noon and he was at 417. We didn't want to give him more because we were unsure if the morning dose may be in his system still. Just rechecked him and he is at 466!!! We gave him 3 units. We went to Walmart and they did not sell any syringes with half doses, only full units. I am just beside myself. I'm afraid to feed him, but he has to eat. I'm only going to give him a half a can and retest around 8pm when it's two hours after he eats. Please advise if there is something more I should do.
![]()
Shoot. Ugh. Okay, we will definitely go back to the 2 unit dose. I guess seeing the 403 number this morning after his good numbers last night we thought we should. I wonder why too much Insulin would make him go higher? That is good to know.
If I do have a fur shot.. which I think your right that I did.. is it okay to give him his dose 12hrs later? We didn't give him any throughout the day or after that in fear he would drop to low. I hope we can find those syringes tomorrow. If not I'll start my search online.
Thank you SO incredibly much for responding! Today has been a tough one for us here.
, Yes post #73!
. It's a steep learning curve, you'll get there Thank you! Its hard to not be sad about this, but it's all about learning and adapting now. Just need those syringes!Going to reply here to keep it on your thread. I think I gave you the link to the Lantus forum to find those stickies, Kris mentioned
, Yes post #73!
We all have at least one fur shot in our longer sugar dances, it happens. Correct in do not give it later in the day, just wait until next scheduled time. It's a steep learning curve, you'll get there
![]()

That's the key!I need to learn the process I guess
Found this again! Just purchased the syringes! Ally and I thank you!Hi Janel, I just responded to another post where you mentioned this:
"I would not have increased the dose by a whole unit again. 2.0U was starting to show something. Too much insulin can cause higher numbers too. You could post on the Lantus forum to see if they think you should go back and then increase by 0.25U. I see you might've had a fur shot this morning too, please NEVER re-shoot. There's no way to know how much or how little insulin actually went in."
You can order syringes online if your Walmart did not carry the one's with half unit markings. Many of us use ADWdiabetes.com. Glad you did not re-shoot. Did you pick up ketone test strips? I think part of it is bouncing form those yellows last night and maybe a little from getting a fur shot. Here's a link for the syringes I bought: https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/1289/monoject-ultra-comfort-insulin-syringes
