I've put them where they can fit, and i've made a more detailed breakdown in the "Remarks" section.Can you please put the the BGs in the cells. No more carbs for now, wait till the carbs take effect just keep testing every 15-20 minutes for now only, let us know if it keeps dropping if it does. Then Marty’s stabilizing, just keep testing,
Thank you so much for the support really appreciate your help. Waiting now for the next 15 mins to re-measure. What a terrifying experienceOk good is going up, in 1/2 hour test and feed a few more times if necessary until BG GETS TO at least 90 and stays that way, Matty will be ok now, no more carbs no more syrup unless the BG plummets down, post again if you need to The phone is right by my side all night.
Thank youKeep testing. You want a couple hours in a row of numbers above 50, and rising, after giving high carb food. It can wear off after two hours and the numbers could come down again. More information, when no one is around to help:Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers Might be a good one to print off and put with your hypo kit.
If you shoot in the morning, I think 1.0 unit would be your new dose.
Goodmorning Corky! Much better thank you, for asking and thank you again for your support last nightGood morning! how's Matty's numbers this morning?
Good morning! how's Matty's numbers this morning?
Sigh. Just feeling lost at both the vet’s suggestions, cause they’re contradicting both protocols on here and factually, it’s been a mess to say the least. Thinking of printing out the tight regulation protocol, translating, and taking it to our first vet to ask if he could guide and support us in following it.Two cycles on a new dose, if you go to 0.5 units, is not enough time to see how that dose is doing. Plus it's likely that Matty will be bouncing from those low numbers last night, meaning her numbers will be higher than expected.
Hi Corkey, yes sorry, maybe I didn't make myself clear. We're not worried about his reading right now, we know 79 is not hypoglycaemia. What we're worried about is given this reading of 79 mg/dL +8, we don’t expect to see very high numbers +12 preshot and afraid we are again at risk of a hypoglycaemic event in his next cycle if we give him another 1 unit for his dose later tonight ( in 3 hours).79 is NOT Hypoglycemia, I do NOT give dosing advice, but I do know that changing doses according to how his BG is at time of shooting is a Nono. Matty needs to get used to the dose given at least not until 3 cycles, and 79 Is not hypo, at least that’s the last number I see, I will tag a member that can help you in dosing and/or correct my input
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
May I please clarify, did you mean that we should’ve kept the .5U for at least three cycles before moving up to 1U? We thought the protocol stated that if we had a failed dose reduction that shot the numbers back up we should go back to ‘the last good dose’. Which our last good dose was too high, hence we thought a reduced dose might be the sweet spot. We’re so confused.79 is NOT Hypoglycemia, I do NOT give dosing advice, but I do know that changing doses according to how his BG is at time of shooting is a Nono. Matty needs to get used to the dose given at least not until 3 cycles, and 79 Is not hypo, at least that’s the last number I see, I will tag a member that can help you in dosing and/or correct my input
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
There are tines that it’s ok to give a bit less, I did misunderstood, but remember, that when eats the BG Raises, and the reason why is not known, but at night the glucose value is lower as well, Since I do not give dosing advice We are waiting for the members that do, plug into the post, but just the same , please do not give carbs syrup to raise the the BG to be able to shoot, there are times that Shot can be delayed, not given or reduced, I know about ProZinc, not Lantus, and after going on 4 years, I still ask for dosing advice even if I may know the answer, because stability is very important, I shoot Corky in low 2 digit numbers today, when at the beginning I would go crazy if his BG was 150 1hour before shot, but this was a slow and gutsy lesson, every cat is different, you need to give yourself a chance to get to know how the insulin reacts in Matti for at least several cycles, thiscIS how you know at what dose he should be not guessing at it, and let us guide you into low numbers at least at the beginning, you are doing great, great mommie, we all want what’s best for our fue babies, but the main thing at the beginning of this journey is to stabilize the diabetes with the right dose, you are doing a great job, this is a slow process of you learning what’s best for Matty and what works best by seeing how the insulin works in his body thru the days to come on the dose his in, then the decision to increase/decrease/ less insulin can be done wisely, I will tag again for your relaxationMay I please clarify, did you mean that we should’ve kept the .5U for at least three cycles before moving up to 1U? We thought the protocol stated that if we had a failed dose reduction that shot the numbers back up we should go back to ‘the last good dose’. Which our last good dose was too high, hence we thought a reduced dose might be the sweet spot. We’re so confused.
We know if we call our first vet he’ll say that
giving a reduced dose sometimes is okay - when we were still on 2U, he had specified that especially at night, cats are more prone to hypo because of their metabolism so giving 1U or even .5U when he’s not too high is acceptable, and returning in the morning to the original dose. The second vet, is strict ‘no changing dose policy’ and suggested that shooting full dose is acceptable even at 160mg/dl and 140mg/dl readings, which led to our dangerously hypoglycaemic event. We’re feeling more lost than ever with the highly contradictory opinions. We want to do the best for our boi, and are torn at this point.