Newly Diagnosed! Kam and Moshi's Intro

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Moshiko, Mar 19, 2024.

1. Moshiko

Moshiko New Member

Hi everyone, my name is Kam and I am here with my little guy, Moshiko. He is 6 years old and was diagnosed with feline diabetes on March 18th. I just wanted to post because this is something that is completely new to me, as Moshi has always been a generally happy and healthy kitty. We are here for advice, moral support, etc. I am finding it hard to not feel like the worst cat mama ever. It seems like now, all of the signs and symptoms appeared to be there, but I just missed them. We just received his insulin, glargine (I think we are on Lantus?), and are awaiting our "demo" appointment so that the vet can teach me how to give him his injections. I am currently a second year law student with a part time job as a legal assistant, at my future firm (yay for post grad job opportunities, let's hope I pass the bar!!). Anyways, I only mention that to kind of illustrate my time commitments outside of taking care of Moshi. Additionally, I am in the process of switching him over to his glucosupport diet.

I am currently filled with questions, but having trouble keeping them all in my brain right now (it's full of legal knowledge! that is a joke...). SO, if you would be so kind, please comment/post ANYTHING you wish you would have known when you received your cat's diagnosis!! Kind words, special advice, tips and tricks, anything! Pawsitive vibes, too please! We need it!

Finally, I want to post a little bit about how I came to find out about his diagnosis: