Marilyn and Sheldon
Member Since 2014
Hi all. Great forum. Been reading lots for a month now. Thanks.
Polly's a shy girl. Rescued 10 years ago, she's always been my elusive girl. No touching for a year, no appearances when other people are in the house. Sort of a Garbo-esk girl.
Excessive drinking mid March took us to the vet at the end of the month. UTI, gum infection (she's been toothless for 7 years but a tooth pocket had been badly infected). Blood work showed 398 glucose and urinalysis indicated +3 glucose in urine.
No more free-feeding on dry food. (I have three other cats; never knew who was the crunch muncher) Had been feeding Friskies pates, now added some Fancy Feast Classic pate to the menu.
10 days of Clavamox. Home testing. Numbers consistently 170-180 with just a few easily explained outliers. She stresses badly with little provocation. For almost 3 weeks seemed that she was pretty controlled.
Back to the vet mid April for a check on infections and to compare our meters. Infections appeared cleared, meters measured where a Relion and an AlphaTrack would expect to differ.
Vet thought the numbers were high, but not insulin worthy. I agreed. Monitored by observation. (She was becoming more and more elusive and I wanted to regain her trust w/o all the snatching and grabbing and poking and prodding.)
Two weeks later, weight loss and lack of appetite took us back to the vet. I give sub q fluids at home. Her home testing numbers remained mostly in the 170s. Vet is perplexed. Thinks she's throwing keotones but no evidence in the testing. Says 3 types can develop and lab only measures two. He admits, though, that Polly's a conundrum.
Two days at the vet, but home each night, for iv drip (she's badly dehydrated) and fast acting insulin. Take her home and start Lantus. First night (171), one unit. Next morning (162) one unit. Off for her second day of iv drip and monitoring. Back home, PMPS = 90. No shot. She eats well. Three hours later, 60. She eats some more. I keep careful watch all night. This morning, AMPS, 312. I give .75 units thinking we may have some bounce happening and I'm nervous about hypo while I'm at work.
Any insight?
Sorry for the long post. I'm just baffled. Had a super-sweet kitty six years ago and I don't remember such goofy up and down numbers with him.
Polly's a shy girl. Rescued 10 years ago, she's always been my elusive girl. No touching for a year, no appearances when other people are in the house. Sort of a Garbo-esk girl.
Excessive drinking mid March took us to the vet at the end of the month. UTI, gum infection (she's been toothless for 7 years but a tooth pocket had been badly infected). Blood work showed 398 glucose and urinalysis indicated +3 glucose in urine.
No more free-feeding on dry food. (I have three other cats; never knew who was the crunch muncher) Had been feeding Friskies pates, now added some Fancy Feast Classic pate to the menu.
10 days of Clavamox. Home testing. Numbers consistently 170-180 with just a few easily explained outliers. She stresses badly with little provocation. For almost 3 weeks seemed that she was pretty controlled.
Back to the vet mid April for a check on infections and to compare our meters. Infections appeared cleared, meters measured where a Relion and an AlphaTrack would expect to differ.
Vet thought the numbers were high, but not insulin worthy. I agreed. Monitored by observation. (She was becoming more and more elusive and I wanted to regain her trust w/o all the snatching and grabbing and poking and prodding.)
Two weeks later, weight loss and lack of appetite took us back to the vet. I give sub q fluids at home. Her home testing numbers remained mostly in the 170s. Vet is perplexed. Thinks she's throwing keotones but no evidence in the testing. Says 3 types can develop and lab only measures two. He admits, though, that Polly's a conundrum.
Two days at the vet, but home each night, for iv drip (she's badly dehydrated) and fast acting insulin. Take her home and start Lantus. First night (171), one unit. Next morning (162) one unit. Off for her second day of iv drip and monitoring. Back home, PMPS = 90. No shot. She eats well. Three hours later, 60. She eats some more. I keep careful watch all night. This morning, AMPS, 312. I give .75 units thinking we may have some bounce happening and I'm nervous about hypo while I'm at work.
Any insight?
Sorry for the long post. I'm just baffled. Had a super-sweet kitty six years ago and I don't remember such goofy up and down numbers with him.