Back home......
374..... I think that confirms a bounce..
Cats can bounce when they have dropped low, dropped too fast or have dropped lower than they are used to being if they have been in higher numbers for a while. When one of these things happen Tegan's body thinks it has to save itself so she dumped glucose and regulatory hormones into the blood stream which sends the BSLs skyrocketing. Bounces can last from 1 to 6 cycles and once they happen there is nothing you can do but wait the bounce out.
Normal cat numbers are 68-150 on the Alphatrak 2 meter, but when you are first starting out, we suggest you don't shoot anything below 200 until you have some data. Then you can gradually reduce the "no shot number."
What I would suggest is that you set up Tegan's spreadsheet and start putting in all the BSLs, starting with the ones you have already got. Always test before every insulin dose to ensure it is safe to give the insulin, and then test again during the cycle to see how low the dose is taking her. If you can get one or two around the +4 to +7 mark that would be great. And don't forget the pm cycle as well as cats often drop lower at night. Even getting a before bed test is good. If the BSL is lower than the preshot number then it would be a good idea to test again later to ensure she is not dropping too low. If it has gone down further you will need to test until it starts to come back up a bit.
Here is the link to the SS. If you have any trouble setting it up we can help you.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
I suspect that Tegan dropped lower than the 85 you got at preshot (thank goodness you got the meter to test!!) so if I were you I would reduce the dose to 0.5 unit both cycles moving forward and seeing how that goes. You will need to hold that dose for 5 days (unless Tegan drops low again) to let the depot fill and the full potential of the dose take effect. We don't know how long she is going to bounce, so don't be disappointed if she is still high in the morning or the next evening. Keep to the 0.5 unit dose. Bouncing is normal in diabetic cats, especially in the earlier months as they get used to the insulin and its effects.
If you have a preshot below 200.....stall, don't feed, test again 20 minutes later to see if the BSL is rising....and post and ask for help. Put HELP stalling BSL xxx in the subject line to alert people.
Be careful changing over to the low carb diet as that will also lower the BSLs but as long as you are testing you should be OK. Just do it slowly.
We change the dose depending on the nadir ( lowest point of the cycle) not the preshot number, and we only increase or decrease the dose 0.25 units at a time. Our main objective is to keep kitty safe..
I think you can stop testing now. Maybe get a +6 just to see that those numbers are not still food influenced with the high carb treats.....I will watch for the test if you are happy with doing that.
Does all what I have said make sense? And are you happy to do as I suggest?
Ask any questions you like. It is a steep learning curve in the beginning but you have learnt a lot in just a day!!
I'll be around for at least the next 6 hours ( afternoon here in Australia) if you need me.