Newly diagnosed diabetic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Hyde (GA)

Member Since 2015
Well, here we are again but with a different cat. We had a diabetic named Alex 10 years ago. She was a very manageable diabetic for 2.5 years and finally succumbed to lung tumors. We found out this morning that we have another one.

Hyde will be 14 later this month. She had routine blood work at the vets (needed her distemper shot - no diabetes symptoms) and her BG was 425. She had been 11 lbs but is down to 9 lbs.

Vet recommends ProZinc, starting at 1.5 u. Is this a good insulin to start with? We used Humulin U with the other one but I know that you cannot get that insulin anymore. What is a good meter to get? We gave away all our old supplies.

Anne
 
Last edited:
Welcome to FDMB.
ProZinc is like the old Ultralente and lasts roughly 12 hours.
Pick up a Target Up and Up meter, or a WalMart ReliOn Confirm or Confirm Micro, plus matching test strips, and lancets for alternate site testing (25 - 28 gauge).
Cat Info is our go to site for feline nutrition. There are a number of over the counter low carb options such as Friskies pates and Fancy Feast Classic pates.
 
Thanks for the great information. I noticed that other users are posting their cat's numbers in a spreadsheet. Is there a template available on the site?
 
Can we get you started using our grid to record your glucose tests? It will help us give you better feedback. Instructions are here.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
Welcome Ann and Hyde. Since you haven't used ProZinc before, the protocol we put together might be useful. It is in blue in my signature.
 
Got a meter today and will start testing tonight.

Also got my spreadsheet created and in my signature.

thanks for all the assistance.
Anne
 
Spreadsheet looks good. Some general guidelines that may help. We usually suggest starting low (.5 to one unit of insulin twice daily) and going slow in the beginning. If you are changing food, that can make a big difference at first - with some kitties an overnight change downward, with some it takes a week or more, so we suggest taking increases slowly until he becomes used to the insulin plus the lower carb food. We also suggest that, until you have some data to know what his reaction to a given dose at a given number might be, that you don't shoot a present under 200. Wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. You want to be sure he is rising, not still falling, and that his number is high enough to shoot.

Now that you have your spreadsheet up and are testing, you might move over to the Main Health forum. Also, have a look at the PZI forum.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top