Newly diagnosed diabetic cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katie&Kirby

Member Since 2016
Hello...my cat, Kirby was diagnosed with diabetes on June 17th. I cannot afford the pet Glucometer the vet pressures me to get. I have a human one with all of the supplies. I'm on disability and a fixed income, I simply can't afford it.
I noticed in all the research I've been doing that a lot of you use the human Glucometer. Can anyone give me any advice,tips? I checked him last night and it was 164. He gets 2 units of insulin. I'm scared, I want to take the best care of my baby. Do I need to know anything regarding the human Glucometer???
 
The human glucometer is just fine. Most people here use it. Its much cheaper. What brand did you get?

I believe the only difference between the human and the pet glucometer is the calibration of the number range. As long as you know which type of glucometer you are using, you are all set. The pet meters read much higher, thats all.

I was using a pet meter and just recently bought a human one to save on cost.

What insulin is kirby on?
 
Hi Katie, glad you made it to Health! For testing you should always test before you give insulin. Make sure he has no food for 2 hours before that test, then feed him and give his shot. I don't know much about Novolin, but I'm pretty sure you don't shoot if his number is below 200.. I'll try to find someone to confirm that though. Then try to get a few tests in during the cycle. What are you feeding Kirby? A low carb, canned food is best, and you don't have to buy the expensive stuff from the vet. Many of us use Friskies Pate or Fancy Feast Classics, just be sure there is no gravy. Can we get you to set up a spreadsheet? That the easiest way for you, your vet and us to see how Well the insulin is working.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
Just ask if you need help and someone will set it up for you.
 
Hi Katie, glad you made it to Health! For testing you should always test before you give insulin. Make sure he has no food for 2 hours before that test, then feed him and give his shot. I don't know much about Novolin, but I'm pretty sure you don't shoot if his number is below 200.. I'll try to find someone to confirm that though. Then try to get a few tests in during the cycle. What are you feeding Kirby? A low carb, canned food is best, and you don't have to buy the expensive stuff from the vet. Many of us use Friskies Pate or Fancy Feast Classics, just be sure there is no gravy. Can we get you to set up a spreadsheet? That the easiest way for you, your vet and us to see how Well the insulin is working.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
Just ask if you need help and someone will set it up for you.
Actually i think she's on prozinc right now-? To switch to novolin soon. I'm not familiar with either so not much help!
 
The human glucometer is just fine. Most people here use it. Its much cheaper. What brand did you get?

I believe the only difference between the human and the pet glucometer is the calibration of the number range. As long as you know which type of glucometer you are using, you are all set. The pet meters read much higher, thats all.

I was using a pet meter and just recently bought a human one to save on cost.

What insulin is kirby on?
He's on PZI for now. They had me buy theirs at 118$. I'm going to start Novolin N after the PZI is done. Vet says ok...they both are long acting.
 
Actually i think she's on prozinc right now-? To switch to novolin soon. I'm not familiar with either so not much help!
Oh...I've been giving his 2 units when or right after he eats. He read 164 last night. I'm going to do the glucose check now. I have no idea what the spreadsheet is...looked very confusing. But I'll try anything...can't lose my baby and I want him to feel good in his daily life.
 
Ok, good to know! The testing routine is the same. Test, then feed, then shoot. I'll see if any of the PZI gurus are around to help. @Rachel @Sue and Oliver (GA)
I can tag someone to help you with your spreadsheet if you'd like.
 
The human glucometer is just fine. Most people here use it. Its much cheaper. What brand did you get?

I believe the only difference between the human and the pet glucometer is the calibration of the number range. As long as you know which type of glucometer you are using, you are all set. The pet meters read much higher, thats all.

I was using a pet meter and just recently bought a human one to save on cost.

What insulin is kirby on?

Oh...I've been giving his 2 units when or right after he eats. He read 164 last night. I'm going to do the glucose check now. I have no idea what the spreadsheet is...looked very confusing. But I'll try anything...can't lose my baby and I want him to feel good in his daily life.
He just read 166. Will feed and do 2 units at. 10:00.
 
He just read 166. Will feed and do 2 units at. 10:00.


I've been looking at the recommendations for prozince. You might not want to shoot with a number lower than 200, as Sharon14 mentioned above. Please read the link she listed. Its very helpful.

Your kitty's number is decent right now, so try to relax a bit. Breathe! :)
 
I've been looking at the recommendations for prozince. You might not want to shoot with a number lower than 200, as Sharon14 mentioned above. Please read the link she listed. Its very helpful.

Your kitty's number is decent right now, so try to relax a bit. Breathe! :)
Thank you
 
Hi Katie! Sorry, I was fast asleep early last night. Are you using ProZinc or PZI? There's some difference. Could you maybe upload a picture of your insulin so we can check?

For both, though, I wouldn't shoot under 200.
 
Hi Katie! Sorry, I was fast asleep early last night. Are you using ProZinc or PZI? There's some difference. Could you maybe upload a picture of your insulin so we can check?

For both, though, I wouldn't shoot under 200.
I just tried...I'm on my phone. It says unable not enough battery. I will try in a bit. Thank you. Kirby threw up bile at 6am I checked his blood...165..so I thought let me Just give one unit instead of 2 as he was having symptoms of low blood sugar. I just checked...245 so I gave a little food then I gave him the other unit plus .5, i'm just going to keep my eye on him. He's back to drinking a lot. I will check his blood again soon. I'll send the pic when charged. But it's PZI. 2 units bid. Thank you.
 
Am I correct in understanding that you gave 1 unit at 6AM, then another 1.5? How long after the first 1unit shot did you give the 1.5?
 
Hi Katie - I hope you can watch Kirby closely today - he will need to be monitored very closely
In general, although it may be tempting, it is not recommended to give additional insulin during the course of a 12 hour cycle. - the 165 may have been too low to give any insulin - so he needs to be closely monitored based on that, and then the additional insulin
If you haven't already, please read this information on hypoglycemia Do you have any karo syrup or honey? What about gravy based wet cat food? What was his last blood sugar reading -
 
Katie, please post any more numbers you get and please do not shoot again this evening without posting for advice. As Carol said shooting twice within the course of the 12 hour cycle is not recommended. @Sue and Oliver (GA) @Rachel
 
Katie, I agree that shooting twice within a cycle is not a good idea. ProZinc has its lowest point 5-7 hours after the shot so now you have two possible low points to monitor - one after each shot. And we'd suggest you not shoot a preshot number under 200.

Your job in these early days are to keep him safe by testing before each shot and not shooting a number under 200. Then be sure you will be around to check his level 5-7 hours after shot whenever possible so you know how the dose works.

Today may be volatile as he got a shot on a low number and then more insulin later in the cycle. Please post when you can and let us know how he is doing. If you shoot again tonight, it will need to be 12 hours after the second shot, so it may be easier to skip and start fresh again tomorrow. The good news is that the 165 shows the insulin is working and that he likely needs a small dose reduction, when you can safely give a shot again.
 
How are things going, Katie? I hope you were able to closely monitor today to make sure that Kirby was all right with that second dose.
 
Actually i think she's on prozinc right now-? To switch to novolin soon. I'm not familiar with either so not much help!
Why no gravy? Kirby has a hard time eating . He has to have a piece of his jaw removed, so he eats friskiest shreds. He can't do pate`. I just took his blood, it's 232. So I just fed him half can, and I'll give him 2 units in an hour. Is that OK?
 
Katie, I agree that shooting twice within a cycle is not a good idea. ProZinc has its lowest point 5-7 hours after the shot so now you have two possible low points to monitor - one after each shot. And we'd suggest you not shoot a preshot number under 200.

Your job in these early days are to keep him safe by testing before each shot and not shooting a number under 200. Then be sure you will be around to check his level 5-7 hours after shot whenever possible so you know how the dose works.

Today may be volatile as he got a shot on a low number and then more insulin later in the cycle. Please post when you can and let us know how he is doing. If you shoot again tonight, it will need to be 12 hours after the second shot, so it may be easier to skip and start fresh again tomorrow. The good news is that the 165 shows the insulin is working and that he likely needs a small dose reduction, when you can safely give a shot again.
 
Kirby seems OK . I just took his blood, it's 232, I gave him half can of friskiest shreds, he can't do late since having a piece of his jaw removed. I'll give 2 units in an hour. Is that OK?
 
Yes. He seems OK . I checked his sugar, 232. I gave half can of friskiest shreds, he can't do late, he had to have a piece of his jaw removed. Why no gravy? Anyway, I'll give his 2 units in an hour. Is that OK?
 
I've been looking at the recommendations for prozince. You might not want to shoot with a number lower than 200, as Sharon14 mentioned above. Please read the link she listed. Its very helpful.

Your kitty's number is decent right now, so try to relax a bit. Breathe! :)
Thank you... I'm so overwhelmed!
 
How are things going, Katie? I hope you were able to closely monitor today to make sure that Kirby was all right with that second dose.
Yes I did. Seems OK. Just took blood ....232. I gave him half a can of friskiest shreds, he can't do pate, had a piece of his jaw removed, and does better with the shreds. Why no gravy? I'll give his 2units in an hour. Is that OK?
 
How are things going, Katie? I hope you were able to closely monitor today to make sure that Kirby was all right with that second dose.
Yes I sure did . I just took blood 232. Gave half can of friskiest shreds, will give 2 units in an hour. is that OK?
 
Hi Katie - I hope you can watch Kirby closely today - he will need to be monitored very closely
In general, although it may be tempting, it is not recommended to give additional insulin during the course of a 12 hour cycle. - the 165 may have been too low to give any insulin - so he needs to be closely monitored based on that, and then the additional insulin
If you haven't already, please read this information on hypoglycemia Do you have any karo syrup or honey? What about gravy based wet cat food? What was his last blood sugar reading -
 
then it should be OK to give a shot, but I would reduce the dose. My thinking is that he was under 200 this am after 2 units. I would try one unit, especially because it is night. You can always raise the dose the next cycle, but you can't get the insulin out if you give too much.
 
then it should be OK to give a shot, but I would reduce the dose. My thinking is that he was under 200 this am after 2 units. I would try one unit, especially because it is night. You can always raise the dose the next cycle, but you can't get the insulin out if you give too much.
I will ask vet tomorrow. Tks!
 
The human glucometer is just fine. Most people here use it. Its much cheaper. What brand did you get?

I believe the only difference between the human and the pet glucometer is the calibration of the number range. As long as you know which type of glucometer you are using, you are all set. The pet meters read much higher, thats all.

I was using a pet meter and just recently bought a human one to save on cost.

What insulin is kirby on?
PZI
 
then it should be OK to give a shot, but I would reduce the dose. My thinking is that he was under 200 this am after 2 units. I would try one unit, especially because it is night. You can always raise the dose the next cycle, but you can't get the insulin out if you give too much.
OK thanks!
 
Katie, I agree that shooting twice within a cycle is not a good idea. ProZinc has its lowest point 5-7 hours after the shot so now you have two possible low points to monitor - one after each shot. And we'd suggest you not shoot a preshot number under 200.

Your job in these early days are to keep him safe by testing before each shot and not shooting a number under 200. Then be sure you will be around to check his level 5-7 hours after shot whenever possible so you know how the dose works.

Today may be volatile as he got a shot on a low number and then more insulin later in the cycle. Please post when you can and let us know how he is doing. If you shoot again tonight, it will need to be 12 hours after the second shot, so it may be easier to skip and start fresh again tomorrow. The good news is that the 165 shows the insulin is working and that he likely needs a small dose reduction, when you can safely give a shot again.
THANK YOU SO MUCH!! I seem to understand what you are saying more yhan some of the others....NO OFFENSE OTHERS! I'm new at this, I'm scared, eant to do the best for my baby!
 
Hello...my cat, Kirby was diagnosed with diabetes on June 17th. I cannot afford the pet Glucometer the vet pressures me to get. I have a human one with all of the supplies. I'm on disability and a fixed income, I simply can't afford it.
I noticed in all the research I've been doing that a lot of you use the human Glucometer. Can anyone give me any advice,tips? I checked him last night and it was 164. He gets 2 units of insulin. I'm scared, I want to take the best care of my baby. Do I need to know anything regarding the human Glucometer???
Total understand where you are coming from, me and my mom are in the same boat. I'm new here to so I can't give any good advice yet like other can, but it sounds like you are taking good care of Kirby. Hang in there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top